We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,949)
Filter reviews
1,949 results
Traveller rating
772
823
260
66
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
772
823
260
66
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub bike valet driving range minute walk small pool would stay here again mini fridge coffee machine convenient location ski lockers village stroll mountain biking per night underground parking main village king bed gopro
Filter
Updating list...
1,552 - 1,557 of 1,949 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The room was small and noisy and expensive for what you get. And generally the staff were very unaccomadating. I was able to book a seperate condo for the last two days of our trip and enjoyed it so much more then this hotel and it was significantly cheaper. There are many other options for staying in whistler, please try and stay away.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lys_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinHedderson, General Manager at Aava Whistler Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2012

A disappointing review "Lys_12", which is very unique to the majority of our guests.

Aava Whistler cannot be compared to a condo. if that is the experience you are seeking, there are many providers in Whistler who specialize in condominium style accommodations.

With the abundance of room styles and properties in Whistler, please research your choices carefully, review Tripadvisor for valid guest feedback, and contact the property directly with any specific needs or questions. Try not to blame the product or provider for your selection of it as their is an abundance of information available to ensure you find the most suitable accommodations to best suit your needs.

Regards,

Colin Hedderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2012

The bad: With hotel at 100% occupancy during Christmas>New Years week, there was insufficient hot water at peak time (around 5pm). Walls were thin, as we could clearly make out the dialogue in our neighbor's tv program, and we were awoken by the occupant above us. Steep price. Small room.

The good: Location. Nice beds. Friendly staff. Fridge.

Room tip: Choose top floor
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dunnrej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Stayed at the Aava from 12/20/11-12/23/11. Best rate in Whistler for a family of four during the christmas holiday. The location of the hotel for the rate can't be beat. Across the street, up a few stairs, you are right in the middle of Whistler Village. A 5 minute walk ( with a toddler) you are at the lift. The bed was comfortable and clean. Easy to relax and get a good night sleep. Free Wi-fi, works better on upper floors than lower floors. weak signal on first floor, strong on the third floor. Rooms where avarage in size, two full/queen beds. First floor room a bit large than our third floor room. My children love the tub to relax after a day in the snow. Very large deep tub.

Like the convience of having lockers to store ski and snowboarding equipment when not
in use.

If you are worry about noise from the village don't worry, only noise came from the people staying at the hote. lOur room was on the first floor, there were lot's of young people staying there, lot of late night party. After expressing this to the clerk we where move to the third floor where it was quiet. They move all our stuff, even putting our food in the fridge for us, while we where on the slope. Not a peep was heard the remaining time.

The staff was wonderful!Even though everything was walking distance, with 2 young kids and the ski gear, 2 min walk can feel like an hour. The staff was nice enough to shuttle us around, gave us recommendation to save money. The free parking coupon was beneficial, parking is $20 a day.

The white spot restaurant on the same lot, was affordable, cheaper than some breakfast chain, and convenient. Offer an additional 10% off for staying at the Aava.

Only draw back, no microwave in the facility. The clearance in the parking lot is very low, and parking is tight fit. My SUV barely made it through the clearance.

Room tip: Asked for a room on higher floor to get better wi-fi signal. They will honor tripadvisor parking coupon.
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawaiifor1sttime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Heres another business that pushes you to rate them on Tripadvisor because they understand the affect that positive reviews have on their bottom line. If they where not pushing people to give them positive feedback on this site (they have a sign on the front desk asking you to do so) I don't think their score would be so high. I am leaving this review to help balance out an over-inflated rating.

** DO NOT TAKE YOUR GIRLFRIEND/PARTNER HERE FOR A ROMANTIC WEEKEND AWAY. **

Two reasons:

1 .. It's really a budget hotel in disguise as a 'new contemporary boutique hotel' -- no, no, no. When we stayed there it was packed with families and kids -- the noise level is terrible, expect to be woken up at 8am with some screaming kids running down the hallway.

2. I booked a two night stay for my girlfriends birthday and called ahead to have flowers, champagne and chocolates put in the room, at my expense of course.. the lady also promised a discount spa package. I didn't receive anything on check in and sure enough the flowers/chocolates never made it inside the room despite my constant efforts at discrete communication by phone and email.

By the time the damage had been done the guy I spoke to tried his best to fix the problem but it was already too late, our hotel certainly did not make our trip to whistler feel special at all.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cytae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinHedderson, General Manager at Aava Whistler Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review "pentae".

Our apologies for the disappointing visit and the oversights that you had encountered during your stay. As you had identified, our team had missed some of the details of your reservation requests prior to your arrival, and regrettably were unable to recover your amenity requests that you had pre-arranged for your girlfriend. I appreciate your recognition of Hartman and his efforts to correct our oversight - he is one of our finest for sure!

We do appreciate the opportunity for guests to provide feedback through many channels such as Tripadvisor and others, and our staff and management teams take great pride and ownership of all feedback; both positive and constructive to reflect upon, and when required, implement change or adjust procedures in order to always improve upon every guests' experience.

Travelling during the Christmas Holidays is a difficult time to enjoy the property and the entire resort in a truly private and romantic manner; and yes you will definitely be travelling with a few families and many children, who are also enjoying this period on school and work holidays in their own way!

To clarify, we see no need to wear a disguise at Aava. We aim to provide "true mountain value" in Whistler, combining modern style and attentive service. With almost 90% of our Tripadvisor guests ranking us "Very Good" or "Excellent", I definitely think we are on the right track, and we are certainly not "pushing" for those comments by inviting our guests to share their positive experiences.

I regret that you did not enjoy a similar experience this visit, and hope we would have the opportunity to invite you back in future to enjoy the property to the level for which we are more often recognized.

Regards,

Colin Hedderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Great hotel for what you pay. In terms of the room, every amenity you would find in a nice 5 star hotel you could find in Aava. If you are not one who would care for extra services such as gym, spas, (Aava has a small gym and Jacuzzi tht gets REALLY crowded) restaurants or cafes in the hotel,, but care more about the room, Aava is an excellent choice for what you pay. Only drawback is the VERY thin walls as you can hear footsteps, people talking as they walk by right outside your room. We heard in a few instances of a few drunk parties right outside our room (but quickly ended). Overall good hotel at a great price.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com
Thank Navigator312240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews