We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a blast!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a blast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Spur of the moment trip to Whistler- Room was clean, quiet and very comfortable. The staff provided excellent customer service, very good ammenities. Location was perfect - ski in/out. Food at both the resort and surrounding eateries was outstanding! My husband, children and I all would come back again without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Helpful?
Thank mzmandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Guest,

We were pleased to read what a wonderful time you and your family had at The Fairmont Chateau Whistler. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,102
    669
    243
    87
    50
See reviews for
950
1,092
78
462
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

I remember staying at this hotel shortly after it opened...quite the grand experience yet lots of casual Whistler charm. Now under the Fairmont flag I'd say it's held up beautifully. Love the location and the service is outstanding. Spacious rooms, great pool/spa area and the Mallard Bar is a relaxing place to land for après ski or golf. We love that it's dog friendly with connecting rooms on request.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieQpacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

The building and grounds are beautiful. My room was lovely. The staff are incredible. They definitely made feel like a valued guest. While it is not in the middle of all the shops / bars, it is definitely my top choice for Whistler.

Room Tip: Higher floors definitely show off the great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
423 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Location is great but you must have a clean and comfortable hotel with good facilities. We booked a deluxe double slope side @499 dollars for 6 nights via Amex fine hotels package . On arrival were given single beds and told no doubles we're available but could upgrade to gold double for 300 dollars extra per night ! Amex then investigated and got rate down to 150 dollars . The hotel then said we could have slope side double the next day ! Seemed to be trying it on ? So all sorted and we checked in to our single bedded room which was very tired , bit tatty ,well worn , and went for a swim . The leisure facilities were pretty grim ,all very old and outdated . Worst was all the wet areas ,which you walk over barefoot , are used by everybody with outdoor shoes on ! Also the pool edges above the water line were green and slimy. Feeling a bit miserable we retuned to our single room for a shower .Arghh ! The shower wall tiles were dirty and mouldy ,in one corner there was some sort of brown goo .
That was it ,given our brief experience of check in ,the facilities ,the mould etc we checked straight out and into the fabulous 4 seasons, which is only 300 metres from the slopes - see my report . Yes the Fairmont is on the slopes and the ski hire etc is very good downstairs but this hotel is in serious need of a complete upgrade and at present is no better than a 3 star .Certainly awful value .I have to add we stayed at the Fairmont waterfront Vancouver for two nightsperiod to whistler and although that is a bit jaded ,it was clean and we Really enjoyed it .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Worldtraveller1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Guest,

It was very concerning to read about your recent stay with us. Please rest assured that your experience is not indicative of the level of comfort that we pride ourselves on delivering at The Fairmont Chateau Whistler. We would encourage you to contact the Front Office Management team at cwrfoleaders@fairmont.com to discuss your stay in greater detail. We look forward to the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel.

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

As others have mentioned, the location can't be beat. The service could not be better from valet parking to valet skis and boots. Close to great ski shops if you are in need of anything. Close to the lifts up to the center of all the upper mountain. Breakfast buffet can't be beat. A win all the way around.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinnet33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

The Chateau Fairmont wouldn't win any prizes for great room decor or cutting edge facilities and it's quite a large slightly impersonal property. However, the location alone makes it hard to ignore. We loved being able to get from the ski-room to the lift in about 20 steps and 30 seconds of using the ski-poles...the boots and skiis were whisked away each evening when we came in leaving us free for a drink in the bar which has really good, laid back, live music.

The service is great and friendly in all areas and the breakfast buffet was plentiful and varied. The hotel has generally good facilities and I would say that as a family choice it would be hard to beat. Minor gripes? Expensive wireless, a broken rowing machine in the gym which 10 days after my arrival was still 'being fixed' and the fact that they allowed our next door neighbours to have their howling dog in their room...as I say minor really.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adcccdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Guest,

We were pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed the service and food while staying with us. In advance of your next stay, please be sure to join our 'Fairmont President's Club' loyalty program. One of the many benefits of this program is complimentary internet for our members. Please accept our apology for the delay in having the rowing machine serviced. It is back in operation. Guest dogs are welcome at Fairmont Hotels & Resorts, but are not to be left unattended in our guest rooms. We were sorry to read that one such dog did disturb you during your stay.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

When you are thinking about "reviewing" a hotel, I think you need to keep the word "value" in mind. What do I mean? Did you get your "value" (i.e. what you were expecting at the price point you were paying)?

From that stand-point, the Fairmont Chateau Whistler is a great value, as it exceeded our expectations. We had a "slope view" room which allowed us to look out on the Wizard Quad lift and the hotel's outdoor pools. The room had two smallish "Queen size" beds with a single bathroom. The room was clearly dated in its decor and the bathroom was a little tired, but was well cleaned and came with robes for our family.

The hotel's food offerings are fairly standard hotel fair for the most part, though we found the quality of the food in the lobby bar area to be better than normal--we enjoyed a "dim sum" set of appetizers with our drinks while listening to the live music.

The pool and spa were also a little dated, but also clean with diverse offerings (multiple outdoor and one indoor hot tub and a nice indoor/outdoor pool).

The staff had clearly been well-trained and were all extremely customer focused. Whenever we interacted with a staff member we felt that they actually cared about our issue and took ownership of it.

The real value comes in the location, the foregoing services AND a few feet from the ski lift up Blacomb mountain--including a downstairs ski shop/storage concierge for your boots/skis/boards.

If you are going to Whistler for skiing and want to stay at a hotel, the Fairmont should be on your list of choices...especially because you can walk to the Village or to other hotels if you want other food choices (for example, we felt that Sidecut at the Four Seasons was incredibly good).

Room Tip: You don't need to pay extra for the slope side room, given the distant mountain views on the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorCalBusTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
4.2 km away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,748 reviews
0.9 km away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
0.8 km away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.6 km away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.3 km away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Property: Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#3 Family Hotel in Whistler
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#4 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#5 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing