We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Carib food east of Quebec City.”

Caribbean Flava's Restaurant & Catering
Ranked #12 of 226 Restaurants in Fredericton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$19
Cuisines: Caribbean, French, Indian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Carib food east of Quebec City.”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

My wife and I enjoyed the food & atmosphere here one night in Jan 2012. Meal was well prepared and waiter/chef welcomed us with a refreshingly enthusiastic banter. Samosas were underwhelming but the mains were great. Onion rings are very nice, and the steak was delicious once we received an adequately rare one. Owner offered to fire the cook after the first one was seriously overcooked, but we didn't consider that to be necessary. Salad accompanying the steak was somewhat uninspired (iceberg lettuce) but really, what else are you going to hope for in January in Fredericton?

Hot lamb curry was fab, but would have been nicer if the accompanying roti was whole and not semi-saturated the curry sauce already. It was cut into thin strips that made it difficult to effectively wrap around the delicious curry. The front of the menu contains a list of accolades from famous patrons as long as your arm, so they are obviously doing something right.

My biggest qualm: Where's the goat? Where's the Oxtail? Otherwise, the menu is nicely varied without being overwhelming. Prices were on the high end; $75 for two mains, two drinks and a single, shared appetizer. In future, would skip the samosas and opt for the onion ring app instead. Coffee (Blue Mountain coffee from Jamaica) was quite good. Home made ice cream (gratis, on account of the steak error) was quite superb, with nice chunks of mango in it. Mango smoothie could have been smoother - the straw repeatedly clogged up with chunks of ice whilst sipping at it.

We were also saved from a nasty snowstorm by following the hosts' advice to soldier on to Nova Scotia instead of being trapped in the NB, so that was good.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Owen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    68
    24
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Host that Saved the Day!”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Above and beyond anything else, the host and servers here make the experience. The location is beautiful, the coffee (Blue Mountain straight from Jamaica!) is absolutely delicious, and the food impressive.

I will recommend that you avoid ordering the steak unless you like your meat well done. I ordered medium-rare and received a very well done steak, but the staff was happy to return my plate and re-do my order. It was perfect the second time around and absolutely delicious.

Most importantly, our delightful conversation with the staff gave us the chance to catch up on the local goings-on and to discover that we should keep driving instead of bedding down for the night, if we wanted to avoid being snowed in! Thanks again guys, we will definitely be back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BexvanKoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definatly comming back soon !”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

"I went for the first time on December 30th with a friend,I have to say im glad I did ,The gentleman at the door who showed us to our seats was so kind and even pulled out our chairs for us as we sat down to order our meal, The meal was great.defintely going back soon.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Keshia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Bright and friendly”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I particularly loved the colors. Even the bathrooms bear a look!
Food one-of-a-kind for this city.
Family friendly and a friendly family run establishment.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank EasternCanadaKoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“ok food, great staff”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Our expectations were high, but the food wasn't as good as we hoped for...steak was tender, but not medium (as ordered) more well done, a tiny bit of aioli sauce and in total some what overpriced. Staff was very kind and made the visit a fun one!

Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchpirates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caribbean Flava's Restaurant & Catering also viewed

Fredericton, New Brunswick
Fredericton, New Brunswick
 
Fredericton, New Brunswick
Fredericton, New Brunswick
 

Been to Caribbean Flava's Restaurant & Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing