We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nickled and dimed in a tiny room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, wa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nickled and dimed in a tiny room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

It takes a lot to ruin a ski trip to Whistler/Blackcomb, but the Westin Resort and Spa managed to do it.

Let's start with the room: billed as a "Junior Suite," it promised "a living room, sleeping area and kitchen, complete with a Jenn-Air dishwasher, Sub-Zero refrigerator and Jenn-Air oven" and a balcony. Totally untrue. We had a typical two-bed hotel room with a kitchenette like you would see in a motor home. The refrigerator really was a Subzero (I checked the logo), but it was obviously from their subcompact line: again like what one would see in a motor home, it had about 2 cubic feet of space with shared freezer and refrigerator compartments. Things near the bottom froze, while those near the top stayed warm. There was a 2-burner stove, but no real counter space, and no table or other place to sit except the beds. Nor was there a balcony. In fact, there wasn't even a window we could open. This was a tiny efficiency at best, and far too small for two adults and two small kids.

And then there was the pool/hot tub. Yes, the pool goes from inside to outside, which we though our kids would love. However, the pool was far too cold for any fun. Though I didn't have a thermometer, I'm sure it was no warmer than the mid 70's, and we could only stay in for about 10 minutes. No chance to warm up in the two hot-tubs, though, because they were jam-packed. Nor was there any place to sit or even put our towels and bathrobes down: it's like the entire pool facility was designed for no more than 1/3 of the number of people actually crammed into it.

Now let's talk about the fees. It cost $30.00 (plus tax) per day to self-park our car, even though the cavernous garage was mostly empty. In addition, because you can't store your ski gear in your room, there's a mandatory "ski valet" charge of $8.00 (plus tax) per pair per day for the privilege of standing in line every morning to have someone hand your equipment to you. Want to use the internet? It costs $14.00 (plus tax) per day--at least 5 dollars more than most places, if they even charge at all. And forget about watching your DVDs in the room--there's no DVD player. If you want entertainment, you have to use their in-room movie service, which costs $15.00 (plus tax) for any movie you've ever heard of.

I go to Whistler at least once every year, and I will be back next year. But I will never, ever stay at the Westin again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Arty A,

I am sorry to see your comments here despite trying to connect with you via email. We are truly sorry that you and your family did not enjoy your stay with us, and would like the opportunity to speak with you to discuss further. At your earliest opportunity please email me at bryce.beatty@westinwhistler.com.

Thank you,
Bryce Beatty
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    904
    573
    201
    75
    59
See reviews for
616
612
61
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Cannot beat the location, the hotel backs onto Whistler mountain. Staff were excellent and room was decent and well appointed. I think this hotel has to check out the competition and make some changes. Parking is one of the most expensive in Whistler (if not the most expensive) and is unsecured, charge for wi-fi, and more importantly the only accommodation in Whistler I know of that charges for ski storage - $8 per equipment to max of $24 per room per night. Location is great, but quite a few good hotels in the village have great locations, secured parking, and free equipment storage.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bctravelling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

As always, the snow was outstanding, the hotel location is excellent for both skiers and non-skiers, meals about town excellent. And love that outdoor hot tub (indoors for the meek) and heavenly bed. The bathroom was a bit tired and small - not the usual high powered shower head and curved shower curtain rod. Used the gym, sauna and steam too. Look forward to going back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Helpful?
Thank JZTdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear JZTdot,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your review! We appreciate your comments and are glad to see how much you enjoyed your trip. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Stay well,
Bryce Beatty
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

...but no free wi-fi. We paid $90 for seven days of wireless access, not a huge amount, but I didn't like feeling nickeled-and-dimed since this is a pricey hotel. Also, skis aren't permitted in the room and you're charged $8/day per person for ski storage on the first floor. These amenities should be at no extra charge, given the per-room rates they charge. Otherwise, it was very comfortable. The bedding and bath were both really nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Helpful?
Thank jilldrew56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments! We're glad to see that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed your suite and our location. We hope you'll be pleased to know that we now offer complimentary WiFi in our lobby. We do appreciate your comments about our pricing so that we can ensure we remain competitive.

Stay well,
Bryce Beatty
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Whether you go to whistler in the summer or in the winter, the Westin is ideally located to take advantage of everything Whistler has to offer, both during the day and in the evening.

As a family, we've been staying at the Westin regularly for the past 5/6 years. We use to stay there systematically, but our experience over the last two years has not been as good as it use to be. Many services that were included are now "fee based options". The rooms are still nice,but getting a little dated. The 1 bedroom suites included a min kitchen and pull out coach which works well for a family of 4.

The gym and pool area is excellent even though the pool is way too small for the number of rooms... it's not too often that I've seen it overly crowded.

We continue to stay there when we can get a good deal. However, we now look for other options and we have started booking other properties in Whistler.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Francois C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

The location of the Westin can't be beat - virtually at the base of Whistler and a short stroll to the gondola. Staff were very good, from doorman, check-in personnel, express service to concierge. We were really impressed with the fact that mid-stay we received a call asking if there was anything the hotel could do to improve the stay. The rooms, on the other hand, are very average and looking quite dated. We found the charge for internet access to be an annoyance (wanted around $85 for a 6 night stay) and went out of our way to check email outside the hotel. On a similar note, we found the parking charges at $34 per day(we never took the car out, only used it to drive to and from airport) to be outrageous. Ski valet service also expensive ($24 per day) but worth it, in my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine2011928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Catherine2011928,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we are truly delighted that our associates were attentive and caring and made your stay more memorable. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts on the costs for additional services. Please know we take care to price ourselves competitively in Whistler, and we hope you'll be happy to know that we just introduced complimentary WiFi in our lobby. Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your family getaway, we hope we can welcome you back again very soon!

Stay well,
Bryce Beatty
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Perfect spot at the base of Whistler. Very clean. Helpful staff. Doormen shuttled us to dinner and were great.

Not the biggest rooms or best Westin on the the planet ( We are Gold SPG members )
but location is why you'll stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the Lifts w/balcony are nice in the spring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 km away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.2 km away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#6 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
3.3 km away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,274 reviews
0.2 km away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
0.7 km away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler

Property: The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler
Address: 4090 Whistler Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Whistler
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#5 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#7 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#11 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#13 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Whistler Village just yards from the gondolas and the slopes of Whistler and Blackcomb mountains, The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler is an all-suite, full-service conference hotel and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort And Spa, Whistler
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler Hotel Whistler
Westin Resort Whistler
Westin Hotel Whistler
Westin Whistler
Whistler Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing