We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Frontiers North Adventures
from US$3,058.17
More Info
from US$5,024.69
More Info
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
119
8
2
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
119
8
2
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews smaller group cub driver bears town mom community
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 132 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2020

What a great tour. We saw what we had come to see, the polar bears, many polar bears, but we also encountered, Arctic Hare, Snowy Owl, Ptarmigan, and Red Fox. Mike, our guide, was a wealth of knowledge, and when combined with Kevin, our Tundra Buggy driver, there wasn't anything that couldn't be answered. The two guides were a great combination and certainly kept us entertained, and we would like to thank them for really adding to the trip.
Comfort on the buggy was just right, although once the bears were seen we didn't care. Food, drink and hospitality on the buggies was fabulous.
Other parts of the tour were wonderful, and I would like to highlight the Insanitaq Museum, the very interesting and funny talk by Stanley and his wife Joan on life in Churchill, and the Parks Canada office. Of course the dog sled ride with Dave Daley shouldn't be missed either.
We also enjoyed walking around the town, and the meals were well received.
Having our own plane to fly to and from Winnipeg was rather grand also.
All up we loved it.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank bobk924
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2019

Staying out on the tundra in the Tundra Buggy Lodge puts you right in the prime polar bear viewing zone. Wake up to polar bears sleeping next to the lodge. Being in the zone gets you out first thing in the morning to view the bears and you stay out the entire day until sunset. Good food, great staff ... what more can you ask for.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank gee-men
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frontiers N, Frontiers North Adventures at Frontiers North Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2019

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!

We appreciate the feedback and are happy you enjoyed your time at the Tundra Buggy Lodge.

Kindest Regards,

Frontiers North

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 22, 2019 via mobile

We were on a Frontiers North Churchill Town & Enthusiast tour the first week of November. It exceeded all expectations for this bucket list trip. All logistics were well organized and implemented without a hitch. Our interpretive guide (David Garrow) was well informed and presented background information and educational items in an understandable manner. Our tundra buggy driver (Kevin Burke) was likewise informative. Both David and Kevin effortlessly accommodated tour mates with mobility issues. The Tundra Inn accommodations were basic but clean. Food was good in both restaurants where our group met. The side trips yo the Eskimo Museum, Polar Bears International, and dog sledding were enjoyable and educational. We didn't realize when we signed up that the Enthusiast level tour is a smaller group--only 20 in our group. We highly recommend the smaller size both for ability to move around in the tundra buggy and for a spirit of collegiality among the tour participants. We saw about 20 polar bears during our 2 days in the tundra buggy, several very close to us. We highly recommend Frontiers North and this tour!

Date of experience: November 2019
1  Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frontiers N, Frontiers North Adventures Staff at Frontiers North Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2019

Hi Lynn,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!

Joining us on the Churchill Town and Tundra Enthusiast tour is an excellent way to give you the best of both worlds. A taste for the eclectic northern town and the people who live there and some great time on the tundra.

We will pass along your compliments to David and Kevin and are so happy we could be a part of one of your bucket list experiences.

Warmest Regards,

Frontiers North

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 18, 2019

Exceptional polar tours! I just completed my third annual trip with Frontiers North and already booked trip # four for next year (2020). Tried Tundra Buggy Lodge this time and in a word, “brilliant”, the total experience was 5*, the food/happy hour, desserts, lodge/beds, cleanliness, comfort, bear briefings, staff and comradery was exceptional. Waking to polar bears rolling in the snow outside your lodge window was amazing and witnessing northern lights from the viewing platform. No need to travel back and forth to town/Churchill, just get up, get breakfast and go find bears right there. Our driver Jim was so much fun, so experienced and always got us in great position to view/photograph bears. Experiencing bears that close makes you realize what they go thru just to survive, an incredible learning experience. From the moment I registered with FN to the pre-tour info briefing (with Kaycy) in Winnipeg, the flights, every single detail was covered efficiently and professionally. The tundra buggies are very safe, comfortable/warm and on our tour just 20 participants so all have a double seat/window to themselves. The hot food served aboard the buggy at lunch was always a big hit. See you again next year FN and keep up the exceptional polar tours.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank naturepix57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frontiers N, Frontiers North Adventures Staff at Frontiers North Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2019

Thanks for this amazing feedback naturepix57!

There is something so surreal about rolling over to glance out your window at the Lodge and see polar bears playing. It's such an amazing experience and we're so happy you were able to witness it.

It is incredible you are visiting us for a fourth time next year! We cannot wait to welcome you back.

Happy travelling and see you next year!

Warmest Regards,

Frontiers North

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 15, 2019 via mobile

This adventure met and exceeded my expectations. My trip got off to a rocky start when my airplane had mechanical problems and caused me to miss my connection to Winnipeg. The Frontiers North staff took it in stride and arranged for me to catch a charter a day later than planned. Everything in the brochure is accurate. Great food. And super guide and driver. Cannot say enough great things about Ward, our guide, and Luke, our driver. Lunches on the tundra buggy were superb. Be advised that accommodations are exactly as described. Bunk beds with privacy curtains. I found the beds to be totally adequate. Lounge car is a little small but comfortable. Only minor inconvenience was 3 toilets and 2 showers for 20 people. For me, it was on the low end of “glamping.” Wildlife viewing made the trip. Saw numerous polar bears, red foxes, and ptarmigans. Even saw an arctic fox and mama bear with cub. Very glad I went.

Date of experience: November 2019
1  Thank bradl336
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frontiers N, Frontiers North Adventures at Frontiers North Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2019

Hi bradl336,

We are so happy our team was able to get you up to Churchill and back on to your original itinerary. It sounds like you definitely enjoyed the Tundra Buggy Lodge and the amount of wildlife you encountered.

We will pass on your compliments to Luke and Ward and wish you a safe journey home.

Kindest Regards,

Frontiers North

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews