We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ian W
Calgary, Canada

Do not go ho this hotel!

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jan 7, 2024
While the Hotel rooms were clean and the beds were fine, the building itself is in a high crime area of downtown Winnipeg. The evening security guard at the front door can attest to that. In fact, the front door does not automatically open at night unless the reception can see you.

One morning there were two drunks riding the elevator with me at 6:30 am going to a "celebration" in another room on the fourth floor. One night a drunk was hammering on my door at 11:30 pm yelling "let me in, let me in". Then there was the woman in the next room screaming at 2 am. The next morning there was shattered glass all over the hallway on the sixth floor.

The bench outside the front door attracts various people to hang around, drink, vomit and make a mess.

This was a business trip. The jobs were fine but this place was awful.
Date of stay: December 2023
Room Tip: Don't book here. The neighbourhood is unsafe.
Trip type: Travelled on business
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel, responded to this review
Responded Jan 22, 2024
Hello 680IanW680,

Thank you for choosing IHG Hotels and Resorts as your travel partner! We appreciate you as one of our valued guests. We offer a simple and engaging place to rest. However, I am sorry for what happened during your stay. The team learned about your review. The team will make the needed improvements to deliver complete guest satisfaction.

In line with this, do know that I sent a private message to further reach out to you. I hope you find your way back to us should your travels bring you again to the area for a chance to make your stay better than the last.

Best,

Ronald R.
Case Manager
IHG Hotels and Resorts Service
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$156
  • Expedia.com
    C$176
  • Hotels.com
    C$142
  • Vio.com
4.4 km from Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mere Hotel Winnipeg
C$176
C$150
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    C$176
  • Hotels.com
    C$150
  • Expedia.com
    C$176
1.6 km from Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
C$159
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$159
  • Expedia.com
    C$157
  • Tripadvisor
    C$157
4.3 km from Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$179
  • Expedia.com
    C$179
  • Algotels
    C$156
  • Hotels.com
    C$179
1.1 km from Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Inn at the Forks Exterior
C$219
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$219
  • Agoda.com
    C$173
  • Hotels.com
    C$219
1.6 km from Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$205
C$172
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$172
  • Hotels.com
    C$172
  • BestWestern.com
    C$172
7.0 km from Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$259
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$256
  • Trip.com
    C$231
  • Hotels.com
    C$247
5.5 km from Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$199
C$179
No prepayment needed
  • Hyatt.com
    C$188
  • Expedia.com
    C$196
  • Hotels.com
    C$199
7.4 km from Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$195
C$164
No prepayment needed
  • BestWestern.com
    C$164
  • Expedia.com
    C$164
  • Hotels.com
    C$164
8.5 km from Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
C$128
Join Wyndham Rewards Free
  • Booking.com
    C$128
  • Expedia.com
    C$116
  • Hotels.com
    C$116
5.3 km from Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Winnipeg
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveller rating
59
126
53
17
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
59
126
53
17
21
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 276 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2023

Booked via IHG for 125$ GOC rate a night for 2 nights. Checked in early (around 10AM) and was greeted warmly and provided a room.

Room was good sized, queen bed, LCD TV , Keurig coffee maker, good view of the Legislative Building. Bathroom was clean.

Breakfast was included with my GOC rate, and was solid (eggs, bacon, etc...) . Gym was a bit on the old side. Decent sized indoor looked pretty clean.

Neighborhood is a bit scary though, homeless people (but I have seen worse) so if this bothers you, stay outside of the core. Good access to transit.

Date of stay: October 2023
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Luc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 5, 2023

Nice staff, however hotel is in dire need of renovations. The carpet in the Hallways is dirty and all wrinkled up. Rooms have a mix of musky and smoking smell to them. Had to switch Rooms, both were the same, so was my colleagues room as well. Have stayed in many other Holiday Inns around North America and never seen one in this bad of a shape and condition.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2023

Hi T S,

Thank you for staying at our Holiday Inn Winnipeg-Downtown.

We stayed true to the strengths that our guests expect and value, a hotel that always has been and remains family-friendly. I'm sorry for the issues you experienced. I have sent your comments to our dedicated hotel management team to check these things you mentioned for a proper workaround. I also sent you a private message to extend our sincere apology.

We would like to see you again on your next stay in town. At IHG Hotels and Resorts, we appreciate every feedback.

Best regards,

Dominador R.
Case Manager
IHG Hotels & Resorts Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2023

I suppose you do get a good price compared to other downtown hotels but we (49 year old mother and two teenaged girls) did not feel safe. I don't recommend to stay in downtown Winnipeg. It's rough, even on a warm sunny Saturday there are just locals seemingly without homes or up to no good. Elevators in the hotel (only 2) were sketch (scary at moments). Restaurant is open random times or has private functions. I found this incredibly inconvenient as I did not want to venture outside the hotel due to safety concerns. The food was good in the restaurant though when it was open. Prices and selection were just okay...

It seems there are many families there that use the hotel as more of a long-term accommodation option which was often annoying and did not provide the same vibe I was hoping for. I had teenagers knocking on my door when I was alone in the room both the nights we stayed here (Friday and Saturday night). I believe the abundance of longer-term guests and larger family units spread throughout the hotel is also why the service seemed lacking and unfriendly at times. There were two gentlemen that worked the front desk who were extremely friendly and helpful and aware but the rest of the staff wasn't ideal and often unhelpful.

The room credit card hold/security deposit was $300 for 2 nights.
We did not have a car but parking seemed to be an issue from what I can tell. Certainly security would be an issue.

I can not even believe this is an IHG hotel.

Brown water came out of pipes a few times. Water is not drinkable. Bathtub was painted and peeling. The beds were comfortable even the pull out I slept on (we had a king room). But I found a yellow stain and lipstick on my bed in a bag and it took 4 hours and 4 reminders for someone to bring a new one. They did not offer to take the old soiled one away.

Cleaning staff were good and gave ample towels etc when I asked.

They did have recycle in the room which was nice.

We did not use the gym (it's nothing) nor the pool and hot tub (although they seemed decent and it was never busy when I checked. However in the evenings the families swim and there are puddles in the elevators and on every floor every evening.

We stayed at the Fort Garry back in March and it was a way better choice. Although again it is downtown Winnipeg...I would not venture outside.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2023

Dear CuriousCanuk,

Thank you for staying at our Holiday Inn Winnipeg-Downtown while visiting Winnipeg and for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience. It's a pleasure having you as our guest.

I am pleased that the friendliness of our front desk, as well as our housekeeping personnel, met your expectations. We strive to provide the best possible service as well as experience, and it is always great to hear from our valued guests how we are doing. I also take note of your feedback about the cleanliness of our room and that you did not feel safe. Please be affirmed that I will forward your comments to our team to provide a better experience in the future. I apologize for your observation.

Once again, thank you for deciding to stay with us. We would be delighted if you visit us again in the future.

Best Regards,

Ben W.
Case Manager
IHG Hotels and Resorts Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2022

Most uncomfortable stay I've been in, security absolutely everywhere on every floor, stopping the elevators on every other floor to see who was in the elevator, just opening your hotel room door they were standing right at your door, are they listening in on your stay?? Waited 45 mins for an easy dinner at the attached restaurant while there were arguing 3 tables from us .. was absolutely uncomfortable to leave or walk into this hotel.. we are members and we are never coming back... Must have been 50+ security guards staffed at all times there . 2 per floor, 3-6 in lobby, in each elevator, in every crevice of the building.. what are they anticipating? Why weren't we notified about the risks of staying at this location..

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank cheldarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 9, 2022 via mobile

Charged $263 for one night, parking is $16.50 extra, wallpaper falling off the wall, bathroom towel holder was only hanging on by one screw, bathtub drain was rusted out. Door looked like it had been kicked in at one point and had about 30 screws holding it together! Not what i expected out of a Holiday Inn downtown! Parking was a disaster! You can go from hotel to parkade, but cant go from parkade to hotel. Had to walk all way around with luggage. Wont be staying there again!

Room tip: I personally wont be back unless i hear better reviews from friends or family..
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Stay42675788216
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg-Downtown, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2022

Hello Stay42675788216,

It is good to hear that you've chosen our Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites for your trip.

At Holiday Inn, we boast of our excellent and efficient service. I am sorry that you had issues during your stay. Rest assured that I've shared your comments with hotel management for review.

I'll be looking forward to seeing you back here on one of your trips.

Stay Safe

Carl J.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews