We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ron M

Incredible family outdoor adventure!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Feb 23, 2022
My wife and I and our ten year old son skied the 13.4 KMs into this beautiful lodge for a four night stay. Being unplugged for five days and enjoying both the rugged remote location combined with the luxury of a full service lodge was incredible! From an affordable bunk, to a full suite with a sitting room and bathroom, there is something for everyone. Our suite was very comfortable and cozy for the three of us. The views of the surrounding mountains are awesome. We spent our days XC skiing and ski touring fresh powder in some nice family friendly glades. The hosts and chef were very friendly and accommodating. The meals were excellent! Our son still raves about his specially prepared cheese pasta and cheese sandwiches. We enjoyed getting to know other groups and playing some pool in the rec room on the second floor in the evenings, as well as a trip to the sauna! Journeyman is the perfect place for the outdoor enthusiast to unplug and get away for a few days. If you’re skiing in with younger ones, add a couple of hours to the typical ski in times and take lots of breaks. We’re already planning our trip for next year.
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$257
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$257
  • Vio.com
    C$227
  • Expedia.com
    C$249
22.1 km from The Callaghan's Journeyman Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
Lakeside resort Nita Lake Lodge in Summer
C$499
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$499
  • Vio.com
    C$472
  • Priceline
    C$499
20.4 km from The Callaghan's Journeyman Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
C$535
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$535
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$522
  • Hotels.com
    C$535
22.6 km from The Callaghan's Journeyman Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
C$404
  • Priceline
    C$370
  • Vio.com
    C$360
  • Expedia.com
    C$431
22.2 km from The Callaghan's Journeyman Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$349
Fully refundable
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    C$349
  • Priceline
    C$349
  • Expedia.com
    C$349
22.1 km from The Callaghan's Journeyman Lodge
Pool
Restaurant
C$379
C$333
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$360
  • Expedia.com
    C$360
  • Hotels.com
    C$360
21.8 km from The Callaghan's Journeyman Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
C$379
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$379
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$320
  • Expedia.com
    C$379
22.2 km from The Callaghan's Journeyman Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
C$341
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$341
  • Vio.com
    C$288
  • Priceline
    C$341
21.8 km from The Callaghan's Journeyman Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotel Exterior Winter Photo - Keg Lodge
C$220
  • Priceline
    C$233
  • Vio.com
    C$198
  • Expedia.com
    C$233
22.1 km from The Callaghan's Journeyman Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
C$918
C$549
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$549
  • Hotels.com
    C$549
  • Expedia.com
    C$549
22.6 km from The Callaghan's Journeyman Lodge
Pool
Restaurant
View more hotels in Whistler
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
107
24
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
107
24
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews backcountry skiing other guests ping pong bucket list experience outdoor adventure surrounding mountains fresh powder come home two nights british columbia hot chocolate alpine sauna snow skis groomers unplugged
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 139 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2022 via mobile

If you haven't been to Journeyman Lodge in the Callaghan Valley, you're missing a unique experience. It's the opportunity to be in the beauty and quiet of the wilderness, and the comforts of a cozy lodge. Ski in if you can, spend your time Nordic or back country skiing and then come home to fine dining and warm hospitality.

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank judesi2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 3, 2022

My wife, 7-year old daughter and I had the pleasure of staying at the Journeyman Lodge for two nights over our winter holiday break. I'd give the whole trip 10 stars if I could. Here are some of the highlights for us (in no particular order):

- Scenery. We've trekked/skied/hiked all over the world and the Callaghan Wilderness as as beautiful as anything we've ever seen. The views along the trails to the lodge, as well as the views from the lodge itself are absolutely glorious.

- The snow. I realize that this can vary greatly from week to week, but we had light fluffy snow during our trip and the XC trails we well groomed.

- The lodge itself. The rooms (especially the nooks) are space efficient and feel very cozy. The large dining room was very comfortable for meals, the 2nd floor living room was great for socializing and playing games (board games, billiards, ping pong, etc..) and the 3rd floor lounge was really quiet and cozy for reading.

- The sauna. A 5 minute walk (using the loaner snowshoes at the lodge) took us to a lovely Finnish style sauna right above a small flowing creek. Yes we took the plunge in the creek, and it felt fantastic. (your mileage may vary).

- The food. Having someone prepare food (and cleanup) for you in a backcountry lodge is pretty luxurious no matter what the quality of the food is, but they took it over the top with really great food for every meal including the pre-dinner appetizers in the game room. You're not going to believe me about how good the food was, so you'll just need to check it out yourself.

- And last but definitely not least, the people. EVERYONE we interacted with, including the Alexander Base crew who helped us with our reservations and planning, the amazing Journeyman Lodge hosts, the talented chef, etc... we're all off-the-charts nice and accommodating. We miss them all.

The ski in was a bit difficult, especially with a small child in tow (I used an all-season bungee attached to an alpine harness in case you're curious), but well worth the journey as it made us appreciate the milk and cookies on arrival that much more 🙂

We can't wait to go back!

Room tip: The nooks are small but super cozy (would stay in one again). Only a few rooms have their own bathroom, if that's important to you.
Date of stay: December 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PNWTravellingDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 2, 2021

This is a beautiful rustic alpine lodge in an amazing setting. We xc skied in, arriving just after 2pm lunch cut off, but the staff accommodated us anyway, with a hot soup and huge sandwich. The food is fantastic. We were impressed by all the meals/appetizers etc. The staff are amazing and do everything they can to make you feel welcome and comfortable. A couple of things to note, if you are a xc skier and there is fresh snow, the groomer doesn't get to alpine trails until after 10am, so have an extra cup of coffee. Also, power is off between 10pm-7am and 10am-4pm, and there is a rather loud short alarm that will wake you up at 7am!! Rooms vary, and only 3 have private bathrooms, which could be deciding factor for some. Walls are thin (especially if you're next to boiler room!) and mattresses are not 5-star level. This is a rustic accommodation for sure, but cozy, and in normal times it is about meeting others in the common lounge and dining room, the amazing back country skiing or just xc and snowshoe in the valley.

Room tip: Decide if you need private bathroom or are comfortable with shared.
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mydogsnameisdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 28, 2021

We cross-country ski at Whistler Olympic Park quite a bit and until recently, had not managed a stay at nearby Journeyman Lodge. The trip and stay was outstanding. It exceeded our expectations and I know we'll be back.

The staff personally introduced themselves soon after our arrival and, from then onwards, we felt that we were part of this home, certainly warm and comfortable. The meals were outstanding and the entire set-up and schedule works very well with activities, that for us, included classic and backcountry skiing.

It was lovely time and and the Lodge has a good vibe to it. All staff, from those at Alexander Base, to the Lodge, were professional and caring and we really appreciated their enthusiasm.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donpS7306NQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 25, 2021 via mobile

Xc skied up to the lodge which took my wife and I 1.5hrs and 2.5hrs respectively, once we got there we went into full chill mode and our hosts were amazing. Fantastic food, amazing little getaway that’s not very far from the city but worth every minute! We’ll be back thank you!

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank martyl448
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews