We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Could Use Improvement” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Redwood Motor Inn

Redwood Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Redwood Motor Inn
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Brandon
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Could Use Improvement”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

My family & I stayed at this motel for 2 nights. First impressions of our room was that it smelled very old and musty. We had to go to a store to get an air freshener so the room wouldn't smell bad. The furniture reminded me of old 2nd hand furniture. The room consisted of a queen size bed which was surprisingly comfortable and a pull out couch that I think was broken. All fixtures are original (old). The tv was new as it was a flat screen (small) and the tub/shower was newer but had no plug for a bath. The soap provided was no bigger than a toonie. The locks for the outside door and inside door were chain locks only. The lock on the door handle was broken. The towels provided were old blue thin towels. On the positive side the continental breakfast provided was good, but very limited. Hot and cold cereal, toast, make your own waffles and different juices and fresh fruit. This motel needs alot of TLC....If the owners are reading this, they need to renovate badly, othewise I don't know how much longer they can stay in business.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cougar63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    8
    11
    4
    10
See reviews for
12
11
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

I stayed at the Redwood with my wife since the rest of our family decided to stay there too for a function we were all attending. Here's an overview of the good and the bad sides of the Redwood:

GOOD

-Location is not bad, on 18th Street fairly close to downtown Brandon, the Trans-Canada Highway and the various stores and attractions on the north side. (This could be a problem if you need to be in the south side, though)

-In a city where room rates are very high, the Redwood's prices are decent - about $80 to $100 on average, from what I could tell.

-Plentiful free parking

-Good selection of TV channels

-Free coffee and cereal (not quite what I'd call a "continental breakfast", but whatever)

-Beds were pretty comfortable

-There were a couple of computers set up off the lobby and the place advertises free Wi-Fi (which I didn't use so I can't vouch for)

BAD

-Poorly maintained property with a number of things left damaged and unrepaired

-Some of the worst towels I have ever seen in a hotel room. Seriously, you can buy cheap hotel towels by the bushel and they would be an improvement over these rags. This would not be a big deal if the room were $40 a night, but at double that rate (which is what we paid) I would think the owners could part with a few bucks and provide some decent towels and toiletries.

-An overall dingy and shabby feel that you simply would not expect at this price. The owners clearly try to go the extra mile with wi-fi, a continental breakfast, a hot tub and some other frills, but they fail to deliver on the fundamentals.

Unless price is a major stumbling block, I'd say shell out the few extra dollars and go for a better hotel. Normally I'm fine with the cheaper alternative, but the Redwood is not cheap and still doesn't really manage to deliver a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patrolman_pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brandon hotels

Yorkton, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

Smoke detectors have batteries put in backwards to keep them from going off since the steam from showers set them off. Old, worn out, thick dirt in corners, all around bad place to stay. For $69 night I expected better than this dump.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cooter0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Labrador City, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2010

This place is so gross words cannot express ! Dirty run down rooms , old worn stained towels , uncomfortable beds and a general feeling of EW ! I will never stay here again ! gross , gross , gross ......

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nanciann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanna
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2009

Great hotel very freindly people nice clean rooms nice to have coffee availiable 24 7 which is a big plus for me i drink alot of coffee i liked the free movie channels hot tub was down but was told its a new one and there waitin for the permets would totally stay at this hotel again recommened it to everyone

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmaster69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2009

We have stayed at the Redwood many times over the years and have always been pleased with the accommodations and service. After recently reading the reviews we wondered if something had changed. Fortunately we experienced the same great service and friendly staff. And the rates are reasonable as well. Biggest problem is the parking lot is often full.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keisha2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

We stayed one night at the motel. We have 3 young children and they were having a bath. They were somewhat loud but it was only 8:00 we had checked in around 6:30. The girl at the desk came to our room and told us that our children were too loud. I apologized and we continued to watch t.v. and play. Then the girl phoned our room and told us that we were too loud. After the 2nd call I walked down to the desk and reminded her it was only 9:00 she said that whenI can herar you in the hall it is too loud. I tried to explain the sitiuation but she was rude. I asked for a refund and said we would go if she continued to harass us. She said we could leave but no money would be refunded. The next morning at check out. The manger apologized to my husband and said that he hoped we would come again. He said I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SRPManitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brandon hotels
3.1 km away
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
#11 of 15 in Brandon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
3.6 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Brandon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
4.6 km away
Days Inn & Suites Brandon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Lakeview Inns & Suites - Brandon
2.5 km away
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#5 of 15 in Brandon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
2.2 km away
Royal Oak Inn
Royal Oak Inn
#7 of 15 in Brandon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redwood Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwood Motor Inn

Property: Redwood Motor Inn
Address: 345 18th St, Brandon, Manitoba R7A 5A8, Canada
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Brandon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Brandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Redwood Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Highway No#1, this Brandon motel provides breakfast and free Wi-Fi. A refrigerator and a microwave are included in all guest rooms. Brandon city centre is 2 km away.A cable TV and a sofa are provided in each queen room at Redwood Motor Inn. A work desk and free local calls are also included. Select guest rooms offer a hot plate or full kitchen facilities.A 24-hour reception greets guests of Motor Inn Redwood. A guest launderette and cold-weather plug-ins are available to all guests.Wheat City Golf Course is 7 minutes’ drive away. Walmart department store is 1 km from Redwood Motor Inn. Beer vendor is onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Redwood Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redwood Motor Hotel Brandon
Redwood Hotel Brandon
Redwood Motor Inn Brandon, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing