We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Worn and noisy” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marketplace Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marketplace Lodge
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
“Worn and noisy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

We recently stayed in room 253. Not only was the room outdated it was worn as well. The cupboards and dressers all needed basic upkeep/repairs, the carpet needed cleaning etc. Every morning the snowplow was clearing (?) on the street outside our window starting at 5 to 5:30 AM. There were some mornings you had to ask what the hell are they plowing as it had only rained the entire day prior, no snow fell in the village. Honestly I don't recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn-Bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    28
    26
    13
    17
See reviews for
37
51
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

We recently stayed here in unit #230. It was an okay size for the 4 of us but a bit of a tight squeeze. Unfortunately with it being peak season it was hard to find something under $300 a night. So the price was right but boy was it outdated (1990's) and not kept in good shape. I had to wash down some of the walls and call the front desk as I found a pair of underwear in the closet (not new either...Yuck!) The snowplow came out at 4:00am in the parking lot...seriously??!! I will not look for the cheap deal again. Last time we stayed at Painted Cliff and it was a dream!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whistler hotels

Whistler
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Great location in unit #219; owner Jacquie Sali was great to deal with

Room Tip: units backing on Olympic Plaza are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneWhistler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed in #235. Courteous check in girl who looked after our baggage prior to check in time. Free underground parking including last day after check out. Nice view of mountain runs and Olympic Plaza. Clean rooms with kitchen and Queen bedroom. Only disadvantage was long walk to lifts.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaxie1212, Strata Council member at Marketplace Lodge, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
There is a free shuttle service which stops right outside the hotel side door. It if unfortunate that you did not discover that during your stay or were not told about this convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed here and were pleased by the cleanliness of the suite, and great location in the Village. Great for the price we paid. However, the downsides were that the fridge in our studio, was really noisy, and as well, we could hear banging/walking noises from the neighbouring units and the hallways. These 2 combined problems kept us from sleeping well both nights. Linens on the bed were not the best, and did not fit the mattress properly, so kept coming off in the middle of the night when you are tossing and turning because of the noise. Because of all this, we aren't sure we would re-book, despite the great price and location.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tortitabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

We rented unit 201 and were pleasantly surprised. It was a very spacious corner unit. Listed and priced as a One Bedroom, it had a large Bedroom with 3 piece ensuite, a den with a twin bunk bed, a pull out queen couch, a large spacious bathroom, a full kitchen and a very large patio with patio furniture. There was a hots tub just up the stairs and it was fine however it did close at 10PM which to me is to early.
It was located right above the liquor store; right off of the village stroll and next to the bus stop with the free shuttle to the lifts.
The check in staff was great and helpful...ask if you need free parking; they were very accommodating.
We paid $220 per night including parking and taxes during Christmas...I feel this was a very reasonable price. Split between two couples - I doubt you could find comfy sleeping any less.
Definitely will book this place again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heatherb7667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Wa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

We stayed in #331 rented by Whistler Premier.

Pros: Nice and efficient check in staff, free parking (they even let us keep the car there all day on the last day, since no one was checking into our unit), free wireless, comfortable enough space (1 queen bedroom and a small bedroom with bunk beds, 2 baths), nice view overlooking both mountains and Celebration Plaza. Good flat screen tv with cable. Good deck. Never waited too long for the elevator like we have in some condo complexes. Booked via the last minute deals section of the official Whistler website, and it was only $102/night. I love the location--so close to the grocery, restaurants, etc, but not close enough to any bar or club to be too noisy (like any location in the Village, however, you WILL hear partiers in the middle of the night). Though it's a bit far to carry our skis to the lift each day--some people do it, but I stored my skis for $5/night in the basement of Carlton Lodge, right near the Gondola.

Cons: Shabby common spaces. Older appliances. Dinged up countertops. Mattresses and pillows okay but not great. If you are very fussy about your accomodation and like updated everything, you might not like the unit. I am usually fussy but for the price, it was fine.

i was happy with it for what we paid, but I would not have been happy had we paid full price.

Room Tip: #331 sounds better than a lot of the units other reviewers had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 km away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.7 km away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
0.2 km away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#12 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,278 reviews
0.6 km away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
0.3 km away
Whistler Cascade Lodge
Whistler Cascade Lodge
#5 of 54 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marketplace Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marketplace Lodge

Property: Marketplace Lodge
Address: 4360 Lorimer Rd, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marketplace Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable and well-appointed, these privately-owned condo units are the perfect choice for the traveler who enjoys comfort and convenience. Centrally-located and with a common area hot tub and easy access to shops and restaurants, Marketplace Lodge is ideal for families and small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Marketplace Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resortquest Marketplace Hotel Whistler
Marketplace Lodge Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing