We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kim A
Edmonton, Canada

Overcrowded hotel

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 3, 2022via mobile
Hotel is difficult to get to with construction and the parking is not convenient. The area is a high crime location and it can be very uncomfortable around the area.

Hotel was packed with people. We were informed many were staying because they were displaced, or coming from out of country. Which is completely fine, and only an issue for the sheer volume of people and families living long term in the building and in the small reception area. There was only 2 elevators working and one was broken for a while, there were long lines to access the elevator. Staff were obviously exhausted and mostly indifferent.

There was security but the area and hotel did not feel secure. It was a very loud, cramped, hectic one night stay for us.
Date of stay: July 2022
Room Tip: It might help to call in advance to see about how crowded the hotel will be and if construction...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike Gore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg-South, an IHG Hotel, responded to this review
Responded Aug 4, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Holiday Inn Winnipeg South. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We are currently assisting the Canadian Red Cross in providing accommodation to Manitobans displaced due to flooding in our province. However, this does not typically result in crowding of the lobby, as you describe. Perhaps this was during a heavy check-in period. We will investigate. I apologize that you did not feel secure during your stay, I am not aware of any crimes being committed in our area. We do have security on site, which have been hired by Red Cross for the flood evacuees. We appreciate your comments regarding the elevators. We have been undertaking a full modernization of all of our elevator equipment. This is a long project with each elevator taking 12 - 14 weeks to complete, resulting in one of our three elevators being out of service much of the time. The project will be competed early next week and we will have three brand new elevators in service. Thank you again for your feedback and for choosing the Holiday Inn Winnipeg South. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to be of serve you again. If I may be of any further assistance to you, please reach out to me at 204 452 4747 or mikeg@hiws.ca.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$193
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.4 km from Holiday Inn Winnipeg-South, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$166
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
5.4 km from Holiday Inn Winnipeg-South, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Inn at the Forks Exterior
C$215
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
5.5 km from Holiday Inn Winnipeg-South, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$173
  • Booking.com
  • BestWestern.com
  • Hotels.com
10.5 km from Holiday Inn Winnipeg-South, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
C$197
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Fairmont
    C$197
6.2 km from Holiday Inn Winnipeg-South, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Double room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$179
  • Hotels.com
6.0 km from Holiday Inn Winnipeg-South, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$185
  • Hotels.com
7.9 km from Holiday Inn Winnipeg-South, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Hampton
    C$159
  • Booking.com
7.8 km from Holiday Inn Winnipeg-South, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
  • Wyndham
    C$126
  • Expedia.com
    C$113
  • Hotels.com
4.1 km from Holiday Inn Winnipeg-South, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Winnipeg
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveller rating
81
106
62
20
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
81
106
62
20
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parking lot very nice hotel pool and hot tub fridge university supper
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 288 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2021 via mobile

We stayed here again, based on our previous visit last year. This hotel is clean, safe and conveniently located. We felt safe with the COVID precautions in place, and everyone seemed to comply. The pool was open and we took advantage of it. Our room was clean and comfortable, and quiet (far from the elevator). We will definitely return on our next trip to Winnipeg.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank kimmi06
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike Gore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg-South, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoy staying with us. We truly appreciate your loyalty and look forward to the opportunity to be of service to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2021

I guess the area is not safe, there were security personnel at least five in lobby and few more in parking ground.
There were a bench in the parking area bunch of people drinking and smoke.
I felt very uncomfortable in that atmosphere.
Then I walked in to my room 709, towels were missing, coffee machine missing coffee and condiments.
Front staff response was ridiculous. She said "we don't clean rooms on the second day of stay and we don't enter your room this during COVID-19"
Well, I have just checked in, I am a new guest.
I hope they wash towels, sheets and make a bed cleanly.
All Holiday Inn are never the same standard, this is I have learned this time.

Room tip: This is exceptionally bad Holiday Inn
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vacatione629
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike Gore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg-South, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our hotel. We sincerely apologize for your disappointing experience. This is certainly not typical of our hotel nor is it acceptable by our standards. This has been a very challenging time for the hospitality industry. Like a number of other hotels in the city, with the assistance of the Canadian Red Cross, we have been hosting fire evacuees from northern Manitoba. Hence the additional security you saw around the property. We are certainly empathic to your discomfort in this regard. Unfortunately, the fires resulted in a loss of hydro to their communities and they are unable to return home until power is restored.
We also apologize for the miscommunication regarding our housekeeping protocols during the COVID pandemic. There is no excuse for the missing items in your room. We will follow up on this. Like most hotel brands, we are not currently offering automatic daily housekeeping service. We will perform housekeeping on an as requested basis only. For the protection of both staff and guests, if housekeeping is requested, we will arrange a convenient time when the guest will not be in the room to perform the service. Alternatively, If additional amenities, fresh towels, garbage emptied or other service are required we are pleased to offer this on a “knock and drop” basis.
We do place a welcome letter in each guest room outlining these revised protocols and ask that our front desk team outline them to our guests upon check in. I apologize that you were not made aware of this when you arrived. We will follow up to ensure this information is more accurately conveyed to all our guests upon check-in.
Please be assured that despite these changes, we continue to maintain the highest standards of sanitation and cleanliness in all areas of our property.
Thank you again for your feedback. Once again, we apologize that your experience fell short of expectation. Please know this is not typical of our hotel. We hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity to be of service to you again in the future. If I may be of any further assistance to you, please reach out to me at 204 452-4747 or mikeg@hiws.ca.
Mike Gore, General Manager, Holiday Inn Winnipeg South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2021

Felt very uncomfortable at this hotel, there are large groups of drunk people that hang out in the parking lots and security does nothing about it. There’s also lots of loitering in the lobby which strongly discouraged us from going to the pool or leaving our room. Giving 2 stars because room was nice and clean.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank taylorkH6693LF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike Gore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg-South, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our hotel. We apologize for your disappointing experience. I assure you that your experience was not typical of our property nor is it acceptable by our standards. During the time of your stay we, along with many other hotels in the city, were providing shelter for people from northern Manitoba who had been evacuated from their communities due to wildfires. I certainly understand your concerns, but rest assured this is a temporary and highly unusual situation. We thank you for your patience and understanding. We hope that you will give us an opportunity to be of service to you under more pleasant circumstances. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2021

We decided on this property for our Winnipeg stay due to location and past reviews. While usually past reviews are a good sign of what to expect, in this case it wasn't.

Common areas of the hotel had stains from food and sticky beverages (which were not cleaned for several hours - over night in the case of the elevators).

Loitering in the foyer of the hotel was not discouraged as groups of inebriated individuals were present during both days of our stay. Enhanced security was visible in the hotel lobby, but the uniformed staff did little to discourage this activity.

The hotel parking lot at the back (second level) has not been maintained in recent months with a collection of dirt and leaves from last fall in place.

The room experience was good, but getting there in less than acceptable surroundings significantly took away from the experience. Change is needed by those responsible for these significant short comings at this property.

We would not recommend this property under current circumstances.

Room tip: Avoid this property until management gets serious about acceptable standards for common areas at this property.
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank F2057SYdonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael Gore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg-South, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our hotel.. We sincerely apologize for the conditions you described. These are not typical of our hotel nor are they acceptable by our standards. Rest assured, these issues have bee addressed and corrective measures taken. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2020

Our now go-to hotel in Winnipeg. We've been stuck n the City for the fourth night now waiting for work to be done on our son's SUV. The hotel staff have been amazing as usual.

The room is immaculate. Comfy, back supporting beds with good linens and pillow assortment are important to us. The hotel's down pillows are perfect for supporting my injured neck and back. Fridge, microwave, Keurig in the room.

Nice view of the city and can't beat the location. Central to everything, close proximity to all major routes and a couple minutes to the downtown core. Wide assortment of restaurants nearby and a supermarket across the street. IKEA, the outlet mall, Costco, University of Manitoba, the Blue Bombers stadium and the Winnipeg Jets arena are all within a 10 minute drive if that. Made it to the Health Sciences Centre and Manitoba Clinic in 10 minutes during morning rush hour traffic.

Because of Covid-19 the hotel restaurant is presently open limited hours, but they have great breakfast choices at very reasonable prices - less than Tim's even. I like that the hotel has a decent assortment of juices, etc., food items, snacks, baked goods and goodies for sale in the lobby. And again, very reasonable prices.

The hotel usually has fresh coffee and newspapers in the lobby but Covid-19 has made that unsafe now. The staff brought me coffee from the restaurant which was a much appreciated surprise on a stressful morning heading out.

We love that the parking lot has security monitoring, a roofed area and plenty of fenced space - all not visible by passing traffic.

The kids love the pool here. Usually bring them up in summer to watch the polar bears at the zoo, Tinkertown, Manitoba Museum - they love the Science Museum there, and the Aviation Museum. The pool and hot tub are refreshing break for them after a day of adventure.

Back to the staff at the hotel. Considerate, accommodating, kind, friendly, proficient - can't say enough about how great they are. A shout out to manager, Janelle for the hospitality and exceptional service provided by her and her staff.
Have stayed at most major hotels across the city spanning decades for work, medical appointments, taking flights and leisure stays - the Holiday Inn South has been the most pleasurable stay consistently since first discovering the place three years ago.

Would recommend the hotel to anyone - families wanting a breakaway, business travel, shopping excursions, taking in city events and offerings, medical appointments. Can't beat the location, the comfort, the value and the amazing service!

Room tip: We like rooms on the higher floors for a view of the city. In the summer the city looks likes it's all trees. Beautiful!
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded October 23, 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit such a glowing review of your experience at the Holiday Inn Winnipeg South. I have shared your comments with our team. We are are proud of our hotel and of our team members and the service we provide to our guests. We feel even more proud when kind people such as yourself comment in this way. We are so glad that you enjoy staying with us and look forward to the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future. Take care and stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews