We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fabulous staff, Fabulous room, Fabulous pool.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
vancouver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fabulous staff, Fabulous room, Fabulous pool.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Great stay twice this year. Every single staff member went out of their way to make our stay well,...fabulous! From the valet to the front staff to the waiters and right up to the management (especially Mehmood). The rooms are first class and the pool area is the best in Whistler. (We stayed on the eighth floor in March and in the penthouse in May). Would highly recommend paying the extra to upgrade to the gold service level. During high season the appys and breakfast in the eighth floor lounge are amazing. During low season you order from the menu and as long as you are not excessive, they take care of the bill. Personally I preferred the eighth floor gold lounge experience, but the low season set up is still very nice. The hotel is a short walk to town, but is literally a few steps from the upper chair, so it is ski in ski out.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,980
    641
    237
    82
    47
See reviews for
879
1,043
76
443
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

This place is like something out of Disney on first viewing. The foyer is ridiculously large and lacks any sense of taste. The rooms are standard hotel quality - we had one on the 4th floor facing the back so had a view of a tree on a hillside - get a room at the front if you want to see the mountains. Breakfast in the hotel was a joke - the 9 dollar sausage amused us for the whole of our vacation. Top tip - eat out - there is great value to be had in Whistler. You may also need to take your ear plugs - our fellow guests shrieked up and down the corridor until at least 3am. Our whole stay was a total disappointment.

Room Tip: no views at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maltonian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Guest,

We were very concerned to read about how disappointed you were with your stay at The Fairmont Chateau Whistler. Please contact the Front Office Management team at cwrfoleaders@fairmont.com at your earliest convenience.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

The Fairmont in Whistler is like many of their other establishments; dated and in desperate need of renovation. My friend and I stayed for the May long weekend this past weekend arriving on the Saturday. The first room we were given was as far from the elevator as possible (down hideous hallways that reminded me of thrown up strawberry shortcake) and was already occupied by a woman and her dog and walking in on her in the bathroom was most embarrassing.

Our second room was on the same floor next door to the other (despite us asking for one closer to the elevator) and was dated, old and for a disabled person. This meant we had no bath, no real control of our heat (there was an "aircon" button halfway up the wall which did nothing in this stiffling room) and generally was very odd. If someone was in a wheelchair I would have no clue how they could get into the regular height beds, see themselves in the mirror by the desk (I sat at the desk and could see the top of my head) or reach the regular sized sink. Apparently this is one of two disabled rooms in the hotel and so I guess people with disabilities are not meant to stay here.

There was no fridge in the room but a cooler and when we called for a fridge the man oddly delivered it and put it in the bathroom. I realized later this was because there were no spare plug sockets at all in the room. To dry our hair we had to constantly unplug something.

Anyway - we saw the humour in all of this and started to get ready. Our iron leaked water all over my friends silk shirt, a second iron was delivered to the room which did not work at all and finally a third was brought as we were drying my friends shirt with a hairdryer.

The next morning we woke up looking forward to our smoked salmon breakfast and champagne I had brought for my friend to discover the fridge did not work and our salmon, cheese and the open bottle of wine from the previous night was literally boiling.

We went down to the front desk, reported all the issues and were asked by the manager of customer relations how much this was worth. How very embarrassing. I have never had someone put me in such an awkward position. I blurted out some figure (which as we later realised when we tried to drink our oxidised wine was incredibly low), my friend told him how much dry cleaning for her top was going to cost and he added a little and that was that. A terrible way of asking people how they would like this resolved.

We go out for the afternoon, return at 3.50pm and there is a message on our phone saying to ring reception as we have a new room. I should note that our room had not been cleaned. My friend and I were exhausted after a day of walking around and so we decided that if they were going to simply offer us another room and not a disabled one napping might be more important. The room they were offering us was the same and so packing up was not an option. When I asked if someone could come and clean the room at 7.30pm (our dinner reservation time) I was told it was too late. When I pointed out that it was nearly 4pm and we had a dirty room which is hardly acceptable I was told that the rooms are cleaned up to 4.30pm (the cleaning ladies were about 20 rooms away and so they would need to work fast...). The hotel knew they would be busy this weekend and so my being told this is the reason why our rooms were a mess when we had left that morning is unacceptable. Hiring extra staff would have been appropriate.

We went for dinner, came back, checked out the next day and will not be returning. Shame on the Fairmonts for making people feel second rate. I am not saying everyone was not nice - but for a supposed Four Star hotel this was attrocious.

Room Tip: rooms near elevators or in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Britchick604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Guest,

It was very disappointing to read about your recent experience with us at The Fairmont Chateau Whistler. Clearly the efforts that we made to address your concerns while you were here did not compensate for the inconvenience you were caused. Please accept our apology for a less than satisfactory stay. We would genuinely welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further detail. Please contact the Front Office Management team at cwrfoleaders@fairmont.com.

We hope to have the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel.

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

We booked through Whistler accomodations and "Miguel's pick". We had a wonderful room, and the fitness and leisure centre was amazing. Loved the bar service at the hot tub so we could have a margarita on cinqo de mayo! Dinner at the Grill Room restaurant there was excellent. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: End room away from the elevators and near the stairs led straight down to the fitness centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

The Chateau Whister Resort is a great place to go sking and other winter activities. They have a great selection of resturants, and a great location to be in. However it is advised not to bring any computers to this hotel. This hotel is not computer friendly. I brought my computer to this hotel, however somehow, after a day of fun activties the Computer screen got cracked and I could not use the computer screen anymore. The only way this screen could have been cracked was from the people who clean the hotel rooms, as the room was not occupied throughout the day. The hotel has said they would have done something to this problem, however the hotel has yet to do something to this day.

Room Tip: Try not to bring computers to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pop-rocks123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Guest,

It was very concerning to read that you have not heard back from the hotel regarding damage to your laptop during your stay with us. Please contact the Housekeeping Management team at cwrhousekeepingmanagement@fairmont.com. We look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Driving up to this property is impressive. It really is castle like and conformed to my vision of what a European style skiing chalet looks like. Very rustic with a huge stone hearth fireplace, soaring ceilings with wood beams (almost Tudor like), and flooring with both wood slats and stone slabs. Really beautiful. Additionally, the outdoor areas are wonderful with sizeable pool (indoor/outdoor), jacuzzi, and firepits. The location is great only a short walk from some good restaurants in the village (try Araxi) and the ski lift to the top of Whislter mountain. All great. Unfortunately, what wasn't so great were the rooms. I was expecting (maybe hoping) that such a great rustic interior would carry over to the rooms but I found them to be small and frankly bland. Very cookie cutter boring. Maybe the view of the hotel designer was the guests would spend little time in their rooms at this resort (only for sleeping) but I've been to plenty of other resorts in which the rooms matched the elegance of the rest of the hotel. That just isn't the case at the Chateau Whistler. On top of this the service though correct was rather stiff and uninspired. At no time did anyone in the hotel come across as warm or welcoming. If I had a question, they answered it; if I wanted something, they did it. But that was all. There never seemed to be a goal to surpass expectations or provide something special. Meet a guest's needs, but that's all. Would I stay here again? The answer is yes but only after giving both the Four Seasons and Pan Pacific properties a try. We'll be up at Whistler again this coming year and intend to do just that.

Room Tip: The best rooms are those in the back of the hotel overlooking the pool area with views of Whistler a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel on Trip Advisor. Although we were pleased to read that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay, it was disappointing to learn that you found our guest rooms and service lacklustre. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in greater detail. The Front Office Management team can be reached at cwrfoleaders@fairmont.com.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

My husband and four kids, ages ranging form 18 years old to 3 years old, went to ski to whistle, canada. The fairmont Hotel was wonderfull, the rooms were beautifull decorated and we got rooms facing the slopes and the swiming pool. It was romantic and yet a lot of fun for all my kids. The ski in and ski out service is well organized. The restaurants are good and a bit pricy but there is always other options close by within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read about how much you and your family enjoyed your stay at The Fairmont Chateau Whistler. We were glad that you and your husband found some time for yourselves as well. We hope to see you back next season!

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
4.2 km away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
0.6 km away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#6 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.8 km away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,281 reviews
0.8 km away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.9 km away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Property: Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#3 Family Hotel in Whistler
#4 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#6 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing