We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The Anti-Whistler” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Callaghan Country's Journeyman Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whistler
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Callaghan Country's Journeyman Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The Anti-Whistler”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

This is a great experience if you love mountains and silence more than shops and bars. The ski in is a slog, particularly the first 3 km which are the steepest and the last 2 km which feel like 5. I'm 65, I x-c ski for 2-3 hours nearly every week and it took me 4 hours of ski time and another 45 minutes for lunch, hydration and photo stops.The lodge is cozy and comfortable and the resident staff are great. If you prefer smaller groups to larger ones, Mondays are usually quiet - there were only 4 of us staying overnight and another 3 came in by snowmobile for dinner. Dinner is better than any restaurant in town and the lunch to pack out is also excellent.
The ski out takes less than half the time of the ski in so you have plenty of time to snow shoe or ski either at the top or the bottom on your departure day. We finished off the day with a trip to Scandinave Spa, another oasis of calm in the Whistler corridor - great pools, steam, sauna, meditation areas and beautiful views. Great nourishment for body and spirit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmac08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    17
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
40
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Squamish, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Seven of us spent one night in the Lodge to celebrate my wife's birthday in February 2012. There was something to do for everyone including snowshoeing, cross country skiing on the groomed trails near the lodge and backcountry skiing for my son and I. Great food, wonderful surroundings & staff who went out of there way combined to make it a memorable experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We spent one night at the Callaghan Lodge in February 2012. There were six of us in our group - four cross-country skied in and the other two skate-skied in. The trails were well groomed but it was a tough 13.5 slog to get to the lodge - 1450' elevation gain, so mostly all uphill. I hadn't x-country skied in 25 years but still managed to do it in 3.5 hours, which I was told was "really good". When we arrived at the lodge we were greeted by Ivan, a super friendly Australian who made us feel right at home. He gave us fresh-out-of-the-oven cookies and a pep talk on the rules and regs of the cabin. The generator only runs from 4-10:00 p.m. and 7-10:00 a.m., so showers and toilet flushing must be done during that time. We arrived at about 2:00 and had the rest of the afternoon free to enjoy the common area where there were books, a guitar for those who knew how to play it, ping pong, billiards, darts, and lots of board games. I went snowshoeing (complimentary snowshoes are available) and it was the real deal - knee-high, fluffy snow and well marked trails. We trekked over to the sauna, which is about 250 meters away from the main lodge. There are steps carved out of the snow leading down to the creek, and an ice bench in a snow cave, so you could heat yourself up in the sauna, dash down for a quick dip, then dash up to the sauna to warm up. A great way to relax the muscles that worked so hard to get us up there!

Appetizers were served at 5:00, and those who wished to brought their own alcoholic beverages up as alcohol isn't served there (note: whatever you don't want to take in your day pack is taken up to the lodge by skidoo for you). A gourmet, 4-course dinner was served at 7:00. By then we had met most of the other people staying at the lodge - there were 20 of us altogether, so it felt like a one big happy family. The food was tasty, beautifully served, filling, and they catered to special needs if told in advance.

We slept in the cheapest rooms but the beds were comfy and there was enough space to hang up our wet clothes. It was so quiet up there at night - no traffic! - and when we awoke at about 7:00 we could smell the freshly baked muffins that were being served for breakfast. Breakfast was buffet style - cereal, yogurt, muffins, toast, bagels, fruit, hard-boiled eggs, juices, coffee and tea. The water is potable so you can fill your water bottle to your heart's content.

Some of our group went for a 5 km ski after breakfast, while the others enjoyed relaxing in the lounge by the fire. If you're only staying one night, your bags are taken back down to the parking lot at 10:30 but you're welcome to hang out at the lodge for as long as you like. A bagged lunch is included - a big sandwich, a bag of trail mix, a piece of fruit, a freshly-baked brownie, and a juice box. We opted to eat our lunch at the lodge before heading out, and it was lightly snowing by that time. We didn't get to see the amazing views of the surrounding mountains while we were there, but the conditions were fantastic and these ol' legs of mine thoroughly enjoyed the fast trip - nearly all downhill - back to the car.

The Callaghan Lodge is a great destination for a quiet getaway, or if you're into backcountry skiing, snowboarding or snowshoeing. The staff are incredible and make you feel like you're part of the family (except you don't have to do the dishes). The other guests are like-minded individuals who just want to get away from it all for a night or two, so there's a feeling of complete safety and trust there. I would highly recommend this lodge for a comfortable, quiet, yummy-food getaway.

Room Tip: The nicer rooms are more expensive, so you really get what you pay for. As you're hardly in you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Skied up to Back Country Callaghan Lodge last week for 2 days of incredible fun. Our daughter joined us before she was off to explore the world. Conditions were fantastic, cold nights, loads of fluffy snow and well tracked trails for both classic and skate skiing. We loved the new surprise of a creek side wood fired Sauna. And were thrilled to be met by the Aussie couple Kirstie and Evan our lodge hosts on previous visits. Dinners were again beyond expectation - gourmet fare amidst inspiring company. And thank you Brad for freshly grooming Wild Spirit for our rocket decent. We'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OttawaDvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We had a great two-night stay here. My wife and I like backpacking trips and nice hotel stays, and this was sort of the best of both worlds.

The ski in is a little arduous (mostly uphill) but worth it when you arrive at the lodge. Service was great. We did a 5-km loop in the valley behind the lodge on the second day but with sore shoulders from the first day we didn't do much more than that, so we ran out of things to do on the second day. If you have time and can afford it, getting a guide to take you backcountry skiing would be amazing.

Make sure you know where you're going and don't show up at the check-in desk too late -- watch for the big Callaghan Valley signs from the main road to Whistler.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Good place to go for a couple of days X-country Skiing.
A back country lodge experience close to Vancouver.
Your gear gets taken in by Ski doo.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pv_Langosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

Amazing 14 km. trip into the back country with a full amenities lodge at the end of the journey. Hard to believe that after travelling for hours there is lodge of this caliper literally in the middle of nowhere! All the staff are very friedly and willing to accomadate. The scenery is fantastic and even in mid April there was fresh snow and perfect conditions. The highlight has to be the sauna complete with snow steps down to the creakbed for a refreshing dip. Totally recommend this for a day or extended overnight adventure . . .

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hedgamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
10.0 km away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,726 reviews
12.4 km away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
12.3 km away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 km away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
13.2 km away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
13.1 km away
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callaghan Country's Journeyman Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callaghan Country's Journeyman Lodge

Property: Callaghan Country's Journeyman Lodge
Address: 4 Callaghan Valley Rd | (Backcountry), Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the serene beauty of the Solitude Valley for either lunch or overnights. Share in the adventure of skiing through majestic old-growth forests, across powder-filled meadows, past waterfalls and along the shore of frozen Conflict Lake to the sub-alpine seclusion of Callaghan Country Lodge, a well-appointed, full-service backcountry inn offering friendly West-coast hospitality, unforgettable fine dining and comfortable accommodation for up to 24 guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Callaghan Country's Journeyman Lodge Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing