We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but great fun”

Backroads Whistler - River of Golden Dreams
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Whistler's original summer activity the legendary River of Golden Dreams and scenic Alta Lake – The flat water river is more than just a float it’s a Exploring Adventure. Beaver, Eagles, Osprey, Heron’s and even Black Bears are regular sights will have you eagerly wondering what’s around the next bend in the river including spectacular views of mountain peaks in a natural environment. Our River trips have limited availability and often sell out, please pre book to assure your spot. Unlike an amusement park ride River of Golden Dreams trips allow you to be an active participant. One of the reasons people keep coming back to paddle the river is it is different every time they come. In the spring the water levels can be high and moving though always flat and no rapids. By mid-summer water levels are gentle. By late summer the beaver start rebuilding their dams creating pools to paddle in. Water levels are low and steering the boat properly avoids obstacles. Guides are recommended though experienced river paddlers go unguided. It’s most certainly not what you expected. Our staff present river orientations to make this a fun, eco-friendly, educational exploring outing. Located at Lakeside Park minutes from Whistler Village. Free Transportation is available for River of Golden Dreams Tours from all Whistler Village hotels and vacation/ holiday accommodations.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Family of 4 (kids 9 & 7) took a canoe down the river of golden dreams on a hot and sunny day. Had great fun especially trying to navigate the beaver dams without having to get out the canoe (according to the kids we beat the Beavers 5-4).. River was quite low in places not a problem added to the fun trying not to get stuck but we had to spend 20 mins+ on foot with canoe on trailer because of this, 10 mins to transport canoe to deeper part of river then 10 mins to take cart back. This was a real pain because we didn't get to canoe the extra part to Green Lake because of this and we all wanted to see it but we'd run out of time (you are given a certain time to get to the pick up point). ALL IN ALL GREAT FUN BUT EXPENSIVE - 1. paying per person when we only had 1 canoe (others without kids paid half the price for same canoe) was a rip off and 2. missing out on Green Lake as we had to walk the canoe on a stretch was unfair, and we should have been given more time.

Thank MrPlant7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric W, Owner at Backroads Whistler - River of Golden Dreams, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2016

Thanks for your review.
Glad you enjoyed the river and the kids got to see first hand some true Canadiana
We've been working with the resort for some years to by pass having to use the portage trailers in late summer and re establish a dedicated take out in Green Lake.
We meet with them again in early Sept.
We need you the paddling public to voice your wishes for the river
Trip Advisor will not let us publish a link to the Mayors office but the following will give you a pretty good idea how to get ahold of her
Would you send your note to
whistler dot ca/municipal-gov/council/writing-to-council
Email: mayorsoffice at whistler.ca

cheers

Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Backroads Whistler - River of Golden Dreams
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

Courtney went above and beyond to help two stranded women from Vancouver. Thank you so very much! Can't wait to return to see our favourite river guide.
Tara and Alana

Thank bunnybear2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric W, Manager at Backroads Whistler - River of Golden Dreams, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

HI bunnybear2

thanks for your review
Court rocks! thanks

cheers
Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

We did this trip on a wet day, and apparently were the only people on the river that afternoon.
We booked late, but were welcomed onsite.
One of the staff gave us a brief rundown on how to handle a canoe, and what to expect of the lake and river journey.
Then, we were left on our own, with a rain jacket, a life jacket, and the canoe.
WE SURVIVED!! And we did not capsize!!
I think we were lucky that I have had white water rafting experience, so remember what we had to do in certain situations.
The scenery, and the peacefulness of th journey were fantastic.
Well recommended, provided you're not a beginner.

1  Thank Plumley042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric W, Owner at Backroads Whistler - River of Golden Dreams, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2016

Morning Plumley042
Thanks for sharing your review.

Yes we do offer a river orientation and brief instruction to unguided guests though for more in depth information guests should go guided.

As water levels do change daily based on temperature and snow melt unguided guests should have river paddling experience especially in spring and early summer.

Glad you had fun and shared your journey with others.
cheers
Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

The entire distance of canoeing is less than before. Spend sometime to research and found the big area has sold to foreign buyer, this is no good.

But still lots fun for kids.

1  Thank Sidney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric W, Owner at Backroads Whistler - River of Golden Dreams, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

HI Sydney T
Thanks for being a repeat guest on the river.
It is unfortunate the resort did not buy the Edgewater property.
At 11 million.....I gather budgets did not allow.
That said a boat put in take out on the south shores of Green Lake is on the new Recreation Master plan and with the help of the paddling public like yourself I hope we can see one sooner than later
Please feel free to send a note to https://www.whistler.ca/stay-connected/contact
and ask that the Green Lake boat access is on the priority list.

In the meantime glad you had fun and keep coming back to paddle the River of Golden Dreams.

cheers
Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

not really worth the money. 80 dollars for 1hour and a half of cayaking. it was suposed to take about 3 hours to do the tour.

1  Thank Wouter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric W, Owner at Backroads Whistler - River of Golden Dreams, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2016

Hi Wouter G
Eric here, I own Backroads Whistler. Would you contact me to discuss your trip? fun@backroadswhistler.com
Given you paddled the river in 1.5 hours puts you in the expert category for sure. When creating this trip itinerary I had to look at what most guests paddle times would be hence the 3 hours.
We have lots of options for guests that are good paddlers like you are and paddle the river quick like you did.

I endeavour to provide a quality operation and value packed programs. Let's talk about how we can sort this out. I think we can
cheers
Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Backroads Whistler - River of Golden Dreams also viewed

 
Whistler, British Columbia
Surge Narrows, Read Island
 

Been to Backroads Whistler - River of Golden Dreams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing