We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Whistler Sightseeing Tour: Discover all of Whistler Year-Round!
280

Book in advance
from
C$104.90
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Squamish Lil'wat Cultural Centre
from C$104.90
More Info
from C$699.00
More Info
from C$221.72
More Info
from C$443.45
More Info
Reviews (1,055)
Filter reviews
1,055 results
Traveller rating
706
285
47
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
706
285
47
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews first nations gift shop guided tour bannock short film welcome song totem poles salmon chowder great insight whistler village artifacts culture museum cedar tribe heritage native
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
815 - 820 of 1,055 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We wanted to see the Cultural Center and we were cold and hungry.
The cafeteria has a limited menu but the food was very good. The smoked salmon in bannock was really good as was the chili.
After lunch we joined a tour that was conducted by a young man from the Lil'Wat nation. he was very knowledgeable and had answers to all of our questions. The tour starts with a song and a film but we saw these last as the tour had just started. They are very encourage you to join a tour if it has just started and watch the song and film after.
We learned how to weave cedar bark in the "longhouse". The guide had a few funny comments about the modern longhouse that was required by the building code.
After the tour, take some time to have a close look at the exhibits that are in the galleries.

Date of experience: May 2014
Thank HXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

An excellent opportunity to learn about the first nations people. We joined the tour which is definitely to be recommended. The guide was from one of the local tribes which made the whole experience more authentic. An excellent speaker, who sang and played the drum, was very informative and keen to answer questions. The tour ended with us making bracelets of red cedar in the traditional way. The centre itself is very well set out in a modern but beautiful building. The gift shop and café were also well worth visiting.

Date of experience: April 2014
Thank 252carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

From outside the Cultural Centre looks large and impressive. While inside it remains as beautiful and modern as you'd expect the actual exhibits are really small. The staff are helpful and even sing and perform for visitors. The movie is a nice touch since it provides personal accounts from actual Lil Wat and Squamish tribes. The exhibits complement it well afterwards but are very small and quick to go through. Even the outdoor parts only take a few minutes. It's nice that they have children's exhibits and activities and the chance to make a cedar bracelet as a souvenir is a great idea. The gift shop is also impressive if you're still needing souvenirs. I liked this attraction but you're best to do the one hour tour since it only takes you an hour anyway. There is a walking trail as well but due to a bear spotting we opted against it. This is a great way to learn about some of Canada's First Nations culture particularly for visitors short on time and from other countries.

Date of experience: May 2014
1  Thank travelaholic_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

loved the feeling of this place, lots of information from the first nations people, we had an excellent tour guide with a wealth of information, a song with a drum and then we made red cedar bracelets.I love they way the Canadians embrace the first nations people.

Date of experience: April 2014
Thank kiwiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

A great experience learning about the lives of the First Nation communities of Whistler. Very informative, interesting and visual cultural centre.
Staff were welcoming and the cafe was nice.

Date of experience: April 2014
Thank miss-b20
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews