We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very romantic :)”

Taco Pica Worker Cooperative
Ranked #40 of 243 Restaurants in Saint John
Cuisines: Latin, Mexican, Guatemalan
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very romantic :)”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Went with my fiancée for a nice dinner. I've been at this place a few times but the best time to go is Friday nights, the live Spanish music is pretty alright :) I can't get enough of the food and the atmosphere. The service is good, a bit slow but the food is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO good. The value is good, some other places you go the potions aren't very big bit sill expensive.

A good date spot :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    36
    18
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Rip Off”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

After reading the reviews here, we thought the food would be amazing. Unfortunately this was not the case, and the first clue should have been that we were the only clients on a Tuesday night at 8 pm.
One of my colleagues asked for the food to be very spicey, and it was just mild. The quality of the food was average. The alcoholic beverages were a disaster (a margarita that tastes like pineapple????). Salad was iceberg lettuce. I was offered rice or salad to go with my meal, and I only found out that they charged $4 extra for the rice when I questioned the fee on the bill. There is absolutely nothing authentic about this restaurant.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank AnitaM155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TacoPica, Owner at Taco Pica Worker Cooperative, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our Restaurant, we have been in business since 1994 but this year is our first year with the internet reviews which will help us improve the quality of our service and our food. Our menu has different price ranges, and when ordering a soft taco, a quesadilla or a soup, we recommend getting it with the Especial de la Casa: comes with a side of rice, garden salad and refried beans for $6.95; our reason is to give you the chance to try it the same way we eat it back home! and if your salsa is not hot or your margarita is lacking lime juice, don't be shy and ask your server to change it! We hope you give us a second chance next time you are in town. Salud!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing food!”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Taco Pica is my favourite mexican restaurant. It has very friendly staff, and a great atmosphere! The service can sometimes be a little on the slow side, but the food is definitely worth it- it is much better than Mexicali Rosa's.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TacoPica, Owner at Taco Pica Worker Cooperative, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
So glad to hear you like our foods and thank you for taking the time to write the review; hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good, Not Great Mexican... and a bit pricey”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I've eaten at Taco Pica a few times. I crave Mexican food, and when I'm in Saint John, there's not a lot to choose from. I'd make my own, but I can't even find canned chipotle peppers there.

Taco Pica is not bad. Some of the dishes I've had have been rather good. I think the prices are extreme, and the service is hit or miss.

Probably my favorite thing on the menu is the Chorizo Nachos. Their chorizo is sliced, like a sliced hot dog. I'm used to chorizo being broken up and sauteed. This was just different.

Again, the price for the size of the portion left me wanting more.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdRockster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TacoPica, Owner at Taco Pica Worker Cooperative, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Glad to hear you crave Mexican and even cook your own which helps understand that food flavours varies from a region in Guatemala to a region in Mexico; we encourage you to continue tasting the items in the menu that have all the flavours of the different chillies available to us, like the Pepian, Tequila Cactus pork, Pollo caporal or the Chicken in Green sauce. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere - they try to please”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We came upon this restaurant while searching for something less expensive than most of St. John and ended up having an enjoyable meal and evening. The food is good and 'home cooked'. We had huge servings filled with vegies or meat. That's what you get. If you like latino/mexican food and a pleasant atmosphere, you will be happy

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BriaBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taco Pica Worker Cooperative also viewed

Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 
Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 

Been to Taco Pica Worker Cooperative? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing