We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,009)
Filter reviews
4,009 results
Traveller rating
2,713
838
288
105
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,713
838
288
105
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mallard lounge gold floor wildflower restaurant health club blackcomb mountain upper village beautiful hotel ski valet slope side hot chocolate self parking valet service steam room end of the day apres ski outdoor pool four seasons
Filter
Updating list...
274 - 279 of 4,009 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2018

Even though I live in Whistler, I love the treat of staying at the Fairmont when I'm lucky enough to do so. For an older property, it is lovingly and perfectly maintained - the rooms are immaculate and a lovely expression of luxury, from the Le Labo toiletries to the super bed and bedding.

The staff are always accommodating and for an extremely busy resort hotel, you never feel rushed or treated like a 'number'. It's location is the best in Whistler and it attracts a mix of wealthy families and those on a romantic getaway - which is a feat in and of itself!

The Mallard Lounge is a Whistler icon, attracting plenty of locals as well as guests, well worth the hefty price tag (once in a while).

It's a dog-friendly property - generally very inclusive. If you can afford the splurge and like a bustling example of luxury, then the Chateau is for you.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Dear Robyn E,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with Fairmont Chateau Whistler. It is wonderful to read a review from the perspective of Whistler local! We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to know your experience was a magical one from guest room comfort, service to dining at our renown Mallard Lounge.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us; we hope to have to opportunity to welcome you back with us for another grand stay in the future!

Sincerely,

Christopher Vick
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

Fantastic hotel, very welcoming, got upgrade to beautiful slope side room. Champagne and chocolates in the room as celebrating anniversary. Excellent helpful staff, concierge, and housekeeping. Lovely bar, restaurants were first class. Overall a fabulous time. We will return!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Dear Anne C,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your most recent stay with Fairmont Chateau Whistler! We are thrilled to read that we were able to help ensure your anniversary was highlighted, and that the service was excellent throughout your experience.

Thank you for choosing Fairmont Chateau Whistler; we look forward to welcoming you back with us in the nearest future!

Sincerely,
Christopher Vick
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

Visited as a party of 11, including 5 children aged between 4 and 10. The hotel itself was wonderful and very welcoming. We had several family suites. The Suites were well thought out, with 3 bathrooms and good sized living areas. Some of the most comfortable beds I have ever experienced anywhere. The children loved the room.

We were advised after arrival that although we were staying in the top rooms at the hotel for a whole week, we would be unable to eat in any of the hotel restaurants as they were all fully booked all week. We were willing to split the group up, but were unable to get even a table for two in the hotel all week. The concierge helped us book restaurants in town, but none were as good, or as convenient as dining in the hotel would have been.

Be warned, if travelling to whistler book you restaurants when you book your hotel.

We used the hotels mountain ski shop. Service was slow, the staff disinterested, and the equipment tired. Despite being quite specific about our ski and boot requirements, we tended to be issued whatever was available, rather than correct. Boots and skis were tired. On initial fitting, we took over an hour for two people to be served.

The boot valet was so busy, it could take 20 mins to get you boots, and the same again for skis at ski school times of day. On one day, they lost one of our pairs of skis. We took to taking our boots back to our room to save time.

Overall, a great hotel, but not able to provide its full service when busy. Left feeling disappointed by the service from the restaurant booking teams and ski room personnel.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Dear David H,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Fairmont Chateau Whistler during Easter this year. We appreciate all our guest feedback, both positive and constructive. We are so pleased to read your part of eleven felt comfortable in your well appointed guestrooms, and even noted that your children abosloutly loved their space!

Please accept our apologies that you were unable to book dining reservations for the time of your stay. We always encourage our guests to book their dining ahead of time as some of our restaurants do have the tendency to fill up during the holidays/special events. However, we do understand your frustration and will be relaying your comments to our Director of Food & Beverage to further look into our processes.

In addition, we would like to apologize on behalf of the ski shop for the lack of service, condition of equipment and their timeliness. We will be sharing your feedback directly with the management of the rental store in order to follow up with their staff.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience on TripAdvisor. We are grateful for the opportunity to connect with you after your ski getaway and do hope to welcome your family back with us in the near future!

Sincerely,

Christopher Vick
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

First time at Whistler and we wanted a hotel with ski in/ski out and ski valet. They even had a boot valet which was fantastic. Could get a bit crowded in the morning when everyone is trying to get out at the same time on the mountain. Nice thing we found out when there was they sometimes have free guided mountain tours for skiers at 8:30am so you don't have to wait until 11am for the Whistler (CIBC) free guided tours. They say you should be comfortable on blue/intermediate runs. I never got to go but my husband did. I'd recommend it if you're new to the mountain because it is huge - remember it has the largest ski-able terrain in North America. So take advantage of the free tours to get oriented.

The hotel didn't disappoint as we got what we've come to expect with Fairmont hotels.

Just know that it is not in the main Whistler village but it's not a far walk - 7-8 minutes but they do have a shuttle if you don't want to walk. We always walked the few times we had dinner in the village.

Room Tip: Was in 606 which was a Mountain view room and I think it was a bit larger than other similar Fairmont rooms
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Angela_in_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Dear Angela_in_TO,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with Fairmont Chateau Whistler. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and particular enjoyed the in house boot valet and guided mountain tours!

On behalf of the entire Fairmont team, we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Whistler destination in the near future.

Sincerely,
Christopher Vick
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

I'll make this easy.
PROS- The Fairmont Whistler has a great location at the base of Blackcomb on the quieter end of town. Each and every single staff member from the concierge to the waitress to the cleaning staff were above and beyond friendly and amazing and working hard. We appreciate all of their efforts.
CONS: Ski rental shop had a horrible selection of skis and boots.Not as advertised at all. Large groups of unsupervised children running through the hotel everywhere were slightly annoying But the worst part is that we had two separate spa days- both overrun by children. It is totally unacceptable to pay what we did ($250 for 90 minute massage and $100 for a pedicure) when our experience included filthy bathroom/ shower/steam area and kids running in and out of the steam shower and lockers the entire time. It's a very small inconvenient space in the first place but when you add kids running around it really takes away from the experience.I've been to many high end spas around the country and they all have rules about kids under 16 or 18 in the spa area. I certainly understand if the Fairmont wants to keep it family friendly but you don't get to have it both ways. You can't please the families and the spa goers in the same space. I should add that the spa treatments were very good-- just a shame to have it ruined. The lockerrooms had wet slippery floors, hair was everyhwere and even the little things were off- like the soap, shampoo and conditioner dispensers weren't even marked. They have a lot of room for improvement. Not the fault of any of the employees at the spa either-- they were all amazing.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sparkyPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Dear SparkyPennsylvania,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with Fairmont Chateau Whistler. We appreciate all guest feedback both positive and constructive to ensure we delivering on our promise for excellence.

It was wonderful to read you found our Fairmont Team across all departments to be friendly and hardworking. We will certainly share your kind sentiments back with them for recognition of their efforts!

Please accept our sincerest apologies you had concerns with the Spa which consequently impacted what should have been a luxury spa treatment. Rest assured we will be relaying your comments with our Executive Team for any immediate action as well as potential future changes to our Spa.

Thank you for providing us with your feedback and we do hope to welcome you back with Fairmont Chateau Whistler us in the near future.

Sincerely,

Christopher Vick
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews