We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found a bed bug”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Saint John
Halifax, NS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Found a bed bug”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We found the hotel itself to be great.
We choose it so our 3 year old could swim in the pool. Parents please note that the pool is unheated, only to room is heated with the idea that the pool will heat up as a result. Water was freezing cold and my daughter couldn't swim in it without shaking and blue lips.
Most alarming though, my husband found a bed bug on his leg! We were in Room 203. Beware!

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Tara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ysjsjHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
I want to apologize for the unfortunate experience that you had at our hotel. The health and safety of our guests is of the utmost importance. We work closely with a professional pest control company to address and rectify any pest situation that might occur.

We have reviewed your comments with our staff had have addressed the situation. I'd also like to thank you for your feedback about the pool temperature.

Please contact me directly if I can help you further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    229
    99
    68
    30
See reviews for
280
209
35
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012 via mobile

We travelled in April to the Hampton with a newborn baby and stayed for 5 days. Even though there were numerous hockey teams in the hotel at the same time we were never disturbed by noise. The room was very comfortable and modern. Love the cookies at the front reception desk. We found the breakfast buffet to be well stocked and full of great options.
We appreciated the friendly and courteous desk staff - especially Pam. All of the staff were very helpful and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable.
I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank SherT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ysjsjHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at our location. We were glad to hear that you, your husband and your newest family member, enjoyed your visit.

Our breakfast bar team starts early each morning to get your morning meal ready - and they finish off their day by baking cookes fresh for our guests each day. It is my pleasure to let them know what a positive impression this made on you.

Our front desk staff is happy to assist our guests with whatever they require and they appreciate the opportunity to serve you during your stay. Thank you for your kind comments about Pam - she has many years of hospitatlity experience and she takes great pride in looking after our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Great Hotel. Great Service. Great Rooms. That's what you always expect with a Hampton. But, something is there that you'd never expect at a Hampton. A pool that is green and you can hardly see the bottom of the pool. That pool should be CLOSED immediatly if you can't see the bottom. Maybe it's just the Saint John water. And another complaint. We where staying the same time as a hockey tourney was going on and coudn't sleep! So, great hotel, make your walls thicker and the pool needs to be clear.

Room Tip: Tip: Make sure you don't stay the same time as a hockey or ringette tourney.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PEIGuy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ysjsjHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how great your experience was during your stay in March. I am happy to pass your feedback on to our staff as we are fortunate to have a great team of people at our location.

I am sorry that the pool water was not as clear as usual during your stay. Our city water does have high concetrations of minerals that sometimes give the water a green appearance. This in no way affects the safety of the water. Our filtration system does remove this mineral and the associated water color but when large amounts of city water are added to the pool during busy times, the natural color is noticeable for short periods of time. Please be assured that we do inspections regularly , each day, to ensure that the the bottom of the pool is always visible.

Thank you for your support of the Hampton Inn brand !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Very nice and clean hotel. Nice rooms. Quiet also. Close to shopping mall, stores and restaurants.
Would return...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ysjsjHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience here at the Hampton Inn and Suites Saint John. It's nice to know that you found our property so clean and accomodating for your needs. We are especially pleased to hear that you'll be back !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed here for one night at the end of March break, and the place was pretty full. We asked for a room in a quiet location, and got it...fourth floor, only heard one noisy set of guests and it wasn't prolonged. I suspect it was different elsewhere in the hotel, and whether by good luck or good management, we appreciated the quiet area. The room was nice, good quality bedding, but the duvet looked oddly lumpy--they wash them frequently which is good, but it didn't seem to be holding up.

I picked it for the pool, but when we got there (not til almost 8 pm), the pool was full to bursting, and the volume in the room was uncomfortable. Wasn't any better when we checked after 9 pm, so I found out it opened again at 7 am. I wanted the kids to have one more fun time at the pool to end our vacation, so they got up early to go. My husband took them (bless him!), but the chemical smell was too strong for my son. My daughter used the slide a few times, but the pool water was really murky--my husband said you couldn't see through it. This was first thing in the morning after not being used for hours. I suppose I should've known better than to expect smaller crowds on Friday/Sat at the end of March break. I think the pool/slide attracts more families than the facility can handle.

Breakfast was ok, they were trying to offer hot choices.

As I said, the facility was nice, fresh, generally well put together, it just seems to be a victim of its own success at a crowded time.

Room Tip: Top floor was quiet for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noelx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ysjsjHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
We were very pleased to hear that your family had an enjoyable stay at our location over the March break. Hampton is very well know for it's clean and fresh beds!

As you note, March break is a very busy time for us and the pool is especially popular. Our chlorine levels are monitored very closely to ensure they at the proper levels for the large number of guests using the area. Our apologies for the color of the water you noted. The city water is not always completely colorless, due to the high mineral content. Please be assured that this in no way affects the safety of the water. Our system at the hotel does filter this mineral out, but when there is high use in the pool, and alot of new water is pumped in the natural water color is more noticeable for short periods of time.

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverview, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

This was a great stop over while on business. Nice modern rooms, internet and free parking. The rooms are clean and did I mention the breakfast? Lots of choices, overall a really nice breakfast. This area is really growing up in terms of shopping and restaurants. We ate at Montana's over the hill and it was conviently close. There are boxed stores with more on the way. Overal good stay!

Room Tip: If you like views from your room choose the side that is facing the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlockin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ysjsjHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are glad to hear that our location suited your needs. The Hampton On the House hot breakfast is a great way to start the day, and best of all, it is included at no additional charge.

The East Point shopping area is growing all the time, and as you note, it is lterally at your door when you stay with us.

Out front facing rooms are very popular as they look out over East Saint John and the view is particularly pretty at night. While the rooms that face to the rear of the hotel do not have the panaromic view, most of them over look a wooded area and not just a parking lot or another building.

We hope to see you again sometime when your travels bring you to Saint John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, NB, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Pool, hot tub, waterslide, decent hot breakfast (not just carbs) and a modern clean hotel. My wife enjoyed walking over to a couple of nearby stores. Nice beds, granite in the bathroom and overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crtoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ysjsjHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
We are glad to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to let us know !

The Hampton breakfast features an egg dish daily and we strive to have food options that accomodate everyones needs. It's nice to know that you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint John hotels
1.1 km away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
3.6 km away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 20 in Saint John
553 reviews
4.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 20 in Saint John
287 reviews
4.4 km away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#4 of 20 in Saint John
954 reviews
4.0 km away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
Address: 51 Fashion Dr | East Point Center, Saint John, New Brunswick E2J 0A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Saint John
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saint John
#7 Business Hotel in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton Saint John
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Saint John Hotel Saint John
Hampton Inn Saint John
Saint John Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Saint John New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing