We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and experience”
Review of Beaujena's

Beaujena's
Ranked #97 of 1,719 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central St. Boniface
Reviewed January 16, 2020

We went to Beaujena's for our 25th anniversary upon the recommendation of a friend. My wife and I have never treated ourselves to a fine dining experience such as this one. We had the 7 course meal and a flight of wine to share. The whole experience was unforgettable from the first minute to the last. Each dish was brought out with no explanation of what it was. We ate each and then our server would come out after a bit and ask what we thought we were eating...sometimes we were close, other times we were way off, but each dish tasted amazing and the presentation was outstanding. We loved that our server spent time talking about the food, the preparation, and just life in general. We spent just under 3hrs in the restaurant. It was an excellent time to be together and enjoying the shared experience of the food and wine pairings. (We found that sharing the wine flight was good enough for us). We will absolutely return again.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kpslove
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefFromwinnipeg, Owner at Beaujena's, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2020

We’re very happy that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. A lot of our guests are celebrating special occasions and we want to insure that it the experience is memorable for all the right reasons. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 45 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2019 via mobile

What a whiplash. Fresh from an underwhelming tasting menu at Peller Estates, NOTL, we stumble upon this tiny hidden gem that only accepts 10-12 couples on a Fri or Sat night, reservations a must. This husband wife team does this for the sheer love of it, as an amusement, a HOBBY. They cook and serve with their hearts, take genuine interest in their guests, and were very accommodating of our 2 hour time restriction.
Went from prying money out of my fingers for Peller, to watching it fly out for this place! They clearly UNDER charge for this experience. Yes, Peller is a palace in comparison. Outside of Beaujena’s, you’re struck by its simplicity. Cozy tiny dining room, with absolutely charming, gracious service.
The food was striking, surprising, intriguing, from plate to plate.
Winnipegers, you don’t know what you have here...
The level of cooking here is equivalent to that of Michelin star restaurants.

Date of visit: October 2019
3  Thank ronaldmcghie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefFromwinnipeg, Owner at Beaujena's, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2019

We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience with us. As you said, we do it, “for the sheer love of it,” and reading your review motivates us to continue. Thank-you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2019

This multi-course dining experience was very pleasant (and quite prolonged). The server walked us through the ingredients of each course with interesting explanations. We all left hungry, but we felt it was a fun experience even if it was very expensive.

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefFromwinnipeg, Owner at Beaujena's, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2019

As I’m sure you can understand, it is impossible to please all the people all the time, even though we do try. A comment we often hear from diners is that there is too much food. Conversely some feel there is not enough. Our dinners are comprised of seven courses and at $64 that’s an average of $9 per tapas style course. We think that price is more than competitive with other restaurants that serve tapas-sized dishes. Especially when you consider that we exclusively use sustainably raised, grass-fed beef, lamb pork and chicken from local Manitoba farms.We are disappointed that you felt your dining experience with us was only worthy of 3 stars, but we note that you gave MacDonalds 5 stars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2019 via mobile

Beaujena and Randy were wonderful hosts once again and did not disappoint with their hospitality and delicious cuisine. With some recent travel inspirations from Poland and Turkey , the mystery 7 course menu did not disappoint. Thank you for another wonderful culinary adventure!

Date of visit: June 2019
2  Thank TravellingTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefFromwinnipeg, Owner at Beaujena's, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2019

It was so nice to see you again. We’re very happy that you enjoyed your evening with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 19, 2019 via mobile

The entire experience at Beaujena’s was incredible. The food was fresh, beautiful looking, creative, and delicious. The wine pairings were absolutely perfect.
However, the best part was the unique nature of the restaurant. Sitting there guessing about what you were eating really enhanced the night as it made you pay that much closer attention to the fantastic flavors. Beaujena herself was the ultimate host, as she was knowledgeable and passionate about both her food, the wine, and her business.
We can’t wait until our next evening at Beaujena’s.

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank bart1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefFromwinnipeg, Owner at Beaujena's, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2019

So glad to hear that you enjoyed your evening at our restaurant. You’re right, we are passionate about our food and wine. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beaujena's also viewed

 
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 

Been to Beaujena's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.