We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Awesome, quiet and no ski lines” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Placid Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Placid Lodge
seattle
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome, quiet and no ski lines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2009

We were looking to get away from the main village since it is too noisy and the lines are so long to the gondolas. Lake Placid Lodge was just perfect... it's one of the only places to rent in Creekside next to the lifts. Loved the new quaint village and the newly renovated building. Will go back again.

Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SeattleSkibunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    23
    9
    13
    8
See reviews for
33
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2008

Family of 4 (with 2 teenagers) stayed here 12/19-12/26. Check in was at Twin Peaks - very efficient, helpful, friendly. Provided us with ski locks which we were able to use for the ski locker at the actual lodge as well as during the day when we skied at Whistler. We stayed in room 108 - one bedroom with pullout couch. While this was somewhat small for our family, we booked it because it was a rare timeshare trade (thru RCI) into Whistler. They provided an additional single mattress and bedding so that our sons did not have to share the couch. The unit had a nice view of the pool, mountainside and trees. The kitchen was sufficient and I was even able to make a Christmas dinner (with the help of a precooked turkey from a local deli grocery store). The unit was VERY clean and had nice touches such as coffee, hot chocolate, soaps, (including dishwashing liquid and laundry detergent), and paper towels. The unit was VERY clean and housekeeping came once during our stay.
The lodge is directly across the street from the Creekside gondola - very convenient. We rented our equipment from Can Ski - also across the street. Creekside Market, liquor store, pizza, subs, Dusty's, video rental, all within walking distance. Whistler Village bus stops at corner.
Underground parking garage was small, but great. I liked the security too. You needed a key for the garage as well as the ski storeroom and lobby. The unit was a little small and more than a week would have been a bit much. A washer/dryer in the unit would have been great - they are downstairs near the parking garage.
Overall, a pretty nice place.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no washer/dryer in unit
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tnbeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2008

This resort is a combination of privately owned suites with permanent residents or long-term rentals and also suites owned by a couple of different vacation club companies. There is no front desk, we checked in at a resort in the Village 4km away and they gave us the key to our room. We were happy with the size and cleanliness of our 2 bedroom unit. There were a couple of maintenance issues that were very quickly dealt with when we phoned the contact number of the check-in desk. The only real problem was that pool and hot tub were closed for 2 days and since the property is run by a property management company, not a resort company, it did not seem to be clear exactly why it was closed or for how long it would stay that way and the check-in people, although sympathetic, were unable to do anything about it. With 2 young children desperate to swim, this was an inconvenience for us and frustrating because no one was able to tell us when it would be open.
This resort is in Creekside which as previously mentioned is 4km away from the main Whistler Village. We were aware of this and were happy to stay in the quieter area, but within a couple of days we had spoken to two other families who showed us their walking maps of the Village and asked where everything was. They were surprised to discover that Lake Placid Lodge is not actually in the Village. When booking, it would be helpful to be aware that Creekside is in Whistler but not actually in the Whistler Village. There is, however, a lovely little playground, an Internet Cafe, Starbucks, a grocery store, restaurants and shopping in Creekside so it is a quite nice place to stay. And we drove to the Upper Village most days (free parking when you get there) to do the kids Adventure Zone and go to Hot Buns bakery. Great vacation!

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank netsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinetop, Arizona
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2008

stayed there for a week for skiing - I think this is a very nice place - stayed in room 313 in third floor, a 1 bdrm with a loft - very clean, and conveniently located literally across from the Whistler Creekside gondola - only a 2-3 minute walk to the gondola - MUCH quieter place and vibe in this area - went to the Mexican restaurant literally across the street from here, as well as the Zen Japanese restaurant - there is also a Boston Pizza place all within a 2-3 minute walk from the location - didn't really have a downside from our point of view - convenient, quiet, clean, full kitchen, and several restaurant choices within a 2-3 minute walk -

Went out one night to Monk's Grill - outstanding prime rib, but for 30+ dollars a plate I felt if was worth it, both in quality and portion size as well - very upscale place - treat yourselves to this place while you are in Whistler - you won't be disappointed -

you must realize that there is no front desk there - but you can call the place where you checked in and they're more than happy to help you - they even made me dinner reseravations one night - we had a slight problem with the dishwasher (gasket/seal was worn out and some water came out) and the next day it was taken care of -

all in all, I would give this place a solid 4 out of 5

  • Liked — location and nearby restaurants
  • Disliked — no front desk, no internet access
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank podoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2008

I stayed in room 123, which I would not recommend. I'm being specific about the room because in Whistler many of the accomodations are managed by the owners so there may in fact be other rooms at the Lake Placid Lodge with more consciousness owners.

Upon booking the room at alluradirect.com we recieved an email reply that included lots of info, including this gem:

"Front Desk: When you arrive, you are not required to check in at the front desk.The front desks purpose is to rent out units for owners who prefer not to do it themselves and to assist those guests etc.If there are any problems directly related to our unit they will not be able to help you.Any problems should be directed to us."

Translation we as the owners want to keep as much of the rental proceeds as possible and invest as little as possible in improving your rental experience (this is something to watch for in general at Whistler). When we arrived the brightly lit room we saw in the pictures was a unfortunatley very dim. Several light bulbs were burned out and all of the lamps we saw in the pictures were no longer in the room. We attempted to contact the owners but they never returned our calls. The refrigerator was very-very loud making it annoying to hang-out/sleep in the unit. Similarly the fireplace had a super-loud fan in it which ruined any pleasure in using the fireplace.

The one positive is that the unit was clean.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank matttu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whistler hotels

Abbotsford (BC)
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2006

Where do I start...first the positive. Loved the 1 bedroom feature, worked great with the kids. It is across the street from Whistler Kids which was awesome. The bad...the property was under construction. There is no reception, the lockbox where we had to get a key out of was horrid. The pool and hot tub were closed due to some kind of bacteria found (yuck). The room was moderately clean and the sheets had holes and rips in them. There was a no smoking policy but the furniture and sheets definitely had a faint cigarette smoke odor. I honestly do not think I would stay here again. Next time I'd rather spend a bit more money and have all the cons fixed.

  • Liked — Location, across the street from Whistler Kids
  • Disliked — The whole building looked worn out and there was no reception or any help there!
  • Tips/Secrets — I should have checked them out better, I made a spur of the moment reservation.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PaulaSchieven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.2 km away
Legends
Legends
#13 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.1 km away
First Tracks Lodge
First Tracks Lodge
#9 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.5 km away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Evolution
Evolution
#18 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
4.2 km away
Aspens on Blackcomb
Aspens on Blackcomb
#22 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 km away
Southside Lodge
Southside Lodge
#27 of 54 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Placid Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Placid Lodge

Property: Lake Placid Lodge
Address: 2050 Lake Placid Road, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lake Placid Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Lake Placid Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Placid Hotel Whistler
Lake Placid Lodge Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing