We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Ghost”
Review of Fort Garry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fort Garry Hotel
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I have stayed at numerous hotels in Winnipeg and this stay at the Ft. Garry was my first.
I was told the hotel was haunted and asked at checking if this was true.
I was told that there was an incident where life was lost on the second floor, Room 202.
I passed on the offer and was very pleaded with my accommodation on the 8th floor. No ghosts.

It is a classic old hotel where hospitality is coupled with charm.

If you are looking for comfort you'll find it hear.

Nearby, a short 10 minute stroll will get you to the Forks with much to see and do.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FergusVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

984 - 990 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2012

The Fort Garry Hotel exudes elegance from days gone by. Today it is a comfortable hotel with rooms that have some of the old touches of luxury. My room had a very comfortable bed, a decent amount of space and a great shower. The only shortfalls were a missing bureau, a thermostat that worked and a TV from this century. The Hotel staff were friendly, helpful and available. While I didn't eat in the restaurant the hotel did cater our function and the food was delicious. Speaking as a vegetarian the chef should be acknowledged for his/her excellence. The hotel's location is convenient with good access to walking and businesses.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce154913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W, Manager at Fort Garry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Thank you for your review and the wonderful compliment for our chef and kitchen staff. We have a very strong commitment to healthy living and are glad that our passion is reflected in the taste of our food.

I am pleased that you enjoyed a very comfortable stay with us. Our apologies for the maintenance issue with the thermostat in your guest room; if you could kindly contact me by e-mail with the guest room number I will ensure this is promptly taken care of.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fort Garry Hotel should you return to Winnipeg.

Kind regards,

Laura Wiebe
Marketing Director,
The Fort Garry Hotel, Spa & Conference Centre
(204) 946-6523
lwiebe@fortgarryhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Fort Garry is one of the most grandiose hotel in town if not the country. Its lobby is breathtaking, and the restaurant is also quite excellent.

However, its rooms are really depressingly outdated. Seriously, the furniture looks like they were from the 70s. The room I was in still have a cathode ray tube TV, in 2012!!! The wall paper are super old school, the desk is antique and partnered with a tiny and flimsy looking piano bench. Overall, it feels like visiting your grandparents' retirement home.

Location-wise, it is a little out of the way for a business trip, but okay. The breakfast is quite good. The Keg is across the street is probably the only kitchen in downtown that opens late.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BoywonderTo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W, Manager at Fort Garry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Winnipeg, and for reviewing your stay. We appreciate feedback as we endeavor to provide unmatched service excellence, amenities and ultimately, satisfied guests. I am pleased that we were able to provide exceptional service duing your stay and that you appreciated the opulence of our grand lobby.

Part of our charm as a national historic site hotel is the uniqueness of our accommodations, each is slightly different with varying décor and furniture. Please accept our apologies that your guestroom décor did not meet your expectations of us. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally if you do return to The Fort Garry, and I would be pleased to assist in finding you a guestroom with up-to-date décor, TV, and furniture. Our front desk and concierge bell staff are a great resource for recommendations on dining in downtown Winnipeg, we would also be pleased to provide you with a list of our favorite late-night downtown dining spots if you like.

Again, thank you for staying with us, and for your review. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Winnipeg.

Kind regards,

Laura Wiebe,
Marketing Director
The Fort Garry Hotel, Spa & Conference Centre
(204) 946-6523
lwiebe@fortgarryhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This is historic hotel-now B&B is
well located in downtown Winnipeg next to excellent walks and sights.. While it's decor is somewhat tired, it is clean and comfortable and offers prompt and friendly service and wonderful breakfasts!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W, Marketing Director at Fort Garry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

I'm glad you had a great stay with us, and that you enjoyed our famous chef-to-guest breakfasts. Downtown Winnipeg is beautiful, the next time you visit us be sure to request a "Fort St. View" on a high floor to experience a picturesque sunrise over the Forks Market Historic Site, the Canadian Museum of Human Rights and Esplanade Riel.

Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to write your review.

Kind regards,

Laura Wiebe
Marketing Director

(204)946-6523
lwiebe@fortgarryhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

This is a gracious historic hotel. Decor and furnishings are traditional and conservative. I spent one night here on a business trip, and enjoyed my stay. Parts of it, such as the Banquet Hall, have been well-renovated, parts of it, such as my room, had finishes that were a bit tired. The level of service was good. Recommended.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
Thank Architectandmusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Absolutely beautiful spa, wonderful Sunday brunch (and a great breakfast on other days), nice walking area. You'll be disappointed if you expect updated rooms - they most likely will be closer to your grandma's style. Definitely worth a stay if you have time to get a spa package/ breakfast package. Have had some issues in the past with mistakes on the bill, but they were usually fixed quickly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank illjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMacFar, Marketing Director at Fort Garry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Thank you for your recent stay with us, and for your honest feedback. Please accept our apologies for the slight setback in your billing, but I'm glad we were able to resolve the issue quickly.

We are looking forward to celebrating our 100th anniversary next year and as a historic building part of our charm is that each guestroom is slightly different with varying furniture and decor. I invite you to call me personally when planning your next stay with us, and I would be pleased to assist you in finding a room that will suit your taste.

We take pride in our culinary services and in Ten Spa so I am happy that you took the opportunity to try them and that you enjoyed your overall stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Laura Wiebe
Marketing Director,
The Fort Garry Hotel, Spa and Conference Centre
204-946-6523
lwiebe@fortgarryhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Stayed here for meetings for 4 nights in April and was totally captivated by this old hotel. It was a beautiful change from the countless modern hotels today - definitely an older hotel with door knobs and bathrooms with old tubs, but the drapes and wall paper and linens are charming.
Service in the dining room was excellent, the food and drinks were very good and incredibly reasonably priced.
The SPA is SENSATIONAL - I had a massage that was excellent and the environment is so peaceful and a whole world away from the hustle and bustele of everyday.
I'd also rate the breakfast at 5 stars - my colleagues were raving about the eggs benedict and the fresh fruits and pastries were also excellent.
Stay in a room away from the elevators and the noise does travel in an older building like this but I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators - it is an older building and the noise of the doors opening and closin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OneOfTheSisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
#8 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,076 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#7 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,398 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#6 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Hotels Winnipeg
Delta Hotels Winnipeg
#16 of 63 in Winnipeg
336 reviews
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Garry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Garry Hotel

Address: 222 Broadway, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 0R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Winnipeg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#9 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#22 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range: C$158 - C$236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Garry Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort Garry Hotel, Spa and Conference Centre is a classic chateau-style hotel and national historic site situated in the heart of downtown Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada. This former Grand Trunk Railway hotel has been a Winnipeg icon since 1913 and is only minutes away from major downtown attractions including the Forks Market. Relax in one of our 246 guestrooms or suites featuring: our exquisite bed ensemble with feather mattress, down duvets and pillows, and fine Italian linens. All of our guests enjoy delivery of complimentary coffee/tea, cookies & newspapers from 6am- noon. Enjoy the Fort Garry’s award winning Grand Sunday Brunch or legendary daily breakfast. We will attend to your guests in luxurious elegance from an intimate dinner to a magnificent banquet of 600 with four grand historic ballrooms, 16 conference and meeting rooms, and Winnipeg’s only Glatt Kosher service. Experience the award winning, versatile culinary fare of The Fort Garry. Fully equipped fitness centre with indoor running track and indoor swimming pool. Winnipeg’s world-class Ten Spa with authentic co-ed Turkish hamam, dubbed “The hottest, steamiest, most exotic place in Canada” by the Ottawa Citizen. Yoga Public, Canada’s largest yoga playground & sanctuary for individuals looking for a source of physical and spiritual inspiration. Yoga Public offers a program of more than 100 classes per week and offers variety of yoga style and TRX classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fort Garry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Garry Winnipeg
Hotel Fort Garry
Fort Garry Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing