We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB
Ranked #14 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

This is a great hotel and our "go to place" in Winnipeg. Close to both the airport and Polo Park shopping mall, close to both Portage Ave. and Route 90, both which are major arteries for moving around the city. The rooms are clean and spacious. Check in was fast and the front desk staff was both friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast is one of the best I have ever had anywhere. There are dozens of items and hot items changed daily. Lots of choices and the option to take a tray back to the room.There are free DVD's which is a very nice bonus and the suites have tv and DVD players in both bedroom and living room area, so you can watch 2 different movies at the same time.

Room Tip: The back side of the hotel (route 90 is on front side) is much quieter than the front. The ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    151
    53
    18
    8
See reviews for
165
84
30
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Recently stayed at the Country Inn & Suites for 3 nights and enjoyed my stay there very much. Friendly staff, a lovely breakfast every morning in the lobby, free internet and coffee and cookies. The room was very spacious, large king size bed with nice bedding, and a good supply of towels, soaps, shampoos, etc. The room was clean and very comfortable. Thank you to Debbie and all the staff there for making my stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pasadena ca
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

The hotel had easy check in and the staff was very friendly,
and the lobby was very comfortable. They offer free internet
service, dvd rental, and delicious free cookies. The rooms
were very clean, with plenty of soap and shampoo, and the
breakfast was outstanding. I would recommend eating at
Stella's, Chop House,Rae and Jerry's, Earls, Joeys, Le Garage.
Check out the comedy club Rumor's, and the dinner theatre
Celebration's.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazz398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquiltam, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Our stay at the Country Inn & Suites was pre-paid by an agent in Ontario for two seniors and their dog for two days. On the second day the front desk said they would have to charge us an extra $25 per day for Kej, our Berner Collie. We were on the return leg of a Cross-Canada trip. Kej is our Mr Security - he has the brawn and laid back attitude of a Bernese Mountain Dog with the brains of a Border Collie. The location was good. Plenty of large vacant lots within a block for Kej to sniff out. Our suite was large and on the ground floor for easy access. All amenities were provided including two TV's. Breakfast was great. Beds were comfortable. Suite was clean. BUT, we are still annoyed about the $25 unanticipated surcharge. The polite front desk clerk said it was levied because pets climbed all over the furniture and the suite had to be completely revamped after each pet stayed. There was no way that our suite received such a revamp when we were there. Perhaps there should be a one-time extra charge for a pet, but certainly not each day. Kej is too much of a gentleman and really too big to even consider climbing on furniture. He has his own duvet which is placed near the door. The only time he makes a noise is when someone unfamiliar tries our door. His growl usually keeps them moving on! We had no problem at most of the places we stayed on our cross-county trip. This one sticks in my craw as the surcharge was not stated in our original booking. The poor desk clerk had to try and justify corporate surcharge based on inapplicable generalities. As nice as the Country Inn & Suites is, we'll look for a more reasonable pet policy on our next trip.

Room Tip: Quieter at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oluf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nebraska/cabo rojo
Level Contributor
184 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Country Inn & Suites has long been a favorite stopping place for us. Most are "dog" friendly in case we are traveling with our Lab. They usually have a very good breakfast. The rooms are good size and clean with nice bedding. We like them so much that we got a book listing their locations when we went on a nine week tour of western U.S. and Canada a few years ago. Sadly, they had no locations where we ended up. Guess they need to expand west. Most locations have a separate room for breakfast. This must be an older location as there was no separate room. Instead, tables and chairs filled the lobby. Notwithstanding the somewhat strange facility for breakfast the food was excellent and we rated it among the best of our trip. They had oatmeal that was very good plus they also had cinnamon rolls.
The sausage was excellent as well. I did not have time to use the exercise room but it is very small and contained only three machines plus free weights. That is all one really needs so it is quite good. The hotel is near the airport and appears to attract a lot of business people. There are nicer hotels around but the value is hard to beat.

Room Tip: Our accessible room was on the third floor. Try to reserve one on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neblud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lunenburg, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Amazing gem of a place in Winnipeg of all places. Walked into the room and was blown away. Copious amounts of towels, lovely pillows, extra blankets. A book nook and laundry room to boot!. Best breakfast, hands down.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathip03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

It really is still one of the best places to stay in Winnipeg, especially for the price.
Very clean, beds are comfortable, complimentary breakfast was great.
Quiet and staff were pleasant.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank golfer09Sask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#20 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James Industrial
Days Inn & Suites Winnipeg Airport, Manitoba
St. James Industrial
MainStay Suites Winnipeg
MainStay Suites Winnipeg
#27 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB
Address: 730 King Edward St, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3H 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Winnipeg
#3 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#18 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from the Winnipeg James Armstrong Int’l Airport (1.2 km), the Country Inn & Suites is a short commute to major attractions: Winnipeg Art Gallery (4.8 km), Downtown – The Exchange District (6.7 km), Polo Park Centre (2.3 km), and the Farmer’s Market (7.9 km). With the Winnipeg prairie skies as your backdrop, 75 comfortable and spacious rooms feature a mini fridge, free WiFi, in-room coffee maker and flat-screen TV. Upgrade to a Suite Room to enjoy the addition of an adjoining living room, wet bar and sofa bed. Pet-friendly rooms are available upon request. Rest easy at the Country Inn & Suites. Grab a free cookie and cup of coffee upon check-in and a book from the Read It & Return Lending Library. Complimentary hot breakfast is standard in the lobby each morning. A 24-hour Business Centre is located in the lobby for your convenience. A Fitness Centre, free parking and Coin Laundry are available. Eco-Friendly, rated with 3 Green Keys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Winnipeg Hotel Winnipeg
Country Inn And Suites Winnipeg
Country Inn Winnipeg
Winnipeg Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing