We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special but clean”
Review of City Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Motel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Fredericton
Brantford, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nothing Special but clean”
Reviewed 18 September 2007

If you are just looking for a place to sleep ,perhaps a drink or two in your room before an event, then this is a great place. The decor is a little dated, but the room was clean and came with a mini fridge and coffee maker and wireless high speed.

My only complaint would be that the room had no exhaust fan in the bathroom so on our second morning there after my husband and I both showered he set the smoke detector off with the steam from his shower, we had to remove the batteries in order to shut the thing off.

  • Liked — Front desk clerk was super friendly
  • Disliked — No exhaust fans in the bathroom
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 4ebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    55
    26
    6
    6
See reviews for
41
45
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2007

We read the great reviews of this hotel and decided to try it. Unfortunately, it was a bit disappointing experience. We did not receive a theme room as expected and the room we did get faced a very busy, noisy road. The air conditioner was also noisy, not to mention the garbage truck under the window very early in the morning. While the hotel was clean and rooms comfortable and affordable, it did not live up to the other great reviews found on this site.

  • Liked — Affordable
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Frogman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2006

We stopped in Fredericton on our way out to P.E.I., and I had researched hotels/motels in advance. You won't get a better stay for the value. Reasonably priced, the City Motel offered extremely friendly service, and a variety of theme rooms at no extra charge. My wife and I stayed in The Safari Room, since The Austin Powers Room was occupied. The City Motel is conveniently located by the highway near many amenities. Although it is not the most modern property, it was clean and well-appointed. We really enjoyed our stay. Don't miss it!

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for theme rooms
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Oswaldius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2005

The City Motel is not your average budget accommodations. The rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable, with friendly service and touches that set it apart from other motels I've stayed in. There is an on-site restaurant, plenty of parking, and a gift shop. If you arrive hungry after the restaurant is closed (as we did), there are plenty of area take-out restaurants that deliver to the motel. A great affordable motel for those traveling on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SarahP1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2004

I travel all the time with my job. What a pleasant surprise when I was booked into City Motel. The people are charming and the rooms are to die for. I stayed in the African theme room and it was very tastefully decorated and spacious. Recommend this motel to all travelers.

Also the restaurant was excellent.

Helpful?
4 Thank SEGMontreal_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 June 2004

Loved it. They have "theme" rooms that are to die for! Everything from the Austin Powers room to the Royal Suite. What a great place! Congrats to management and crew.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 April 2004

The service was amazing, the rooms superb, the price perfect. couldn't ask for a better place to stay. Themed rooms to every taste and beautifully decorated suites, I will return time and again and refer you to all my incoming friends and relatives who need a place to stay.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericton hotels
0.2 km away
Fredericton Inn
Fredericton Inn
#6 of 20 in Fredericton
445 reviews
1.2 km away
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Fredericton
16.1 km away
Riverside Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Ramada Fredericton
Ramada Fredericton
#11 of 20 in Fredericton
585 reviews
1.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Amsterdam
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#1 of 20 in Fredericton
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Motel

Property: City Motel
Address: 1216 Regent St, Fredericton, New Brunswick E3B 3Z4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Fredericton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fredericton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — City Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free North American Calling! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your City Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Motel Fredericton, New Brunswick
City Hotel Fredericton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing