We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family trip to New Brunswick”
other travellers have booked this property
View of cottage from River
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of cottage from River
Sunset from the Deck Kayak  from the dock or public Beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
View of cottage from River
Sunset from the Deck
Kayak  from the dock or public Beach
Panoramic View from Huge Deck
Sunny Living room with W/O to Deck
Eat in Kitchen
Bright, Comfortable and Spacious Sunroom
Private Hideaway
Cottage is the property on the far right with Boat Docks
Ever Changing Glow of Sunsets from the Deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Saint John, New Brunswick

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
scootersw...
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Family trip to New Brunswick”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Pros:
The dock for swimming, the large deck overlooking the water, and the fire pit are all wonderful.
The kitchen was well equipped with nice appliances.
Quiet area close to town.
Owner very responsive and accommodating.
Cons:
The cottage is very rustic, with small, dark rooms and low ceilings. Space was tight for our family group (3 adults, 3 kids).

Overall, a nice stay and I would highly recommend as long as you plan to spend lots of time outdoors.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H
1 review
“Stonehammer Cottage has the greatest views and location for a perfect holiday”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The views were wonderful, the deck layout was great and Saint John NB is a beautiful location. The accommodation was just great for me, my wife, daughter, and teenage grandson. The cottage is very well equipped with all new appliances and everything a family could need. The area is excellent for seafood especially lots of lobster. The Fundy trail is a sight to behold with awesome views along a 10 mile drive that is being extended all the time. The Saint John market is great fun and the "reversing rapids" is an unusual natural phenomenon. I thoroughly recommend this rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the deck
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cakandrea
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location! Comfortable cottage.”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Stonehammer Cottage for a week with extended family. We were warmly welcomed with a basket of bread and delicious cheese. The cottage is as advertised. We loved jumping of the dock into the chilly waters, having a fire at the fire pit, sitting on the huge deck watching sunsets, and having coffee on it in the morning. The cottage is well stocked with all that you need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The deck and its view
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4gena
Sydney, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awe-inspiring location”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We just came back from a week's stay at the Stonehammer Cottage in Saint John NB. The cottage was very well appointed, with ample clean linens, dishes, towels and anything else we needed to provide us with a comfortable stay. Very clean and cosy. Lots of space and places to store our belongings. We felt the owners went out of their way to provide us with anything we needed to have a very enjoyable vacation. The location was great, close to the city, but still giving us the feeling of being in the country. What we liked best was the awesome view, water and trees on three sides! You could look out most windows and just sit and enjoy the fabulous scenery. There are a few stairs up into the cottage but it was worth it for that view. We highly recommend this cottage.
G. Jessmoe

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing