We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,057)
Filter reviews
1,058 results
Traveller rating
742
237
55
16
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
742
237
55
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the rooftop hot tub full kitchen mountain view great hotel whistler village sushi village two bedroom suite top floor perfect location heated floors aveda products living area great kitchen well equipped kitchen bike park front desk staff great room
Filter
Updating list...
197 - 202 of 1,058 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2017

This hotel offers a better rate for return guest. I was a return guest but the person who helped me with the booking did not mentioned about it. Be sure to mention it and ask for a return guest rate if you are.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lillian_hung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha D, Guest Service Manager at Sundial Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We always look forward to welcoming back our return guests and want to ensure you receive the best rate possible. I am sorry to hear that you experienced some confusion regarding your return guest discount. We do have many special offers available so ask that returning guests ask for our return guest rate specifically when talking with our Guest Service Team. I have taken your feedback into account and have already begun retraining our Guest Service Team on when to offer our return guest rate.

I would love to opportunity to follow up with you personally regarding your feedback. My contact details have been provided below.

Warm regards,

Samantha Dark – Guest Service Manager – samantha@sundialhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2017

I stayed here for x3 nights and couldn't sleep. The king bed was 2 mattresses together and functionally it doesn't work. Especially if the two side are completely worn out. I was sleeping in 1 hammock or the other. Some of the other amenities are also old and in need of replacement. Hence the 3 stars. The location, service, kitchen, and staff were great, but no sleep killed my experience.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank paulhE3448AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha D, Guest Service Manager at Sundial Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that our location, service, kitchen and staff were great but am disappointed to hear that you did not sleep well. We always encourage our guests to let us know if there is anything we can do to make their stay more comfortable. Our Housekeeping team has multiple options to assist in customizing our beds to your preference and will be more than happy to help you during your next stay. We are also excited to announce that we are currently in the process of purchasing new beds this fall and we would love to hear you feedback on whether our guests would prefer a firm bed or a plush bed.

I would love the opportunity to follow up with you personally. My contact details have been provided below.

Warm regards,

Samantha Dark - Guest Service Manager - samantha@sundialhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2017

You can't beat the location of the Sundial but you will pay for it. Significant increase in prices and a couple of additions to the hotel. There is now a room service menu and a big bowl of apples for guest at the front desk.
Staff was very helpful and friendly. Room was well-maintained and clean. Love the Aveda toiletries supplied.
Would love to return for a fourth visit but the price is getting to be a deterrent.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laneybc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha D, Guest Service Manager at Sundial Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review you recent stay with us. We always enjoy welcoming back our returning guest! We have been busy adding new amenities to the hotel this summer such as our free bike and paddleboard rental service. When you are next thinking of joining us, call our Guest Service Team who will be able to help you find the best price.

We hope to welcome you back to Whistler soon!

Warm regards,

Samantha Dark - Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2017

The hot tub suite combined with amazing mountain views of Whistler town site and the most helpful and kind staff made our visit topnotch. Can't wait to return again sometime! Definitely recommended for anyone traveling in the area

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Connor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha D, Guest Service Manager at Sundial Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2017

Thank you for your great review and recommendation. It is our pleasure to hear you enjoyed your one of a kind hot tub suite with mountain views. I will be sure to pass compliments will be passed along to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Whistler!

Warm regards,

Samantha Dark - Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2017

Loved the hotel, the ease of valet, the bike valet, the staff that was quick to help! The rooms were beautifully cleaned and decorated..... I would suggest that the staff get a little more training on what to do when a customer isn't happy with a service or experience! However... we unintentionally violated the noise curfew and was politely notifed by the staff...we were quick to resolve it and apologize!!! :-) On another note, please make sure you inform parents that little kids are not allowed in the hot tub. Little 2 and 3 year olds were headed in there when we notified them of the signs and the temperature....... Overall the stay was excellent and the staff outstanding!!

Room Tip: room 400 is very roomy and shows a view of the mountains (without smoke) has everything you need!!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cansodance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha D, Guest Service Manager at Sundial Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you loved our hotel. I will be sure to take your feedback regarding our staff training and communication of hot tub safety into consideration when training our new staff.

We hope to welcome you back to the Sundial soon!

Warm Regards,

Samantha Dark - Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews