We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and well executed dinners”
Review of Alta Bistro

Alta Bistro
Ranked #21 of 183 Restaurants in Whistler
Price range: C$18 - C$45
Cuisines: French, Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Open in December 2010, Alta Bistro set out to provide Whistler's visitors and locals alike a place for outstanding food and service in a casual fine dinning atmosphere year round. We set out to source the best local, in season ingredients, use creative cooking techniques to create modern French bistro cuisine on an ever changing, seasonal menu. We view sustainability as a cornerstone to our decision-making to day to day operations at Alta Bistro. We have developed strong, long term relationships with the farms in the locals areas, such as Pemberton Valley, Vancouver Island and the Fraser Valley. We are passionate about flavour and bringing the best out of each season. We set out to create an award winning wine programme as well as craft cocktails. Now 5 years on, we're still passionate about wowing our clientele with unique, regional, fresh flavours.
Reviewed July 17, 2016

Our daughter, a foodie, selected Alta Bistro, for its ambiance, menu and reasonable prices. She hit a home run. Our cassoulet of chorizo and smoked chicken with krispy kale and spinach dust was excellent. The piping hot plates were appreciated so we could serve ourselves from the bowl and maintain the dishes' warmth. Our son in law's wagyu beef and her pork jowl were also excellent. The service was attentive and the setting warm without being too casual or noisy.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jcisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 247 of 782 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2016

We ate here on our first night in Whistler and are so glad we chose the Alta Bistro. We ate on the patio and had a wonderful three course meal. The staff is friendly and they know their food. Give it a try!

Date of visit: June 2016
2  Thank RaymondV248
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 30, 2016 via mobile

Made reservations. Arrived and had to wait 15 minutes for our table. Poor selection of beer. Service was slow and the food was terrible ( heavy sauces that didn't work). We would not go back again.

Date of visit: June 2016
3  Thank Biff333
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 29, 2016

We went to Alta Bistro for their tasting menu last week and it was amazing!! My partner and I sat at the bar and were served by Gina, she was the best! Made us some really tasty cocktails with fresh blueberries and of course I had to have an old fashion.

We we couldn't decide on our appies so we started with some fresh house made bread and the pickled egg, with some kind of sesame crust and all kinds of delicious flavours. We ordered the clams (in a pesto cream sauce with crutons and salami) and foie gras to start and the snapper with mussels and pork belly for mains. The desserts were so nice too I especially enjoyed the rhubarb mousse.

Everything about Alta Bistro was amazing, the atmosphere, food and service were all excellent!! I have been recommending them to everyone, such a great team!!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 29, 2016

We didn't book but were lucky enough to get a table. We chose the set menu for $25 and were not disappointed. Really unusual dishes but absolutely delicious. The wine is not cheap, but since the food was excellent value we couldn't complain!

Date of visit: May 2016
1  Thank MrsFoodieNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Alta Bistro also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Alta Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.