We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
89
20
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
20
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cross country skiing backcountry skiing other guests wood fired sauna fresh snow star meal highly recommend this experience chef joe country experience fantastic adventure bagged lunch flush toilets beautiful mountains spent two nights games room stayed longer end of the day
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 116 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Made the 13.8 km ski trek up to the Callaghan Lodge on a weekend and explored the well groomed trail system in the area. The scenery along the way was as breathtaking as was the uphill climb for a "Manitoba flatlander" like myself! The Lodge itself is majestic with all the comforts yet, fits the mountain scenery without being intrusive. Staff at the lodge was extremely friendly and helpful during the stay. Many options are available for rooming as well as options for relaxation - sauna is always great after a long day of enjoying the outdoors! A must do experience for any backcountry outdoor enthusiast!

Date of stay: April 2011
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Juhaoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2011

We just spent two days and one night at the Lodge and it was one of the greatest experiences in a long time. The staff are fantastic; friendly, helpful, welcoming and excellent cooks. We spent two days alpine touring and skied some amazing lines. The sauna a cold plunge in the creek topped off the experience. It was great to meet some new people and the location is absolutely spectacular. I'd go back again in a heartbeat!

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2011

a group of friends cross country skied the 13.5 kms to the lodge. did i mention it is uphill? there are a couple of alternatives: ride a snowmobile ($120) or take the "soup & shuttle" (weekends only) to callaghan lake and ski the remaining 4.5 kms ($25). room check in is at 3 pm and we were greeted with cookies and tea/coffee. appies are served at 5:30 pm and a 4 course dinner at 7 pm. things were cozy in the bright and airy solitude suite as 5 of us chose to share (it can sleep 8). cross country trails are groomed every morning and snow shoe options abound. and it's the perfect area to alpine tour.......no heli required to access all that tempting terrain (guides can be arranged). at the end of the day a wood burning sauna soothes tired muscles and the hardy can dip in the nearby stream or roll in the 5+ meters of snow. the hosts (a german couple & aussie couple) are congenial and great cooks.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank halfcentheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 8, 2011

My husband and I did a "pre-Christmas" trip to the Callaghan Lodge. The 14km ski-in, is WORTH THE TRIP! The staff at Callaghan Country were friendly and fantastic. They shuttled our luggage into the lodge, and made us feel entirely pampered and well cared for. The Standard rooms are small, but we didn't spend much time in our room. We used the common/rec room for some pool, ping pong, darts and reading.

The food was amazing and Evan the chef is great. My husband's special dietary needs were accounted for, and the food was well presented and delicious.

We used the toboggans and snowshoes for some additional outdoor fun, and a sauna was still under construction. We'll be back again to check it out for sure!

There were only 10 guests the night we stayed, but the lodge capacity is around 20 I think. What a great retreat and early Christmas present!

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whistlermel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2011

This is not pampering luxury - but for a remote lodge in a perfect setting it hit the right notes for us - big, comfortable shared day-room with big windows, fire, games etc.
Fantastic hosts and top notch food.
Different sleeping options (see website - accurate pics/description.)
I hear that they will also open for summer this year.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews