We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely delicious!”
Review of Alta Bistro

Alta Bistro
Ranked #21 of 183 Restaurants in Whistler
Price range: C$18 - C$45
Cuisines: French, Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Open in December 2010, Alta Bistro set out to provide Whistler's visitors and locals alike a place for outstanding food and service in a casual fine dinning atmosphere year round. We set out to source the best local, in season ingredients, use creative cooking techniques to create modern French bistro cuisine on an ever changing, seasonal menu. We view sustainability as a cornerstone to our decision-making to day to day operations at Alta Bistro. We have developed strong, long term relationships with the farms in the locals areas, such as Pemberton Valley, Vancouver Island and the Fraser Valley. We are passionate about flavour and bringing the best out of each season. We set out to create an award winning wine programme as well as craft cocktails. Now 5 years on, we're still passionate about wowing our clientele with unique, regional, fresh flavours.
Reviewed August 18, 2023

Great food! The 5 course dinner is incredible value for money. Good vibe and the service was amazing too!

Date of visit: January 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ash C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 783 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2023

Be sure to make reservation otherwise the place is completely full by 7 pm. The ambience is both cozy and electric, definitely a typical French bistro. We enjoyed the organic sourdough focaccia that was served with creamy navy beans, dukkah, and olive oil.

For main entrees, got the smoked lamb belly & seared scallop [caramelized honey & black garlic, jalapeno salsa, braised white beans, pickled rhubarb, mint]. Also the mushroom gnocchi. Both were artfully plated, explosion of amazing flavors. For desert, we got the chocolate mousse that came in a pistachio green shell!! The presentation was wonderful, and just as delicious!

Best meal of the trip! Our waitress was very friendly and efficient.

Date of visit: March 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Brown_Samantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 25, 2023

Of the fine dining restaurants in Whistler, along with the Rim Rock, this is my favourite. The food is good, a little bit different (eg bison burger). Service is excellent. But what makes it for me is that it is not feel vast like many of the other top Whistler restaurants, it does not feel too formal and has a friendly vibe. I would recommend it.

Date of visit: February 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GSUKKENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 19, 2023

Great food and service. The 5 course dinner is incredible value for money. Highly recommend this restaurant in Whistler.

Date of visit: February 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ash C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 18, 2023 via mobile

Went there last night, not impressed with the food and presentation. The main ingredients were hidden amongst a jungle of leaves, and until you dig into it you will discover that the highlight of the dish is very small portion: ie bouillabaisse seafood was $57 and came with two calms, two mussels, one 2x2in fish…. The broth was a mash-like consistency. The lamb belly was way too sweet and took away the overall flavour of the dish. The pork belly was overcooked (see my photo where I had to pick out the piece of pork among the leaves) - the meat was warm to the touch, overcooked and dry, and you get three pieces of “spam” like pork belly rectangles - no crispy pork belly! Only one morel mushroom was found on the vegan dish - of course, the most expensive ingredient. The sunchoke cake was very dry, like it was prepared the night before. Do not order this dish. The burger was our highlight - it is after all just a burger but will set you back $30++ and would have been better at a proper burger joint- the potato salad side was a letdown though! The Wagyu beef steak is fine but nothing to talk about. The food temperature is only just above room temperature - it feels like the food was prepared ahead of time and only just warmed up.one star given for great service, otherwise would be zero stars…

Date of visit: February 2023
Thank wuikhoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Alta Bistro also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Alta Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.