We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excels at great food, service and atmosphere”
Review of Resto Gare

Resto Gare
Ranked #27 of 1,655 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$24
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central St. Boniface
Description: Classic French Bistro in 1913 historic St Boniface Train Station. Owned by the same family since 1983. Service available in French or English.
Selkirk, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excels at great food, service and atmosphere”
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Elegant, intimate atmosphere with surprisingly reasonably priced food. Excellent wine list. Steak was one of the best I have ever had, much better than 529, and has a variety of good sides included. Bread basket was included. Server was attentive, professional and added to a great evening. I loved that the service was not rushed and we could relax after our meal...before dessert.

  • Visited January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    77
    28
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Decent food, very slow service ”
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

The food was pricey but decent. The service however was very slow. It was a busy night but the rush seemed to slow down after 9 p.m. Unfortunately the service remained very slow moving. As it was later in the night, my husband and I were anxious to get our bill and get home. It took the waitress a good half hour after she cleared the dessert dishes to bring our bill. We may try again in another few years, but we are not in a rush to go back anytime soon.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Canad85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
480 reviews
365 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Ambient dining”
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Dining room was festively decorated for Christmas and the fire place was ablaze. Server, Matt was very attentive and our service was quick considering how busy the restaurant was. Warm bread slices and oil/balsamic were served with our Caesar salads. Salad wasn't as good as I remembered but it was okay. Big enough to share. Dinner specials offered more choices. The prime rib was cooked to specifications but was a bit chewy. Served atop mashed potatoes and with side vegetables, bright green broccolini and Harvard beets......good seasonal colours! The special steelhead trout fillet was large and nicely prepared over a Cajun rice and side vegetables. The seafood crepes were large and filled with plump shrimp and scallops. They were very rich but had a great flavour. The beets and broccolini gave the dish some needed colour. Wine list was adequate and the decanted wine hit the spot. All and all a lovely evening with friends.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous Dinner!”
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Our group of former co-workers has been getting together for a Christmas dinner for over 30 years. This year we chose Resto Gare, as the last time we had dinner at the former La Vielle Gare was probably 20 years ago. We were not disappointed! Our meals were absolutely delicious. I shared the Seafood for 2 dinner with another friend and every mouthful was amazing. The wine was one we'd never tried before, but it was lovely. Our waiter was very attentive and helpful. Our entire experience was excellent.

  • Visited December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngieK_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“RELIABLE CUISINE”
Reviewed 17 December 2016

We have been to Resto Gare many times over the years. It is always a nice experience. The food is high quality but not mind blowing and the service is good.

  • Visited December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kjnpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Resto Gare also viewed

Winnipeg, Manitoba
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 

Been to Resto Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing