We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Whistler Sightseeing Tour: Discover all of Whistler Year-Round!
299

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Squamish Lil'wat Cultural Centre
Reviews (1,060)
Filter reviews
1,060 results
Traveller rating
710
286
47
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
710
286
47
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews first nations gift shop guided tour bannock short film welcome song totem poles salmon chowder great insight whistler village artifacts culture museum cedar tribe heritage native
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,060 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2023

Start with the tour guide then take as much time on your own to learn more about the people who lived here, how they traveled here and why. The museum is very well done!

Date of experience: May 2023
Thank travelhopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Squamish L, Manager at Squamish Lil'wat Cultural Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2023

Huy Chexw / Kukw`stumc`kalap / Thank you for connecting with us and for such a great review, we appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2023 via mobile

Although there are a number of older objects here, this is a living center of cultural exchange rather than just rooms full of old things – it’s alive, and you get to experience a little of the rich cultural lives of these nations rather than just reading plaques about dusty artefacts. I’m glad this exists, and we learned a lot!

Pro tip: The guided tour is a real highlight here, and you should plan your visit with this in mind.

PS: The cafe is excellent – get the bannock taco!

Date of experience: April 2023
Thank twostraws
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Squamish L, Manager at Squamish Lil'wat Cultural Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2023

Huy Chexw / Kukw`stumc`kalap / Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. We love that you appreciate the living culture that we are able to share, it's our greatest pride that guests can connect with our Ambassadors and bring our stories to life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2023 via mobile

I loved this place. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The tour was great, I loved the singing and having the exhibits explained. They fully answered any additional questions.
It was a classy gift shop, again the staff were very helpful.
The food was fabulous and competitively priced. I loved the salmon chowder and raspberry scone.

Date of experience: March 2023
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Squamish L, Manager at Squamish Lil'wat Cultural Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2023

Huy Chexw / Kukw`stumc`kalap / Thank you Deborah for your thoughtful review, we love hearing about your experience and are glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 28, 2023 via mobile

The cultural center is not that big, but has a rich variety of artifacts as well as exceptional explanations of them, integrating the objects and the oral traditions of the two nations that historically shared a village near present day Whistler. Some of the exhibits - a photography exhibit called “Unceded” comes to mind - are angry and challenging. Frankly that makes the cultural centre a more important place to visit.

The cafe downstairs made a great venison chili with bannock the day we were there

Date of experience: February 2023
1  Thank ilovescones
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Squamish L, Manager at Squamish Lil'wat Cultural Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2023

Huy Chexw / Kukw`stumc`kalap / Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we appreciate your thoughtful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2022

Great experience and the guide was excellent. She explained about the different canoes, totem pole and weaving techniques. All in all an short great synopsis about aspects of the history of the Squamish people

Date of experience: September 2022
Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Squamish L, Manager at Squamish Lil'wat Cultural Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2023

Huy Chexw / Kukw`stumc`kalap / Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we are glad you enjoyed your time with us Gordon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews