We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale delicious french local cuisine”
Review of Alta Bistro

Alta Bistro
Ranked #21 of 183 Restaurants in Whistler
Price range: C$18 - C$45
Cuisines: French, Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Open in December 2010, Alta Bistro set out to provide Whistler's visitors and locals alike a place for outstanding food and service in a casual fine dinning atmosphere year round. We set out to source the best local, in season ingredients, use creative cooking techniques to create modern French bistro cuisine on an ever changing, seasonal menu. We view sustainability as a cornerstone to our decision-making to day to day operations at Alta Bistro. We have developed strong, long term relationships with the farms in the locals areas, such as Pemberton Valley, Vancouver Island and the Fraser Valley. We are passionate about flavour and bringing the best out of each season. We set out to create an award winning wine programme as well as craft cocktails. Now 5 years on, we're still passionate about wowing our clientele with unique, regional, fresh flavours.
Reviewed April 15, 2024 via mobile

We went there upon recommendation of the host of our airbnb and were not disappointed. The menu is made of local food and it is very good. We had the fish and the pork belly which were both delicious. Good portion but made with attention to detail and cooked perfectly. Exactly what you expect from upscale french restaurant. Add great service and you get a perfect evening.
Thank you Alta!

Date of visit: April 2024
Thank Luc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 782 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2024

Food is good but service is bad. very much, hey we know you’re here to ski so not likely to come back. At least not until next year and there are plenty of other guests that will try us out. We don’t care what impression you leave with.
Highlights: 30 mins sitting at the table waiting to order even drinks. Then waitress spills water all over one party’s menu, no apology or wiping the spill. The highlight is that she drops the plate with the main dish and the the vegetables, sauce and meat fall all over the table. She picks up meat and veggies with bare hands and says “I’ll have this replated for you”.5-10 mins the dish is back, hopefully a new one (although unlikely since they apparently cook all from scratch). Not even a symbolic deduction from the bill. Note that dishes were all north of 60 dollars per dish.
Definitely not recommending and not coming back.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mojcas288
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 15, 2024

Overall, not a fantastic experience at Alta. Seated 15 minutes late, despite arriving at our reservation time. Seated at a table that still had a dirty glass on it, pretty slow service but otherwise was enjoyable. Both drinks and food menus were severely limited; however, our options that we selected for both were terrific.
Not sure if prices accurately reflect the value of the experience; food was exceptional but thats about it.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Mitchell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 23, 2024 via mobile

Quaint French bistro with an alpine atmosphere. One feels like they’ve stepped inside a French Alps delight.

The cuisine impeccable; oysters were the best we had in Whistler. Interesting twists on mains including coffee-basted elk made for scrumptious delights. The sable fish was tender and flavorful. And the sourdough bread practically melted in your mouth.

On top of the culinary treats, the wine service was amazing. The way the sommelier opened and presented the bottle, provided for tastings and poured was miles beyond any other Whistler experience, and definitely added to the class of the restaurant.

With this amazing experience, one might thing Alta Bistro might suffer an aire of prevention. Certainly not the case, as the entire staff warmly welcomed us and our children. It was an evening to remember.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank 871jennifert
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 18, 2024

Alta bistro is a busy little room, in a good way! Service is spot on and the menu is bold, showing the best of local foods and what happens when a chef dares to do his thing.
Nick was our friendly server. We started with Gin Martini’s and shared a dozen delicious oysters. Followed by Elk with coffee sumac , amazing!! and my husband had the melt in your mouth beef cheek which he loved also.
Nice & kindly priced wine list, with an excellent suggestion to try the Bonarda with our mains.
Only two desserts on the menu and we were celebrating, so we decided on the affogato with apricot liqueur and Vanilla bean parfait… mmm!
A couple of surprise complimentary grappa were brought to us by Nick, sent us home with a warm & fuzzy feeling!
Good for a date night or for small groups.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Alta Bistro also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Alta Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.