We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
clint
Ear Falls, Canada

Holiday inn- Not at all what i expected!! 👎

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 9, 2022via mobile
Charged $263 for one night, parking is $16.50 extra, wallpaper falling off the wall, bathroom towel holder was only hanging on by one screw, bathtub drain was rusted out. Door looked like it had been kicked in at one point and had about 30 screws holding it together! Not what i expected out of a Holiday Inn downtown! Parking was a disaster! You can go from hotel to parkade, but cant go from parkade to hotel. Had to walk all way around with luggage. Wont be staying there again!
Date of stay: May 2022
Room Tip: I personally wont be back unless i hear better reviews from friends or family..
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel, responded to this review
Responded Jun 12, 2022
Hello Stay42675788216,

It is good to hear that you've chosen our Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites for your trip.

At Holiday Inn, we boast of our excellent and efficient service. I am sorry that you had issues during your stay. Rest assured that I've shared your comments with hotel management for review.

I'll be looking forward to seeing you back here on one of your trips.

Stay Safe

Carl J.
Case Manager
IHGService
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$156
  • Expedia.com
    C$178
  • Vio.com
    C$136
  • Hotels.com
    C$142
4.4 km from Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mere Hotel Winnipeg
C$176
C$150
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    C$176
  • Expedia.com
    C$176
  • Hotels.com
    C$150
1.6 km from Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
C$159
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$159
  • Hotels.com
    C$159
  • Algotels
    C$160
4.3 km from Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$179
  • Expedia.com
    C$179
  • Algotels
    C$156
  • Hotels.com
    C$179
1.1 km from Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Inn at the Forks Exterior
C$219
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$219
  • Vio.com
    C$168
  • Hotels.com
    C$219
1.6 km from Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$205
C$172
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$172
  • Hotels.com
    C$172
  • BestWestern.com
    C$172
7.0 km from Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$259
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$259
  • Trip.com
    C$231
  • Hotels.com
    C$247
5.5 km from Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$199
C$179
No prepayment needed
  • Hyatt.com
    C$188
  • Expedia.com
    C$199
  • Hotels.com
    C$199
7.4 km from Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$195
C$164
Exclusive member rates
  • Booking.com
    C$164
  • Expedia.com
    C$164
  • Hotels.com
    C$164
8.5 km from Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
C$128
Join Wyndham Rewards Free
  • Booking.com
    C$128
  • Expedia.com
    C$116
  • Hotels.com
    C$116
5.3 km from Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Winnipeg
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveller rating
59
126
53
17
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
59
126
53
17
21
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 276 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2021 via mobile

Comfortable suite and quite roomy.

Bed comfortable.

Bathroom clean with great water pressure.

Decent TV channel selections.

Super nice checkin staff and very accommodating.

Sadly on site restaurant is closed but other options are fairly close.

Good value.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank TAMAN1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 10, 2021

This is no place for elderly, females or families.
If you want cheap, stay here. It is very inexpensive and the rooms and staff are nice (ask for "medical discount"). BUT.. If you are elderly, female or a family please find a better place. We were accosted and threatened by a large young man with scars on his face because I asked him to wait for the next elevator (there was a limit of two people in the elevator at a time due to social distancing and my elderly mom was with me), but he pushed in anyway. With no mask on either.. We had to exit the elevator and wait for another. He looked at me and said "What? You got a problem? What's your problem!?" He said the same thing to me in the lobby as we came out of the next elevator. I was very afraid. I saw him going back and forth from the hotel many times visiting vehicles in the parking lot. I am convinced he was selling drugs out of his hotel room. But that wasn't the only thing.. As soon as the sun went down gangs of very loud motorcycles began racing up and down the streets in front of the hotel. It seemed like it was some kind of circuit. Then cars would race. All this was punctuated all night long with sirens. One night we heard loud gunshots. It seemed like the police abandoned the downtown area at sunset - just like a movie where the gangs took over the city at night. We were freaked out. If you're a gangster or a gang-banger this place would be ideal, but it's definitely not for a regular person, females, elderly folk or family. We never felt safe and despite our concerns the staff never helped us feel any safer. They never enforced their mask rules or social distancing rules. I think they were just as afraid of the riffraff in the hotel as we were.
We will NEVER stay there again. It's simply not worth the risk.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Em7b5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 24, 2020

I wanted to post an early review after staying just over 24 hours at this hotel. Suites are great, front desk is wonderful, bar and restaurant staff is very helpful.

Parking is a bear, as you have to park at a location behind the hotel and then find your way.

As seems to be typical in hotels, ice machines are not working.

My big plus is their towels are the softest of any hotel I have been in in 6 months, but bring your own toilet paper and kleenex tissues. If you like sandpaper, this is the best.....so why, in a cold environment, do we have to wipe with sandpaper and blow our cold runny noses with sandpaper. Horrible!

One other suggestion....some paper products in the kitchenette area might be nice.

Trip to Wal-Mart is necessary for the extras. 0

Room tip: Inside room, as the outside rooms have a downtown, noisy location.0
Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Katria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GSS-HIdowntown, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2020

Dear Katria,

Thank you for your early review of your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Downtown! We appreciate your feedback and glad you are enjoying your time in Winnipeg!

Sincerely,

Justin D.
Guest Service Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 23, 2019

I stay in Holiday Inn Express's often for work and this is one of the worst. Very poor wifi, tv lacks many basic channels (TSN1?!), fitness center not maintained well (one of two tredmills not working). There are better hotels for the money in downtown Winnipeg.

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2020

Hi Sam H,

Thank you for choosing to stay in our hotel and going out of your way to share your feedback. I'm pleased to see that you have rated our location a 4. On the other hand, I'm sorry about the inconvenience that you've experienced particularly with the WiFi connection, channels available on the TV, and poor condition of the fitness center. IHG's goal is to provide consistent and exemplary guest satisfaction so your comments will certainly help us in filling in the missing gaps of our continued enhancements.

Even though your stay was not spotless, I am still thankful to you for choosing to stay at our property and we'll look forward to hosting you again.

All the best,

Dhang R
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 5, 2019

its a small hotel, good if you are visiting university of Winnipeg or downtown. there is a small mall nearby so little shopping or eating is easier. rooms were ok, restaurant offers decent food. overall not too bad

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Manbir
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GSS-HIdowntown, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2020

Greetings from the Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Downtown!

Thank you for your review in December 2019. We are glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel and it met your needs. We look forward to hosting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews