We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Deer Hotel - Town Plaza Suites” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whistler Town Plaza Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Whistler Town Plaza Suites
Mill Creek, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Deer Hotel - Town Plaza Suites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed in the Deer Hotel unit of this three building resort. We've stayed at the Bear building a few times too. In summary, these three buildings, known as Deer, Eagle, and Bear, are somewhat no frills, relatively nice, hotels. The reception for all three is located on the first floor of the Deer building. There is no pool for any of the buildings. I'm pretty sure all the rooms have gas burning fireplaces, ensuite washer/dryer, full kitchens, and underground parking available. We always book through the website alluradirect.com and tend to get great deals. You are booking directly through the hotel unit owners and are therefore subject to less tax and no Whistler central booking surcharge. Our room was a second floor studio unit (fine for just the wife and I) with a murphy bed, full kitchen, fireplace, small balcony, and good mountain views. The rate we paid was $109 CAD / night + 12% taxes. Not bad at all for a good hotel room in the Whistler Village. The walk to the Blackcomb Excalibur gondola is about 6-7 minutes. You can make the walk a little more pleasant by checking your skis down below the Carleton Lodge (right in front of both gondolas) for $5 CAD / night. I noticed quite a few people commenting about the noise of late night partiers from their rooms of these hotels. We didn't find that to be a problem really ever and we've stayed at different rooms of the Deer building and Bear building about 6 times now. As is the case of all hotels in the Whistler Village, you shouldn't be shocked to hear someone being a bit too loud in their room or out on the village stroll for a few seconds. These units all appear to be privately owned so also keep in mind the quality of the interior furnishings and decorating is not uniform and varies quite a bit. All things considered, we like these three buildings and will continue to return. They're 3 star hotels but the price we always get for them compelled me to give them the four star rating for this website.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NWSKISCUBAHIKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    23
    15
    10
    12
See reviews for
26
26
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Rented 432 in the Eagle Lodge for 5 nights, 6 days. Great view of Blackcomb out of the back, lovely little porch. Full kitchen with washer and dryer in unit!!! This was a huge surprise/relief for us having just spent 4 days traveling and riding at decidedly less impressive lodges. Comfortable beds, the pullout was more then adequate. Bathrooms were clean, new and stocked. All around an amazing experience.

Note: After talking with some of the other lodgers it became apparent that these units are not all owned by Whistler Premier (The Whistler central booking company I think). Ours was booked through them so I can't speak to any of the other units.

Long story short: Book through Whistler Premier and enjoy Whistler! What a destination.

Room Tip: Request 432 Eagle. Call to make sure it's mountainside and not walkway side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conor_macwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

The Town Plaza suites are very clean, comfortable, spacious and well equipped, but their situation on the Village Stroll means that you can hear all the noise from party-goers late into the night, so ear plugs are essential. The furnishings are mostly fine, but the last apartment we stayed in had a fridge whose pump was very noisy and banged every time it powered down; and if you use the sofa bed, don't expect it to be very comfortable. The beds themselves are very comfy though. The suites are very central, near shops and restaurants and a short walk from the lifts. They are also very close to the library and playground.

If you're lucky enough to get an apartment on the back side, away from the Village Stroll, they're much, much quieter. You don't tend to get much noise from the other occupants of the complex.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the side away from the Village Stroll
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rahvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed in Eagle lodge for 26 nights. The first 16 were on the side facing Blackcomb on the 3rd floor. Nice and tidy room and very peaceful. The last 10 days were on the Village side again on the 3rd floor and what a difference. The room itself was nice and tidy but the noise from the Village Stroll kept us awake everynight from around 1am as people leave the bars. Im usually not bad with noise but this was just unbarable.

Room Tip: Room 323 on the Blackcomb facing side was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NOMISNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Property was convienent and well appointed. Beds were comfortable. In room laundry facility was nice to have. This location can be noisy - both from the nightclub below - only one night of an 8 night stay was this really noticable as well as people exiting other clubs shouting.
Ski lockers are a bit small - we had 2 pairs of skis and a childs snowboard a full size snowboard would not have fit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BLB555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

My family stayed at Whistler town plaza Deer Lodge earlier this month. We booked it through a private rental website and were concerned with what we would find when we arrived. We booked this unit as it advertised there was a front desk to check in which gave us some assurance that we would have assistance if we needed it. We checked in at the Deer Lodge and found the reception staff very friendly and eager to make us comfortable. It was a busy Friday night but they were very efficient at taking care of us quickly. Parking was right underneath the lodge and the map they gave us to find it was easy to follow. The property is located in the middle of Whistler Village so it is noisy but that is to be expected when staying above the action of a busy resort. Our visit to Whistler was wonderful and we will be back and most definitely will stay here next time.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chelleboag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

December 28th not a lot of choices for last minute bookings. We were at the delta and wanted to extend our trip. I used whistler.com and got a rate of $330.00 per night at the bear lodge. Spacious 1 bedroom very clean and an excellent location right near carumba...garfinkles. It's really not a hotel experience as these are private condos. Downside is that the hot tub is in the next building. I also just found out there is no housekeeping during our stay. I'd still recommend this place as the rooms are large clean and central. Most one bedrooms are between 350 and 500 per night this week.

Room Tip: Book through whistler.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CFSUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.4 km away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,280 reviews
0.1 km away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#12 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
0.5 km away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.4 km away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
0.5 km away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistler Town Plaza Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistler Town Plaza Suites

Property: Whistler Town Plaza Suites
Address: 4314 Main St, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Whistler Town Plaza Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Town Plaza are a collection of three lodges, Deer, Bear and Eagle Lodge. These three buildings, which comprise the Town Plaza Suites, are located on the Village Stroll. Suites are approximately 250 meters to the Village ski lifts. Eagle Lodge features access to a common exercise room, indoor hot tub. Choose from studios to two bedroom suites. All Town Plaza's contemporary suites feature a full kitchen, gas fireplace, in-suite washer/dryer and most offer a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Whistler Town Plaza Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whistler Town Plaza Hotel Whistler
Whistler Town Plaza Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing