We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Fairmont??”
Review of Fairmont Winnipeg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Winnipeg
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

This is very much a lacklustre property that needs some updating and renovations. The rooms are extremely small (smaller than New York). Customer service was minimal and very slow. However the valet were extremely helpful and very professional. Their service was what you would expect at a Fairmont property. Even as President Club members we will not be back.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Doti07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drew F, General Manager at Fairmont Winnipeg, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I was disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations when compared with other properties. We all take great pride in providing our guests with the highest standards of service, therefore I am very sorry to learn that we missed the mark on this particular occasion; please allow me to express my sincere apologies. Please rest assured that these are not the service standards to which we attest and that I will be sure to share your comments with our team as it will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services and offerings. Despite this stay, we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again to show you the experience you have come to expect from us.
Kind regards,
Drew Fisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,077)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 1,077 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2018

Amazing stay, loved the hotel. The food was excellent, beds were comfy, WIFI was FAST. Bad Experience with folks from San Jose in lobby, complaining about hotel, city, and having been whooped by JETS!

Room Tip: best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jordan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drew F, General Manager at Fairmont Winnipeg, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave your AWESOME review, and for telling others about your experience. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!
Kind regards,
Drew Fisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

We stayed on a extremely cold night in December to attend a hockey game. We booked the Urban Escape Package and EVERYTHING was fabulous from the welcoming and attentive staff to the food and drinks in the lounge and in room breakfast in the morning! Our requests were met promptly and we always felt like a valued customer.
Added bonus was being able to stay indoors and walk to the hockey game. Will definitely stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cptravel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drew F, General Manager at Fairmont Winnipeg, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you not only for choosing to stay with us, but for taking the time to tell others about your experience. We are indeed very fortunate to be connected to the "Portage and Main Underground Circus", especially given our weather certain days! I was delighted to hear that you were able to navigate your way to the Jets game without having to venture out into the cold! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to the city.
Kind regards,
Drew Fisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

While in Winnipeg for our Christmas with family we decided to stay at the Fairmont. We had an opportunity to stay in a room that had an adjoining bedrooms and a living room with a large dinning room area. It was ideal for entertaining and was great for our families stay. My wife had requested a crib when booking the room, we were pleased to see it was all made up and ready for use for our youngest nap time. All the rooms were nicely decorated and it looked like the bathroom had been recently renovated. We found having a bath tub and separate shower was convenient for bathing young kids. We enjoyed spending time both days up at the pool, change rooms were and had lots of towels. We had great service at the VG Lounge and everyone enjoyed their meals. We took advantage of having a dinning area in our room and ordered breakfast. We will for sure be back next time we visit!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 705-Sparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drew F, General Manager at Fairmont Winnipeg, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you not only for choosing to stay with us while you were in the city, but for taking the time to let others know about your experience. I was delighted to hear that your family enjoyed the comfort of your suite, and your time at the pool and in the VG Lounge. Traveling with little ones is not always an easy task, but I am delighted we were able to make things as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Winnipeg.
Kind regards,
Drew Fisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

There were only feather pillows in the room; we had to call to get foam pillows but they were round and tiny and we couldn't sleep on them. Whle the room was satisfactory, the condition of the pillows spoiled what should have been an enjoyable stay.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Thank aldos498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drew F, General Manager at Fairmont Winnipeg, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Please accept my sincerest apologies. I was very disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations on your recent visit. I certainly appreciate your frustration and regret that it affected your ability to relax and enjoy your stay. We'd like to discuss your stay with you, and if you have the time, would love for you to reach out to us directly so that we may be able to learn from our service shortcomings, and ensure a similar situation not occur in the future. We can be reached at winnipeg@fairmont.com.

Your patronage is greatly appreciated, and despite your less than satisfactory experience on this occasion, I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Fairmont Winnipeg in the future.

Sincerely,
Drew Fisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We never felt more valued and pampered while staying a hotel! We would recommend the Fairmont to our family and friends. We will definitely return for a future stay. The service, the hospitality was superior!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Thank treverg2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drew F, General Manager at Fairmont Winnipeg, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you not only for choosing us for your staycation, but for taking the time to tell others about your experience. We are indeed very fortunate to have such exceptional and talented ambassadors on our team, who pride themselves on turning moments into memories for our guests, and I am delighted you were able to experience their signature service first hand. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in need of an escape!
Kind regards,
Drew Fisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

The hotel is average, nothing special for the cost other than location to selective restaurants. Rooms are just as nice at hotels like the Marriot Fairfield or Expressway Inns..
Location drove the reason to stay..

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Thank tanasym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drew F, General Manager at Fairmont Winnipeg, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are indeed very fortunate to be located right in the heart of the city, at the renowned corner of Portage and Main, and are delighted that you were able to enjoy this feature. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again the next time your travels bring you to our downtown core.
Kind regards,
Drew Fisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#10 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,205 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Hotels Winnipeg
Delta Hotels Winnipeg
#16 of 63 in Winnipeg
336 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#6 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#7 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,120 reviews
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Winnipeg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Winnipeg

Address: 2 Lombard Pl, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0Y3, Canada
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#7 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#9 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range: C$142 - C$343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Winnipeg 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Winnipeg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Winnipeg Hotel Winnipeg
Winnipeg Fairmont
Fairmont Winnipeg Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing