We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Beautiful Hotel, but Room For Improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We got an excellent deal here so it's hard to be critical. Firstly, service was excellent. Everyone from the valet, to the front desk, to room service, ski shop, etc, was great. They even take your skis down to the shop for you, or take your bags back up if you bring your stuff down yourself. The valet gives you water for your drive out of town. Perhaps service in the bar off the lobby could be a bit friendlier, but overall fine.

The location can't be beat - this is the first time I've done ski-in/ski-out and it was amazing. You literally have to walk down about 10 stairs (right off the slope) and drop off your gear. They store your shoes/boots during the day while you're skiing.

Parking is $35 valet, $30 self-parking, but we used the garage under the Glacier Lodge which is about 10 steps from the Fairmont and paid $15 per day. The only downside to this is that there are only about 10-15 public spots - so if you plan to keep your car down there the whole time, and there's a spot when you get there, you're fine. there were plenty of spots when we arrived midday, but we decided to take a cab to dinner one night as we didn't want to get back from dinner at 10pm without any parking (to be honest though, I didn't check to see if it does fill up though, so maybe it's not an issue regardless).

The room itself was fine, but did have some flaws. We booked a mountain view room and had a lovely view and even a small step balcony, but unfortunately it was an accessible room. I don't know how much of a difference this made, but the closet bar was lower, only one sink and the bath was rather dated. It was nice they had robes, but they really need to have slippers. Everyone was walking through the hotel to the spa barefoot, b/c of course people only have boots with them for winter. The spa itself was okay - there were tons of kids in the pool and multiple hot tubs outside. If you want it hot, go outside as the indoor hot tub is really only lukewarm. You can get to the spa via floor 3 but this was a bit odd as you're walking down what appears to be a service stairway. Not a big deal though.

Back to the room - I was appalled with the comforter, or lack thereof. I know it was the end of March, but it was still snowing - I don't know if they changed out their bedding to summer stuff? It was the thinnest blanket ever, barely more than a sheet. I used the spare blanket in the closet and cranked the heat up, but the heat didn't work well either, Even when I had it high up, it seemed to have cool air coming out. The TV had quite a few stations that didn't come in properly. The shower was terrible, basically a shower head on the end of a hose - again, I don't know if this is just because of the accessible room though. The room was well-cleaned each night though.

We had drinks and snack in the bar off the lobby one day after skiing. Warning - their $20 nachos are not overprice - they're HUGE. My husband and I are big eaters, but these should come with a warning. We saw another poor group of 4 who had ordered 2 orders between them, that looked ridiculous.

We ate dinner at the Fairmont's Chalet/Golf Club one night for their fondue special. I wouldn't go back. We lived in Switzerland and fondue should not cost $65pp. Unfortunately it's a set menu, so you have to get a minimum of a starter, fondue and a dessert. I have to say, the salad that was the starter was excellent. The bread used for the fondue was not great, but they did replenish the veggies we were out of. My husband got the meat fondue and while there wasn't a lot of it, it turned out to be enough. The service here was just okay - the woman who seated us came around a few times throughout our meal and was much more helpful than our actual waitress, and the place was pretty empty. it is nice that they give you a ride over from the hotel though.

We also got room service one more and this came fairly quickly. My husband liked his egg white omelette, but the Austrian breakfast was way too greasy (I should have known with rosti, bratwurst and eggs).

I think all hotels should have filled mini-bars, what a missed opportunity! This one had a fridge, but it was empty - you could order stuff for it if you wanted. It's much easier to rack up charges if the water, beer, coke, etc, is right at your fingertips.

The location is good for walking around too - there is a small grocery store and liquor store, a few ski shops and small restaurants. Whistler Village is a shuttle ride away, but the hotel does offer this (we never used it).

Overall, I would give this 3.5-4 stars, but mostly because of the room itself. The service and location were excellent, a few updates in the rooms could make a big difference (and slippers in the room please!)

We loved Whistler though and hope to come back skiing again.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the slopes and ask for one with a step balcony (not all of them have one).
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laurengucsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at The Fairmont Chateau Whistler. We were very pleased to read about how much you enjoyed the service at our hotel during your stay. Please accept our apology for the light weight duvet that was placed on your bed. This should certainly not be the case in our winter months. We were sorry to read about the challenge with your shower, and that your experience at The Chalet fell short of your expectations. If you would like to discuss your stay in greater detail, please contact our Front Office Management team at cwrforleaders@fairmont.com. We look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,452)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,717 - 2,723 of 3,452 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

Was a little worried about it not being in the village but they had some good live music in the bar so we didnt miss out too much. Would definitly recommend this for the quieter more luxurious side of Whistler.

Room Tip: Dont take a slopeside queen, they are very small. we had to move rooms when they tried to put us in...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tsimtcu8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I stayed here for three nights over a long weekend. I had a free night from FPC, and booked another two nights through Whistler Central Reservations (at less than 1/2 what Fairmont wanted!).

The hotel is luxuriously appointed, but in a traditional way. Old style comfort. The rooms are spotlessly clean, the bathrooms could use an upgrade.

What struck me is the extremely attentive service provided by everyone I came in contact with. Excellent and willing to help at all times!

The restaurants are certainly also very high quality. Their Sunday brunch is to die for!

The $30 parking charge is unfortunate, but nothing much you can do about it given the fact that you're a captive audience....

Overall, well recommended for a few days or longer!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank okazon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I used Wistler-Blackcomb web site to book under the "last minute deals" and Chateau came up. I stayed there and skied for one day before my meeting in Vancouver. I came back to the same hotel after the meeting because I had such a good time on the first visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com
Thank Macesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Nothing but good things to say about the hotel – staff – rooms – and restaurant! Have stay many times – in all seasons and hasn’t ever let us down. Oh, and our dog had a great stay too :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kari l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your loyalty to The Fairmont Chateau Whistler. We hope we will continue to be your hotel of choice in Whistler for many years to come!

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Whistler Blackcomb traveller
Bellevue, Washington, USA
1
Reviewed 27 March 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com
Thank A Whistler Blackcomb traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
Geneva, Illinois, USA
1
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Excellent hotel. All the amenities and service desired. Located at Blackcomb gondola, 5 min walk or shuttle to Whistler Village and main Gondola. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.7 km away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,705 reviews
4.2 km away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,926 reviews
0.8 km away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.6 km away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
866 reviews
0.3 km away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#3 Family Hotel in Whistler
#4 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#5 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range: $249 - $1,116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing