We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
84
20
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
84
20
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cross country skiing backcountry skiing other guests wood fired sauna fresh snow star meal highly recommend this experience chef joe country experience fantastic adventure bagged lunch flush toilets beautiful mountains spent two nights games room stayed longer end of the day
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 111 of 111 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2011

I just spent a great night at Callaghan Lodge last weekend with my girlfriend and thought I would add some comments.

The lodge is in a really beautiful location in the upper Callaghan Valley. It’s definitely worth skiing in but as the previous review noted, don’t underestimate how long this will take. I am fairly fit (although first time cross country skiing) and it took 4 hours on classic skis. A couple of other guests on touring skis had planned to do further runs in the day but it was too late (and they were too tired) to do so after getting to the lodge. It might not be clear on the website, but there is a scheduled snowcat service to Callaghan Lake (about 4km from the lodge) for $25 that leaves a few times per day – and takes away most of the hard work. Two nights would be ideal, especially if you are alpine touring, but one night is definitely ok.

The house itself is very nice and fairly well appointed … if you’re accustomed to a self-catered backcountry hut then it’s definitely luxurious. The standard rooms are essentially just a sleeping alcove – 5 of which open onto a common sitting area. But it’s cozy and you won’t be spending much time in the lodge. The lounge on the main floor is nice with a fireplace and even a pool table (+ ping pong!).

Breakfast and Lunch were basic but good, and dinner was very good. It’s nice that you can bring your own alcohol – if you’re a heavy drinker this is a big savings.

It’s not perfect and there are a couple of things that they could definitely improve on. The live-in hosts were very friendly but very much kept to themselves. It would have been nice if they were more forthcoming with information about the surrounding trails and area. The mattress was also terrible (this is maybe a matter of preference). Dinner is set up family style using big tables which isn’t very intimate because they are so big – it was difficult to speak with the guests across the table. A better website with up to date information and online booking is also needed. There’s also apparently a sauna now, but you have to pay a $40 usage fee (and was not mentioned at check-in or by the hosts).

Overall a great experience and highly recommended. It would be a great place to rent out as a group, but also is suitable for singles.

Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lonergan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We stayed at the Callaghan Country Lodge for two nights last week. I agree with everything that was said in the previous review, but I wanted to confirm that it is all still true 2 years later. This is a cozy, pleasant lodge way up in the mountains just south of Whistler, BC. Most people cross country ski into the lodge, but the lodge transports all your luggage up by snowmobile. (They will also transport people up by snowmobile for an additional charge.) The ski-in is a pretty strenuous undertaking - 13.5 kilometres with more than 500 m gain in altitude. It took my husband and me (average skiers) 3-1/2 hours to get up there, so be sure to allow enough time to reach the lodge before dark! (We only just made it.) All meals are included for your stay - afternoon appies, a 4 course dinner, generous buffet breakfast, and lunch, either soup and sandwich at the lodge, or a packed box lunch for the adventurous types who prefer to spend their whole day outdoors. Some guests are there for the back country ski touring, but we took a less vigorous approach and just did some easy snowshoeing and a couple of hours of X-country skiing on groomed trails on our second day there. The lodge provides snowshoes, and there are about 20 kilometres of groomed (track set) trails surrounding the lodge. The food was very good, with gourmet flair, and the rooms, although not large, were cozy and comfortable. As mentioned in the previous review, they do not have a liquor licence but you can send up what you want to drink with your luggage (and save yourself a heap of cash). We met a lot of fun people which made the dinner times very enjoyable.
All in all, I would highly recommend this place to people who enjoy the outdoors and are looking to "get away from it all". There are NO "screens" at the lodge - no TV, no computers, no DVDs, no high speed internet. For entertainment there is snow adventures, books by the fire, board games, pool and darts, and good conversation with interesting people. If you can't live without your TiVO or Facebook, don't bother heading up there.

Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank constans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2009

Four of us booked a ski in- ski out overnight package at the Callaghan Country Lodge for our start to the 2009 New Year. Overall we had a great trip. We enjoyed mostly amazing skiing on our first day with the beautiful sunny weather. Due to a mix up in communication at base camp we skied onto an un-groomed trail at the very end of the day and therefore had a bit of difficulty with the last leg of the ski in. The lodge staff were helpful and sent for someone to come to assist us, and they called us on our cel phones when we were late. They even saved "appys" for us as we ended up there two hours late due to skiing in on the difficult trail. Note: If you choose the "ski in" package it is a 14km uphill ski, but they will transfer all your luggage up for you. Plan on this taking 3-5 hours depending on your fitness level. For an additional fee you can also book a snow mobile or even helicopter ride up the mountain, which many guests do. Once at the lodge we were greeted by our hosts Kirsty and Evan who were helpful and cheerful the entire stay. Our package included afternoon appys (which we missed, but were then served late to us) a four course dinner, a breakfast buffet and a packed lunch for the next days ski trip. The food was all very good with a gourmet flair and we enjoyed it all very much - note the lodge is not licensed, but you are allowed to bring up your own alcohol, so if you like wine with your dinner, pack a bottle in your suitcase. The lodge is quite new and very romantic, with a big lounge area complete with a roaring fire, snooker table, ping pong, books, a guitar to play or just big comfy chairs to sit in and watch the snow. We had booked the superior rooms with private bathrooms and balconies and they were small, but cosy, clean and warm. My only complaint would be the lack of good pillows in either room, and that some more toiletries being provided would have been nice, you do get one bar of soap. At ten pm the generator goes off and you have to use your flash light to get around, they do have propane lanterns in each room that can be lit but as you can imagine it gets very dark once these are put out! The water also goes off and you get one more "flush" during the night. You are well warned of these events and given a last call for everything before the lights/water go out. You do need to be prepared for the dark in your room at night and have a head lamp or flashlight and water bottles with you. The buffet breakfast is served at 8 and included fresh muffins, croissants, boiled eggs, yogurt, toast, bagels and cream cheese, fresh fruit , juice, coffee, tea, hot chocolate and even marmite. Our skiing the second day was fantastic. Best skiing I have ever done, nice trails around the lodge, few other people and lovely powder. On the ski out you are rewarded for your hard work of the first day with a 14 km ski down a winter wonderland and you have your packed lunch to enjoy at your leisure. The lodge transports your luggage down the hill to meet you. Your ski pass is then good for the rest of the day at the new Whistler Olympic ski park. We definitely would go back to the Callaghan lodge and it would be perfect to book for large group. If you love back country skiing, romantic rustic lodgings, and good food – then check out this gem in the BC woods.

Date of stay: January 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Veggygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2018
Google Translation

Room tip: 入山する時は、追加料金がかかるが、圧雪車を利用する事をお勧め。
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews