We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous venue for weddings!”

Squamish Lil'wat Cultural Centre
Ranked #7 of 59 things to do in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Squamish Lil'wat Cultural Centre is a three-storey, 30,400-square foot award-winning First Nations tourism facility. Guests are offered a guided tour from a local First Nation cultural ambassador who share their knowledge and stories while visiting the many displays and artifacts on display. Guests enjoy a cultural performance of drums and song as well as the chance to learn, hands-on, an indigenous craft. The facility is designed to evoke a traditional Squamish longhouse and a Lil'wat Istken (pit house) and is surrounded by dramatic mountain scenery. Designed to preserve and renew local First Nations' cultures and to share these living cultures with the world; the experience includes Class A museum space to house rare artifacts, a gift gallery, a cafe and an 80 seat HD theatre.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We were at a wedding recently at this venue. The location is amazing. The wedding was outside on the patio. The awning above rolls up so you can enjoy the mountain vista and the sun (if you are lucky enough to have a nice day - which we were). The room where dinner was served (and dancing later) was stunning - lovely view of the sunset. The food was excellent - the wedding we were at was buffet style but everything was hot and fresh. All service was great (bar and appetizers, dinner etc). Would highly recommend this as a wedding venue.

Date of experience: May 2014
Thank Durodeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (896)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"first nations"
in 155 reviews
"gift shop"
in 96 reviews
"guided tour"
in 111 reviews
"bannock"
in 33 reviews
"short film"
in 28 reviews
"cultural experience"
in 21 reviews
"welcome song"
in 17 reviews
"long house"
in 14 reviews
"totem poles"
in 13 reviews
"beautiful building"
in 27 reviews
"venison"
in 10 reviews
"great museum"
in 10 reviews
"great insight"
in 9 reviews
"on display"
in 22 reviews
"for sale"
in 9 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 10 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 11 reviews
Filter

662 - 666 of 896 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

It was a fun, quick visit. The museum is interesting, but kind of small. We came on a day when admission is simply a donation. Maybe they do not have all the hands-on activities on the donation day, because it was a little boring.

Date of experience: April 2014
Thank Irvine-Robbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We wanted to see the Cultural Center and we were cold and hungry.
The cafeteria has a limited menu but the food was very good. The smoked salmon in bannock was really good as was the chili.
After lunch we joined a tour that was conducted by a young man from the Lil'Wat nation. he was very knowledgeable and had answers to all of our questions. The tour starts with a song and a film but we saw these last as the tour had just started. They are very encourage you to join a tour if it has just started and watch the song and film after.
We learned how to weave cedar bark in the "longhouse". The guide had a few funny comments about the modern longhouse that was required by the building code.
After the tour, take some time to have a close look at the exhibits that are in the galleries.

Date of experience: May 2014
Thank HXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 7, 2014

An excellent opportunity to learn about the first nations people. We joined the tour which is definitely to be recommended. The guide was from one of the local tribes which made the whole experience more authentic. An excellent speaker, who sang and played the drum, was very informative and keen to answer questions. The tour ended with us making bracelets of red cedar in the traditional way. The centre itself is very well set out in a modern but beautiful building. The gift shop and café were also well worth visiting.

Date of experience: April 2014
Thank 252carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2014

From outside the Cultural Centre looks large and impressive. While inside it remains as beautiful and modern as you'd expect the actual exhibits are really small. The staff are helpful and even sing and perform for visitors. The movie is a nice touch since it provides personal accounts from actual Lil Wat and Squamish tribes. The exhibits complement it well afterwards but are very small and quick to go through. Even the outdoor parts only take a few minutes. It's nice that they have children's exhibits and activities and the chance to make a cedar bracelet as a souvenir is a great idea. The gift shop is also impressive if you're still needing souvenirs. I liked this attraction but you're best to do the one hour tour since it only takes you an hour anyway. There is a walking trail as well but due to a bear spotting we opted against it. This is a great way to learn about some of Canada's First Nations culture particularly for visitors short on time and from other countries.

Date of experience: May 2014
1  Thank travelaholic_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Squamish Lil'wat Cultural Centre also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Squamish Lil'wat Cultural Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing