We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Nicely decorated, small-city atrium mall

This mall likely benefits from cruise ship passenger traffic. Being by the water, it isn’t that... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
KodoDrummer
,
Yekaterinburg, Russia
Lots to do, rain or shine

We ventured to Market Square on Labour day for food and a sit by the water. There are lots of... read more

Reviewed September 5, 2018
Stephanie W
,
Woodstock, Canada
Read all 198 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Saint John
from US$85.50
More Info
from US$23.30
More Info
from US$169.98
More Info
from US$388.50
More Info
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
47
74
57
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
74
57
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews public library street art new brunswick huge food court nice mall harbour front shoe store rainy day fresh fruit photo ops local artisans great spot visiting st walk around museum souvenirs dentist
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

This mall likely benefits from cruise ship passenger traffic. Being by the water, it isn’t that central. I’ve been passing through for over 25 years. Stores come and go, likely marginally successful. The library and New Brunswick Museum account for some of the flow-through traffic. When staying at Saint John Hilton, I sometimes come here for a quick meal in the food court or dine in one of its restaurants. I’ve also purchased travel necessities from some of the retailers.

1  Thank KodoDrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Not a whole lot in this mall, but a few shops, eateries, museum and public library upstairs. Cool plains hanging from the ceiling.

Thank tammyBaltimore_Md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2018

We ventured to Market Square on Labour day for food and a sit by the water. There are lots of options for meals, from $-$$$, indoors or out, even a Beavertail vendor on the boardwalk. I took my electric scooter (Triad) and drove up the walkway to the lighthouse and discovered there is a walkway that goes all around the front of the hotels, then out around the water's edge. All are decking or paved, so easy traveling and fairly level (for Saint John :-). Inside there is a food court with an ample sitting area, as well as the library and museum. Be sure to check whether there are any special events happening i.e.there was an outdoor stage setup for live music that evening. As with most cities, you need to plan your parking. But, great place to hang out.

Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2018

This is a central spot to access the waterfront, snacks/lunch, the museum, library, and washrooms. My 8 year old enjoyed the fountain and escalators!

Thank crunchygranolamama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Great shops, good fast food outlets and having the New Brunswick Museum on the premises is a real "plus". Well situated in the city centre of Saint John with plenty of parking both indoor ans well as at street level. Always a pleasure to be able to spend an hour or two at Market Square whenever in Saint John.

Thank Max D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2018

I didn't find anything special about the place, some statues that is it.
When there is a national or local accusation the place become alive other than that .... nothing

Thank sharshabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2018 via mobile

This is an inside/outside little market. We went for dinner here one night but sat inside instead of the patio due to the wind. It has a sandy area for the kids to run around in and a stage which I am sure is in full swing in the summer. It’s located right on the water near a little lighthouse for photo ops. I loved the little clock with little stautes at the base.

Thank JennC1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2018

Great location with some good restaurants but low traffic and generally is pretty dead - and museum leaving is a problem for the future.

Thank Paradoxpointer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2018

Every time I go to Saint John, I always make time to take a jaunt through Market Square. There's just about everything there that one will need, from books to suits and a lot in between.

2  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 24, 2017

Very nice area to visit and have a coffee. The decorations are beautiful and staff keep this place very clean. The selection of venues is very awesome and you can purchase many items. The restaurants are very good also.

1  Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market S, Front Office Manager at Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2017

Good day Bob K,

Thank you for taking the time to review Market Square. We appreciate the positive feedback and are very happy you enjoy the holiday decor. We hope you'll visit us again soon!

All the best & Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews