We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“January 2012 Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“January 2012 Holiday”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I have been skiing for 30 years and have always wanted to try a new place each year. After the 10 days in the Fairmont and the Resort in general I want to go back. The hotel staff were courteous and professional. The food was outstanding, especially the Sea Food Chowder which was amazing. The rooms large and very clean. The only complaint I have was that the holiday was not long enough at this hotel. Exceptional value for money given the quality.

Room Tip: Had room on fourth floor facing away from the slopes. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amg-merc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read about how much you enjoyed our hotel. We look forward to you returning for a longer vacation next time!

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,150
    677
    245
    87
    51
See reviews for
974
1,115
79
465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

My wife,daughter and myself stayed at Chateau Whistler for a 1 week ski break from 10th March. This was our 2nd stay-it was so good 1st time we had to come back!
The staff were extremely courteous and helpful at all times and as we were celebrating our daughters birthday during our stay we received a lovely room upgrade to a slope side view. As my wife does not ski this was a definite bonus as it was fascinating to watch the activity outside.
The room was kept spotlessly clean throughout our stay and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was slightly darker than we like and could be better lit.
The spa and outdoor Jacuzzi's were lovely and very quiet during the day although there were large numbers of children in the early evening as it was Canada's 2 week spring break-so if you don't want children around don't choose these weeks.
The staff in the ski room and the valet ski service was excellent-much better than anything in europe. Picking up our skis was stress free and as it is truly ski-in ski-out it was very easy access to the slopes. You do however need skis suitable for powder to really enjoy this area and the standard of the rental equipment was excellent so it is better to hire than take your own unless they are for powder. It is less sunny than in the Alps in March but the superb skiing more than makes up for it.
As we booked our stay in advance we had spending credit at the food areas and had lovely breakfasts in Portobello Deli for free. They also do very good sandwiches at lunchtime but its a shame it closes at 5.00pm.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone and the skiing was magnificent-epic powder

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
279 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Love the location!!! It is a ski in and out hotel, can't be more convenient than this for a family with small kids. I have 2 small kids, I just drop them off at the ski camp and daycare which are next to each other in the same building next to the blackcomb lift which is right outside the back of the hotel. The hotel backside has a ski equipment drop off service so you don't even have to drag anything anywhere close to your room. It takes me very little time to get ready in the morning with the 5 and 2 yrs and ourselves before hopping on to the lift. The pool and hottubs are great for after ski relaxing which we used daily to the delight of our kids. Breakfast in the hotel flower restaurant is excellent!! And the hotel shuttle takes you to the village every 10 mins so you don't miss all the restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoriaxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Guest,

We were thrilled to read how much you and your children enjoyed your recent vacation with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernie, Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

For the past week we have stayed in 3 hotels and now have come to our 4th. 3 of the 4 hotels have been Fairmount hotels and the other two so surpass the whistler chateau in several ways. First of all, the greeting at the front desk was very perfunctory and when our reservation was not found on the system we had to produce our confirmation and then everything had to be reentered. Service has been mediocre and the staff doesn't seem to care. We have been in the lounge twice and have been ignored both times. We are staying on club level and our room is supposed to receive turn down service but that did not happen. Dinner was fine but again service was slow even though the dining room was not crowded. After experiencing the service at the pacific rim hotel for the past two nights we can make a good comparison and the chateau is nowhere in the same league when it comes to service and hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmalfiRegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Guest,

We were very disappointed to read that your stay fell short of your expectations. The level of service that you describe is certainly not indicative of the warm hospitality we pride ourselves on delivering at The Fairmont Chateau Whistler. We would encourage you to contact our Front Office Management team at cwrfoleaders@fairmont.com to discuss your stay in greater detail. We hope to have the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel.

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We booked a last minute stay at Chateau Whistler over Easter Weekend (April 7). We had a room with two queen size beds on the third floor (on the side away from the pool). The room was very nicely decorated and very comfortable for our family of 4. It was very quiet on this side. Some of the extras we didn’t expect included
• Coffee maker with free coffee (at least 4 packs) with creamers in fridge.
• Kettle and tea bags.
• Small fridge to store our own drinks/food.
• Spacious bathroom with tub and shower separate. We used the tub to hang up bathing suits.
• Enough table space for 4 of us to eat in our room.
We used the hot tub and pool after skiing. It was great. They have indoor and outdoor pools and hot tubs, but we used the outdoor one as it was a nice day. We also saw a nice exercise room but did not use this.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the pool if you would like some quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pooky29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

So the hotel is good, the food good, the breakfast great the location fab!. The problem...everything is dated and it's rather old in side

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kishkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
4.2 km away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
0.9 km away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
0.8 km away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.7 km away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
0.3 km away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Property: Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#3 Family Hotel in Whistler
#4 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#5 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing