We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, steps from the Gondolas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Sundial features all the amenities of a great hotel, except a fitness center (it does have a nice hot tub, however). The views of the slopes are wonderful, and the ski valet service is better than other larger Whistler hotels that we have visited. All of the staff was extremely attentive and personable.

Room Tip: The slope-view rooms are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathydiverVaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (894)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

615 - 621 of 894 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2012

Stayed at the Sundial from mar 2nd - 5th... group of 6 on the 3rd floor in a 2 bedrooms with a private jacuzzi. Overall, the hotel's location can't be beat... its right in front of the Gondolas and also easy access to all the stores and restaurants in the village. The room size was just adequate for the 6 of us and the heated floor in the bathroom is a great perk to have. Kitchen comes fully equipped with all the cooking wares, plates and utensils you need. Staff was always pleasant, knowledgeable and helpful. To be honest, I was expecting to be blown away by the service after reading all the other reviews but I wasn't. But I think that is partly to be blamed on a 'high expectation'. We really have no complain and was always greeted with a smile or a nod at least whenever we come in through the door. The staff was always helpful with our skis or boards each time we needed it or returned back from riding. I would def stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samui4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We found this hotel on the Whistler website and based on the reviews decided to book a deluxe 1 bedroom hot tub suite (rm 705). From our room we could see both gondolas and the village only steps away. The location is absolutely the best you can get to the lifts. The room was very spacious, the heated floors in the bathroom were a pleasant surprise every time and the front desk was always very pleasant. It was nice after a day at the slopes to walk in and hand them your gear to store in lockers. We were travelling with our 9 month old son so the 7th floor was perfectly quiet, the 1 bedroom, private hot tub and huge deck allowed us to enjoy every evening as he slept. We would recommend this hotel and plan to stay again during our next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com
Thank pjc206
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We had a 2-bedroom with mountain view. From your window you can check the lines forming for both peak gondolas as well as board with information about lifts openings. Living areas are spacious, though one of the bedrooms was really small, Staff is courteous, friendly and tries to be helpful. Not much beyond that, lobby is small and not a place to hang out to meet other guests. Rooftop hot-tub is small, enclosed and with no view. This is particularly jarring as you look from your window with envy onto the splendid pool and hot-tub at the PanPacific hotel next door which opens onto the mountain. Overall, very pleasant place but you will find it to be a collection of suites rather than a full-service hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

If you are researching the Sundial, you probably want to be right by the Whistler/Blackcomb lifts and party scene. Us too. We stayed at the Pan Pacific last time we were here, and now the Sundial. Upon return we’ll choose the Sundial again. The only thing I see missing, as compared to the Pan, is a big pool. If you have kids and need that, go there. Otherwise I feel the Sundial is the better value.

The room amenities and cleanliness are comparable at both properties. And may I say, our Sundial room was absolutely immaculate every day. But the Sundial’s décor is warmer cozier, (the Pan was a bit sterile). Great kitchen, heated bathroom floors, lots of towels. Also getting in and out of the building and to the lifts seemed easier. Especially when the Sundial’s front desk staff valet your skis every day. Just wisked away as you enter the front door. They are easily retrieved in the morning. Loved that.

The Sundial’s rooms are split between Mountain View and Valley View, with the Mountain being more expensive. We had the Valley view which was just beautiful, showcased through large stylish windows. Also, there are premium rooms that have a balcony hot tub. We used the roof top hot tub which we always had to ourselves. It was very very clean, hot enough, and had good strong jets, and a great view of the Peak-to-Peak lift. Loved it. So I wouldn’t pay the extra, unless we‘re talking honeymoon.

Regarding Whistler in general. Its crowded , expensive, and foggy, but obviously the “place to be“. We’ve hit just about every ski resort in North America, and the apre-ski party scene here is the best. From the Longhorn, where you can sit outside and be cozy with heat lamps and lap blankets, to Garibaldi’s where getting a seat is competitive but worth it, to singing our hearts out at the Dubliner, we’ve never had such fun. We made the best of friends there, HEY FRANK! brother and other English cohorts. Hope you got home safe, and all wounds heal well. (We all kicked off our shoes and sang those rhythymy blues!)

So overall, the Sundial gets two thumbs up.

Room Tip: Practically ski in/out. Tip: The front entrance is at an angle to the Vancouver shuttle drop off p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ski_Luv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My family and I have just returned from a 6 nights stay at the Sundial. I had read the reviews before booking and I must say the hotel looks much better personally than in the reviews` photos. We stayed in room 500. View was nice, room very clean, kitchen just perfect. The only downside: the king bed is a split bed and one of the sides was very uncomfortable. We complained and someone was sent to have it repaired right away - unsuccessfully. The staff is very polite and always trying to help. Towels a bit worn, but ok.
The location of the hotel is unbeatable - just perfect!
Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.6 km away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.1 km away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,776 reviews
3.5 km away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#12 of 49 in Whistler
1,787 reviews
0.2 km away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.6 km away
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundial Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Boutique Hotel

Address: 4340 Sundial Pl, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#4 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#9 Family Hotel in Whistler
#11 Business Hotel in Whistler
Price Range: $135 - $1,454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sundial Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sundial Boutique Hotel is located in the heart of Whistler Village right next to the Whistler and Blackcomb Gondolas. This location in Whistler Village makes it convenient for shopping, dining, and enjoying all the entertainment Whistler has to offer. All 49 luxurious one and two bedroom suites feature master bedrooms, full kitchens, flat screen tv's and gas fireplaces, including eight suites with private outdoor hot tubs. Personal service is not just a philosophy here, but a part of the way each day unfolds. Sundial Boutique Hotel suites provide breathtaking views of the mountains, and complimentary amenities such as high speed wireless internet, local phone calls, roof top hot tub, and ski concierge services ensure you have all the modern conveniences of home. Outdoor heated pool access is provided in the summer months (June - September) and the rooftop hot tub is open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sundial Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Boutique Whistler
Hotel Sundial Boutique
Sundial Boutique Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing