We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Hubby booked us into a standard Fairmont Gold room for one night for my birthday. Maybe it was because they couldn't adjust the rate of our previously-made booking (made through Expedia) to match a last-minute deal price (available through the hotel) or maybe it was because he told them it was my birthday, but when we arrived, we found we had been upgraded to a Fairmont Gold Junior Suite! They also arranged for a birthday cake to be delivered to our room & all the concierges made sure to wish me a happy birthday :)

Regular "Gold"-level rooms are already amazingly comfy & well-appointed, but the Junior Suite was something else. Even the amenities were upgraded ("Le Labo" shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, lotions, and soaps!).

Regardless, we always enjoy the perks of staying on the Gold level, which include breakfast (both continental and hot food choices), afternoon appies, and coffee/tea/snacks available at any time the Gold lounge is open. It's also nice to have a few DVDs to borrow, a few friendly concierges to help with any bookings you need, and someone to mail out your letters or postcards without having to find a post office on your own.

Even without upgrading to the "Gold" level, the Chateau is a great choice. Great location (ski-in/ski-out in the winter months), phenomenal service, great pool & hot tubs, great workout facilities, and wonderful food options. "The Wildflower" has a delicious menu & a very good wine list at affordable pricing for the quality you get. "The Mallard Lounge" is everything you'd expect from an apres-ski lounge with its fireplaces, comfy couches & great appetizer choices.

Thank-you to the staff at the Chateau for another memorable stay!

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the mountains...whether it's an upgrade or you pay in advance for it, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCcubed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Fairmont Gold experience with us on Trip Advisor. Our Fairmont Gold team will be thrilled to read what a memorable birthday they created for you. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,183
    682
    248
    88
    51
See reviews for
984
1,127
81
477
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We just spent to nights in Fairmont Whistler and again I was not disappointed. This was a lovely hotel. The staff were wonderful and had great customer service skills. They always had a smile on their face. The rooms a decent in size . The hotel is about 15 mins walk to the whistler village.Great views of Whistler Mountain. If want to splurge or not this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackiesholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibsons, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Went up for just the one night, arriving before noon and were able to check in immediately. When we got to the room, my husband, desperate to hit the slopes asap, realized that he had forgotten to pack his winter jacket. We called the concierge, explaining the situation and asked where we could purchase a jacket quickly and inexpensively. He asked us what size my husband was, and within 5 minutes (no exaggeration!) there was a knock on the door and a hotel employee was standing outside with a jacket for my husband to borrow! Very impressive.
The rest of the service during our stay was also excellent, with everyone greeting us with smiles and very attentive. The location to the Blackcombe ski lift is literally outside the door so very easy ski in/ski out. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

First fairmont I have ever stayed at. I thought that I should be there. I stay at cheaper hotels from time to time because I always think its a place to sleep. Not experience.

When I checked in, somehow we were upgraded to the president club floor. That's a nice start. Don't know what I did to deserve this, but I will take it.

Rooms. They are so nice and make you feel like you are on a ski lodge vacation. Beds are very comfortable, and the bathrooms are very clean and modern.

Location. If you ski, this is a great place for the location . So close to blackcomb. You are a short 5 min walk to the village for restaurants and entertainment.

Price. Just sign up for their newsletter as you can get some great deals.

Staff. Top notch. They are there to make your stay the best.

Pool and gym. Loved the pool. Big enough not to be crowded, and options for laying around or do laps. The hot tubs are very nice as you can relax and stare at the mountains. The gym has very modern equipment to get your workout on.

Will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrentP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

First, the concierge desk went above and beyond in helping my family from the moment we stepped into the hotel. I'm always afraid that booking a higher class hotel like the Fairmonts or the Ritz-Carlton would result in the staffs treating the medium to medium-high class families like mine a bit different because we aren't rolling in money. It was obvious that we were penny pitching in order to afford this hotel. This was not the case. Regardless of how much of a hillbilly my husband acts (and dresses sometimes ...), all the staffs we encountered from the room service to the front desk, the valets, ski/board check, and the spa staffs down to the pool cleaning ladies... they were absolutely amazing. The staffs get 12/10 :)

The ski in/out location was great and the 3 hot tubs were absolutely amazing. We really enjoyed soaking our sore bodies in the tub and ordering drinks right from the pool area after a long day on the mountain. They also have indoor/outdoor pool that stays warm as well, but we primarily just stayed in the tub. It was pretty busy -- so it we had to walked around and sneaked in the tub when people got up. But aside from that, the tub was wonderful.

Tried several room service. Food were delicious and fast. Price was high as expected, but I don't think it was outrageous, esp since the food quality was good. After all, it was Fairmont, so I won't compare that to Comfort Inn or Courtyard. The restaurants attached were just OK -- I recommend that you walk to the village for food or even to Milestone restaurant right next door.

Knocked out 1 star from it being quite a walk from the village area. If you prefer somewhere more upbeat with more things to do after being on the mountain, try Pan Pacific hotel near the village. They are also a ski in/out location and they have amazing Irish Pub and Restaurant attached with absolutely amazing foods and beers! But if all you want to do is relax and to be left alone -- this is the place for you :)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlyxisPaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Made a trip to Whistler for NYE and stayed at the Fairmont. Considering the rooms rates were around $600-$700 per night I had some expectations. I must say that the building itself and the common areas are very beautiful. The location in the village is somewhat isolated and can be a plus or minus depending on what you are looking for. Unfortunately the service levels were not there. Walking into the lobby with tons of bags and ski gear workers just walked right by us not offering any baggage assistance. Check in was neither quick nor smooth, as there was confusion with our booking. Our room was average at best, smallish, and with a dated bathroom. The biggest issue we had was with the ski valet on the property. A number of times when coming or going from the hotel to the slopes the valet was nowhere to be found and I had to find someone to come get my skis. This was very irritating and unacceptable especially for a property of this stature. Our favorite thing about the resort was the outdoor pool and hot tubs, however, the drink service was so spotty that we never had the chance to even get a drink. Overall I was rather disappointed with the Fairmont Chateau Whistler and would probably not return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicagotraveler83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear Guest,

We were disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your time with us over New Year's Eve, and would welcome the opportunity to speak with you regarding your stay. Please contact the Front Office Management team at cwrfoleaders@fairmont.com. We look forward to restoring your faith in our hotel.

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
512 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Classy and elegant hotel that needs upgrading badly-like any old grand dame
Havent seen flip up light switches in a decade even in a 2 star hotel, furniture weathered and battered
Pool , hot tub jacuzzi , area very nice, good wine selection at bar, excellent service

Room Tip: Higher rooms afford nice mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgppres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
4.2 km away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,834 reviews
0.7 km away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,562 reviews
0.8 km away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.9 km away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
1,687 reviews
0.3 km away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Property: Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#3 Family Hotel in Whistler
#4 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#4 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Fairmont Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing