We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where do I start....”
Review of Alta Bistro

Alta Bistro
Ranked #21 of 183 Restaurants in Whistler
Price range: C$18 - C$45
Cuisines: French, Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Open in December 2010, Alta Bistro set out to provide Whistler's visitors and locals alike a place for outstanding food and service in a casual fine dinning atmosphere year round. We set out to source the best local, in season ingredients, use creative cooking techniques to create modern French bistro cuisine on an ever changing, seasonal menu. We view sustainability as a cornerstone to our decision-making to day to day operations at Alta Bistro. We have developed strong, long term relationships with the farms in the locals areas, such as Pemberton Valley, Vancouver Island and the Fraser Valley. We are passionate about flavour and bringing the best out of each season. We set out to create an award winning wine programme as well as craft cocktails. Now 5 years on, we're still passionate about wowing our clientele with unique, regional, fresh flavours.
Reviewed September 2, 2016 via mobile

I'm not sure if it is the amazing ambience, the quality service, the family feel that the staff puts out or not to be left last, but the food!! As a chef myself I cannot say enough about the quality of the food, the quality of the ingredients or the techniques used to present such fine food. We allowed the chef to take us on a journey and fully enjoyed every dish of the tasting menu. Every bite was absolutely delightful accompanied by beautiful recommendations by Gina who was wonderful in her delivery and conversation. If you are in whistler and don't eat here, you are missing out. We will definitely be back! Thank you for a wonderful evening!

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Jenon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 237 of 782 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile

Around CAN 30 per plate and escarce portions. After having dinner we had to buy somewhere else a slice of pizza to finish our meal. Smelled of fried food, stinked our clothes and hair after being there. Definitely not one of Whistlers best options as suggested in Tripadvisor

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank sealcobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 22, 2016

Our family dinner of 13 all agreed that the meal and service at the Alta Bistro on the weekend was a highlight of our Whistler Crankworx experience. I and 5 others had the Pork Belly dinner and all said it was outstanding. My wife and 3 others had the Snapper and argued with us that their Snapper was better. All very happy.

However, we are writing this review to stated that we had the best ever Crabapple Margarita. It was amazing. Thank you for a great family event.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KennyGKamloops
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 8, 2016

Fabulous from start to finish...specialty cocktails, extensive wine list, apps, entrees, dessert, service, timing and presentation of food all were excellent!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 4, 2016 via mobile

We randomly picked this restaurant and it was a great choice!!!

It was Wanderlust weekend, and they offered a very special 3 course vegan menu. It has 2 options for appetizer, main and dessert. My boyfriend and I picked each one so we got to tried it all. Our dishes were really delicious!!!!! The pictures said it all. Mom ordered a fish dish and it was also great! I didn't take picture of the fish dish, but it was seed nut crusted fish and you will not miss it from the menu. Some of the dishes in the vegan menu were also on their regular menu. Great unique food, and also great service! The server is always there to attend you but not overbearing. Go there and try it out!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank msiew426
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Alta Bistro also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Alta Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.