We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vacations in Whistler”
Review of Whistler Blackcomb

Whistler Blackcomb
Book In Advance
More Info
US$1,075.89*
and up
Whistler Full-Day Private Tour from Vancouver
Ranked #1 of 30 Nature & Parks in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whistler Blackcomb is consistently ranked the No. 1 ski resort in North America with over 8,171 acres of terrain. As a true four season resort, Whistler Blackcomb offers skiing and snowboarding in the winter and downhill mountain biking and alpine hiking in the summer. Guests can even enjoy summer skiing/riding on the Horstman Glacier in June and July. At Whistler Blackcomb, there is something for everyone all year long.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Vacations in Whistler”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Great ski, great conditions of snow, we had a blast.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Martine840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,967 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,337
    461
    92
    35
    42
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
116 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“the best skiing ever”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

what can I say that has not been said. just wonderful

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank jonToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“marketing hype at its best”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

stayed here for a few days in march, having skied all of over the world I finally made it to Whistler. I think that whistler at best is good, not amazing. The snow was good, but it rained in the village and below 1000m the snow was bad. The terrain is varied, lots of stuff for everyone to do, the alpine bowls are fun with enough snow. The resort might be the best in North America but its now where near anything in Europe in terms of terrain, lift infrastructure or backcountry.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank dhj88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“The Best in the World!”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Now Whistler may not have the village ambiance of Klosters but the variety of runs and lifts is phenomenol. While either mountain will keep you entranced for days, be sure to take at least one ride on the peak-to-peak lift for both the views and the sensation.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank acgardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Expansive ski area with something for everyone”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Some of the best skiing we have ever had. The variety of terrain is terrific. Multiple areas above the tree line that I felt were better then what Vail has to offer. We spent equal time on both Whistler and Blackcomb and I could not choose between them. The upper lift areas on both mountains are terrific.

It is fun to ski where the base is about 2100' and the peak is about 7400'. No need to acclimate to elevation.

You need to make sure to ski the "Peak to Creek" run. 3.4 miles long and a mile vertical drop. They claim it is the longest intermediate run in North America. I was expecting some dead/flat spots on a run that long, but there were none.

Only caution is that if it is hard at the base, you will have fog and heavy snow at elevation. Prepare to get wet and have limited visibility. About half of our days were clear and sunny, with spectacular views, and half were rain/snow.

I would love to come back

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank RussBock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whistler Blackcomb also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Whistler Blackcomb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing