We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, terrific staff, could use a refreshing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great location, terrific staff, could use a refreshing”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Overall, we were very happy with our stay at the Westin. We booked using points and were given a somewhat dungeon-like room on the 3rd floor (lowest level of rooms). After requesting a better one, we were moved to a much nicer room on a higher floor that actually received natural light.

The rooms have a bed, sitting area, gas fireplaces, and surprisingly, a full kitchen.

The location is terrific - everything is within walking distance. The staff was incredibly helpful with everything from free shuttle service to restaurant/spa reservations.

One of the biggest problems was with the Internet. While the hotel has wifi, it was spotty at best. It was actually shocking how we were unable to maintain a decent connection on any of our devices. How difficult is this in 2012??

While nice, the rooms themselves could use a refreshing and were not as nice as I would have expected given the rates.

Note - while they offer ski storage, they charge for this service. Parking is also somewhat astronomical.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear rsp1,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review! We're glad to see that you enjoyed our location and that our associates were able to make a memorable impression. Please accept our apologies that we weren't able to resolve your Internet issues. We are working with our IT Team to ensure our systems are working as effectively as possible.

Stay well,
Bryce Beatty
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    963
    617
    222
    84
    63
See reviews for
678
643
68
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We use SPG regularly, and in the past we have had a good experience, however on this trip it was not the case, We are not saying i would not use Westin or other SPG hotels again however We would not rush to rebook this particular venue, especially with so many others on site.
We paid over CAN$3000 for 7 nights, for that I would expect free WIFI however that is a additional charge of CAN$15 per day. Our booking was for a one bed suite, however the basic double bed encapsulated most of the bedroom area. The room provided a small kitchen/ diner and comfortable lounge with a gas fire (a nice touch). This provides a choice however with an abundance of pubs and restaurants on the doorstep most guests would be unlikely to do much cooking here.
The location is the positive and ideal for ski in and out with both whistler and blackcomb mountain gondola's on the doorstep. Another nice touch is a ski valet, when you exit the lift look for a small tent with Westin name simply hand in your ski's and its off for that après ski drink. We hired through the hotel so I am uncertain if this applies to the $8 per day ski valet service if you bring own skis, but worth looking into.Possibly an onsite cafe with free WIFI would be a big addition to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rj_watters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear rj_watters,

Thank you for sharing your review! Though we are glad to see that our location and ski valet made for an enjoyable winter getaway, we're sorry to hear of all the details of your stay that did not meet your expectations. We strive to ensure that every guest has a special and memorable experience, and I apologize that we fell short with this goal. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at bryce.beatty@westinwhistler.com if I can personally assist you with your arrangements.

Best regards,
Bryce Beatty
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We booked a one bedroom suite. The bed was extremely comfortable. The lounge was a good size but the kitchen was extremely small with no space to dry dishes. A non stick pan would have been useful.
We were surprised to be told that in order to have access to WiFi for a week we would have to pay over 90 dollars. The signal was fairly poor and kept on dropping.
On checking out we saw a charge of 8 dollars per person per day for storage of our ski equipment. We complained about this as we were not told on checking in. The management removed the charge from our bill.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SebastoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed here during a business retreat my husband's employer arranged. The hotel was beautiful and the location in Whistler Village couldn't be beat - right next to the lifts, but not exposed to the nightlife noise of the Village. We stayed in a studio which was very nice - even had a mini kitchen which I hadn't expected in a hotel. My only complaint was about the heating. The thermostat setting went as low as 66 (still warm for sleeping in my opinion!), but the room never went below 69 except when we opened the window wide (at which point the temperature dropped quickly!). I was very grateful for fresh air, so many hotels don't have windows that open, but it wasn't a reliable way to keep a comfortable temperature and wasn't practical at night (it was very hard to find just the right amount of fresh air to keep the room cool but not freezing!). Other than that, we had a wonderful stay. The staff was gracious, business events were very well organized and staffed, and I was very impressed by how smoothly they managed a large group.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellevueBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear BellevueBeth,

Thank you for sharing your review! We’re so glad that you and your husband were able to enjoy such a relaxing retreat. We hope we can welcome you back for another visit soon, and on your next stay please allow us to personally assist you with the thermostat in your room so we can ensure you are as comfortable as possible!

Stay well,
Bryce Beatty
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
130 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

The ‘sharp’ talk in the limo from the airport was that the Westin was too far from the lifts and the service was rude and unfriendly. Not a great start perhaps but the observations were way off.

The hotel is no more than a 3 minute walk from the lifts. The room was large, comfortable and well appointed. The in-room kitchen looked after us well and the staff were friendly and eager to please. A stubborn room safe was fixed quickly and efficiently. Housekeeping even sent the birthday girl a birthday card and a bottle of bubbly (thank you Murjitt). The ski valet was (contrary to reports, free) helpful, friendly and efficient. The Firerock Lounge was welcoming and relaxing after a hard days skiing and the wings were the best of our stay.

We would gladly stay at the Westin again or recommend to friends and all.

That said, here are some additional details the management could still improve upon: (a) better pillows and bedding (b) wall hooks or a means of drying wet ski clothing (something more than just the gas fire) (c) despite the complementary Starbucks filter sachets, surely a hotel of this size and distinction can run to a coffee shop? (d) likewise, surely a hotel of this size and distinction could offer free wi-fi rather than see Westin customers visit other hotel lobbies or coffee shops?

Bob

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobs-big-vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 km away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.2 km away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,558 reviews
3.3 km away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
1,682 reviews
0.7 km away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
1.1 km away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler

Property: The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler
Address: 4090 Whistler Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Whistler
#5 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#7 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#11 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#13 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Whistler Village just yards from the gondolas and the slopes of Whistler and Blackcomb mountains, The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler is an all-suite, full-service conference hotel and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler Hotel Whistler
The Westin Resort And Spa, Whistler
Westin Resort Whistler
Westin Hotel Whistler
Westin Whistler
Whistler Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing