We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
143
71
36
11
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
71
36
11
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews liquor store laundry facilities a great place to stay king bed mini fridge coffee maker stayed one night full kitchen kitchenette toaster sink dryer concert
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 280 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2016

First off, the manager of this motel is a kind, accommodating and helpful gentleman. Unfortunately, that is where the positive part of this review ends.
My child and I arrived on time, according to the website, for check in (12pm). We were told that the motel had been full the night before and the housekeeping attendant hadn't had a chance to clean out all the rooms yet. We took the only available room, the King Suite. We took the room, even though it was not the one I had originally booked (I had booked a Queen suite through booking.com), I was so tired I didn't care. As we got to our room I could see the so-called balcony is actually just the common hallway to the outside entrance of the room-very shady marketing. The room was clean but looked nothing like the photos online. The bed was large and comfortable but the rest of the room was not what I would call a "suite." The kitchen was dated and the appliances smelled (a book of baking soda in the fridge might help). The toaster was rusted and needs to be replaced. The bathroom was incredibly tiny although it looked like remodeling had been started, but not finished. A good paint job is desperately needed, as you can see in the photo. The chest of drawers appears to have been an old set of two different sized chests of drawers as there was a sizeable space where one drawer sat. The tv was mounted high on the wall-so high I totally missed it when we first walked in. The sloped bathroom and bathtub became my nemesis. I had to use all my arm strength and a towel to turn the taps off and even then they weren't completely turned off-and I lift weights! The tub is elevated on some piece of 2x4 and painted the same color as the tub so when I went to get out of the shower I didn't step down far enough and ended up almost falling on the floor, but instead crashed into the opposite wall. Not the best way to start the day. The pressure of the shower could remove pain off of walls, it is that strong. The motel doesn't appear to keep its hairdryers in its rooms so I had to go ask for one to borrow. When it was returned the person at the desk didn't know that it belonged to the motel. When I went to check out at 8:15am, and was in a bit of a rush, I found the office closed and locked. I buzzed the manager and said I wanted to check out but had to leave after waiting for 10 minutes for an appointment. I have never encountered a closed office at 8am in a motel or hotel and was surprised that if this is common practice, that there isn't a box or mail slot to put the keys into.
In summary I would never stay here again, and at the cost of $148 (with tax) it was not worth the money nor should it be called a suite. The manager/owners do appear to be very nice people but that isn't enough when you run a motel in a place that has so many other options for travelers.

Room Tip: No elevator so if stairs are an issue, ask for a room on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshinejaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude A, Manager at Midtown Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2016

We have received your review and we respect your opinion. We are so sorry that we did not meet your expectation; this was the main issue, we could not offer you what you had asked for. The room you stay is one king studio, it is not a king full suite
The previous day the motel had been totally sold out. When you arrived at 11:30am the room you requested wasn’t ready yet (because our check-out time is at 11 am so after guest check out we have to clean the room). Rooms are ready for check-in time at 3 p.m. but if there are rooms available we let you check in early. Since you wanted to check in early, we offered you a king studio, the only one available at that time. You accepted it, we understand why, although we knew it didn’t have exactly the comfort of the bigger suite we had for you, but for early check-in this was the only room we had for you. We strongly apologize for the inconvenience, but we did not have any other option for you at that time.
Our office is open until 12 at night, and reopens at 7 in the morning. But this doesn’t mean that we do not take care of customers in the hour’s in-between. Anyone arriving after 12 rings a bell at the right side of the office main door, and we will come immediately to help you. The reason you found the door closed at 8 am was because I had to take care of some customer’s request or check a room. If you had rung the bell, we would’ve come at once. Now we have install hairdryers in all the rooms,
Please accept our apology for all the inconvenient.
Regards
Jude Anthonipillai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2016

This hotel is very clean, each room has a kitchenette, and the management are beyond excellent. We had a very enjoyable stay, the owner/manager was very helpful and friendly. I will definitely stay there again when I visit Moncton, and I would recommend this hotel very highly to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank briangullage1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude A, Owner at Midtown Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2016

Thank you very much for your review. We hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2016 via mobile

i stay at midtown every month when i come Moncton, the rooms are spacious and clean, they have good WI Fi, the location is close to everything, on site laundry room is more convenient for me, the staff are very helpful, I would recommend to anyone who wants clean comfortable stay.

Stayed: April 2016
1  Thank jay h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude A, Owner at Midtown Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2016

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again sometime.

Yours truly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 6, 2016 via mobile

I wouldn't stay there again as its in need of major repair and just isn't a place you'd want to stay to "get away ". I like bigger more expensive chains as they are clean and have housekeeping on staff. Also no breakfast offered here.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Megan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2016 via mobile

More than expected, is what my husband and I received at the midtown motel. Very clean and quiet, most comfortable night sleep, very well heated, lots of hot water for shower or bath. The owners make you feel so welcomed. We would recommend this home away from home and we will definitely return. Thanks again to the midtown family.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews