We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
wallyandemily
New Hampshire

Poor room and lack of maintence.

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Oct 29, 2022
We went to the hotel and were given a room on the first floor. When we checked the room the heater cover was falling off and the insulation around it was falling out. The bathroom sink had a film on it. The front disk gave us another room and the heating control was not working and it was like an oven in the room. The room did not feel clean. We called the front desk again and told them we were not staying there and went to the Holliday Inn Express what a difference! That hotel was 100% better than the one we left.
Date of stay: October 2022
Room Tip: Don't stay there go somewhere else. poorly maintained rooms, not the cleanest, and not up to the...
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
George Engel, Guest Services / Front Office at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this review
Responded Oct 31, 2022
Thank you for speaking with me today. We are sorry about your experience. Our engineers will sort out the concerns with the AC units. Both rooms were cleaned and inspected so I will find out what film was in the sink. Thank you for giving us a chance and we are so sorry it did not work out.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$172
  • Booking.com
3.5 km from Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$160
  • Booking.com
1.1 km from Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$139
  • Booking.com
3.9 km from Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • HIExpress.com
    C$143
  • Booking.com
4.8 km from Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Wyndham
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$127
  • Hotels.com
3.2 km from Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
Free Wifi
Free parking
King Waterview Guest Room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Delta Hotels
    C$158
  • Booking.com
4.1 km from Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
Free Wifi
Pool
Crowne Plaza Saint John is located in the heart of the city
Get rewarded with One Key
  • CrownePlaza.com
    C$127
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
4.6 km from Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$169
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$169
5.0 km from Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$107
  • Hotels.com
8.9 km from Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$113
  • Booking.com
9.9 km from Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Saint John
Reviews (1,058)
Filter reviews
1,058 results
Traveller rating
398
328
150
113
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
398
328
150
113
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water slides continental breakfast new brunswick yogurt downtown mall
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,058 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2022

Good enough location, since it’s not a big city and easy to drive from this hotel to the various tourist attractions.
We had some issues during our stay, but staff was friendly and there were also follow-ups through emails by both the corporate and the hotel manager. Thank you!

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mdns
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
George Engel, Guest Services / Front Office at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2022

Thank mdns for staying with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed you stay and gave us opportunity to correct challenges. We are hoping to welcome you back in the future.

Safe Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2022

The location of this facility is the big downside. It is in a mall with very little in the way of dining options . The hotel itself was clean and comfortable, the price was right , and the staff very helpful.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank UncleJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sandeep Ghosh, Guest Services / Front Office at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2022

Thank you for staying with us. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel. As the area grows I am sure this shopping district will offer more restaurants to your liking.

Safe Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2022

Well, they fixed the breakfast room carpet from our previous stay. This time we were in the dark. When we got to the room there was only one light on one side of the bed. The reason it was there is that it was bolted to the headboard. We called the front desk and they told us the hotel was full. Sometime later they did deliver a second lamp they had found in the storeroom.
Nothing else stood out. Only one seat - for the desk. Very basic room (for one).

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TorontoTimTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
George Engel, Guest Services / Front Office at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2022

Thank you for staying with us. We will ensure more lighting is placed in this room. We are pleased an addition lamp was place in the room. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Safe Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2022

This Hampton was at a convenient stopover point between Maine and Prince Edward Island. There were even food trucks in the parking lot across the street where we had a no-frills dinner. Everything appeared to be relativey well maintained until we got up in the morning and opened the shower. It was a moldy mess that my wife wouldn't enter. We just skipped the showers and hit the road. Breakfast wasn't even open yet and there were no staff behind the desk when we left.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Regomatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
George Engel, Guest Services / Front Office at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2022

Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry to have disappointed you. The concern in the bathroom as been remedied and we will keep a close eye out for this. Cleanliness is the corner stone to our business and we promise to do better.

Safe Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2022

Stayed here for a night over the downtown locations that were much more expensive and this was less than 10 minutes away. Found it easily enough although you do have to drive through a strip mall segment to get here.

Checking in was interesting. Their key card maker was not working and the staff were trying very hard to accommodate everyone as they were checking in. I applause them for thinking outside of the box and finding a way around the technical issues and doing their utmost best for everyone. While some people were upset, I realize these things happen... let's face it technology is good when it works but we all know it messes up at times and this was one of them. They had the young person working there go with everyone to their rooms and open it with the master key. They were really hustling and the front desk person was keeping track of it all. Yes it was a pain.. as one really just wants to get to their room but I thought the staff was amazing, keeping their cool and doing their best in a bad situation.

Enough of that... the rooms were what you expect from a Hampton Inn, clean and comfortable. The pool really stood out for me. While I didn't use it, if I had my kids here when they were young, we never would have left it. Great looking slide and a nice touch with a small lighthouse beside it. Can't say I've ever seen a Hampton Inn with a pool like this and I've seen a lot.

Good place with great staff overall and I would stay here again. If you have young kids this is an easy choice.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dambanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
George Engel, Guest Services / Front Office at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2022

Thank you for staying with us. We finally fixed the concern with our key maker and apologize for any inconvenience. We truly appreciate you kind words as it is very rare. We are so pleased the kids enjoyed the pool. Nothing makes us more happier.

Safe Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews