We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun!”
Review of Elephant & Castle

Elephant & Castle
Ranked #49 of 1,756 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown Winnipeg
Reviewed April 29, 2018

Many out of town family gathered after a funeral here and had a wonderful time. While busy, servers were attentive and took plenty of time clarifying our questions about the menu. Drinks were done just right.

Thank Baywalk827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Elephant & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2018
Google Translation

I am glad you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 247 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2018

First time here, all 4 of us ordered different meals, 3 were good the 4th they food came not as ordered, was sent back, then the second try at it was not right either. Waitress was very apologetic and offered to try a third time which well, would have the other 3 finished their meals while waiting for the 4th meal to arrive.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Darrell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Elephant & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2018

Sorry to hear things did not go smoothly. I can be reached at kmorin @ franworks .com to discuss how the staff handled your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 7, 2018 via mobile

Service: It was slow...and at the time of our dining, there were only a few tables occupied. We ordered our items, drinks, and requested water as well. We had to repeat our request for water 3 separate times before she brought it to us. Annoying.

Food: Some okay, the rest was yuck.

Items:

Pickles (super greasy) but thankfully it was happy hour so it only cost $3. Regular price is $8. Why would anyone pay that price!

Potato Chips for $3 instead of regular price $8. Those were good, I would recommend getting those during happy hour if you plan on eating at this establishment.

Rueben sandwich with Cesar salad was far too greasy...it just dripped. Hubby managed to eat it but wouldn’t order it again. The salad was good.

The jerk chicken sandwich and Cesar salad was hmm...how to be nice... Th salad was good - only part of it that was enjoyable. I could smell the sandwich as she was bringing it to the table. Vomit smells better. I’ve had jerk chicken before so no, I didn’t expect it to smell like that. I couldn’t eat a bite...I could barely stomach it at the table. It was awful!

When asked, I told her, and to their credit, they offered to make a new one - plain, and they did. Thank you. However, it took quite some time for the replacement to arrive and hubby had already finished his meal. I had a few bites and those were fine. I certainly wouldn’t order that again.

As for drinks, those were fine. Nothing extraordinary. I wouldn’t go here for cocktails, the ones I tried weren’t overly to my liking.

Over the years, this place has gone downhill. I wouldn’t recommend it. There are several pub and restaurants in the area, so plenty of options.

Thank Queenlisab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2018 via mobile

Dined here on a Thursday evening. Not a lot of space (and it is Seat Yourself) so sat at a table for a large group until a smaller one came open. We both ordered the Stuffed Yorkshire Pudding, which is exactly what it says and comes with mashed potatoes/roasted vegetables. It was hot, tasty and well portioned. The bread pudding for dessert was more than enough for two to share. Service was slow (they were busy) but our server was accommodating and fair when our bill arrived.

Thank gobombrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2018

Not worth visiting now that they don't have yorkies on the app menu anymore. Don't want the full meal, just the little puddings again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kimoidesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Elephant & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2018

Thanks for your feedback. I can bring this up with our menu people for sure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elephant & Castle also viewed

 
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 

Been to Elephant & Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing