We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
81
140
48
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
140
48
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine cellardining roomcarriage roomthe pubold buildingwalking trailstudor stylehistoric propertynew sectionwe ate breakfastold ladylots of characterjunior suitelobby areacomfortable bedsfell in lovean update
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 282 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2017

A very comfortable and clean hotel, worth the stay. Some of the facilities are definitely showing their age but this place is full of history. A great walking trail is just outside which takes you around the pond. Quiet, relaxing and super friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dottypastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cory A, Marketing Manager at Glynmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

Thank you for choosing the Glynmill Inn during your recent visit to Corner Brook. Happy to hear that your time with us was so positive. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Corner Brook and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2017 via mobile

We arrived later in the evening to find we had been upgraded to a suite. They have no appreciation for how much this meant to us. We had been staying in wonderful B&B's for two weeks and having the extra space was divine.
The bed was super comfy. The room had all the amenities needed for a comfortable stay. Breakfast was lovely.
The staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful. Our only wish is that we had stayed for a couple days.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mobile218469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cory A, Marketing Manager at Glynmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review and huge thanks for the 5-stars. So happy to hear that your visit to the Glynmill was so positive. We will be sure to pass along your comments to the staff and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2017

The description of this hotel is quite interesting. The reality is a little different. We were given a room in the "new" wing with 2 queen beds. The room was standard but spacious, and the beds were comfortable. There was a table and 2 chairs, a desk with a chair, a vanity area with lots of counter space, a roomy bathroom and a fairly big refrigerator. When we walked into the hotel, there was an interesting porch area with chairs. The lobby looked a little shabby. We did not eat in a restaurant at the hotel. The elevator is tiny and the arrangement of the hallways is a maze. It was a long walk from our room to the lobby area. The parking is in the front and side of the building. Our room had obviously been "renovated" several times. The tub and toilet were old, but there was new tile in the tub area and a new vanity and sink in the bathroom. The bathroom was very clean. The towels and shower curtains were pristine. The furniture was ok, but the carpet and upholstery on the chairs was looking worn. There were a few places that the wallpaper was nicked and there was a hole where a picture hanger had been removed. The desk light fixture was rusted, but it worked ok. The phone was old and looked dirty. The wifi was very strong. The heater and thermostat were dated, but they seemed to work ok. And the heater was quiet. When we arrived at our room, the door handle would not open. Finally, a maid showed us how to push it up instead of down and throw your weight against the door to get into the room. (Amazing!) I was worried that I would not be able to get out of the room. The worst thing was the traffic noise. This hotel is located downtown in a mostly residential area. There is a pond on one side. But there was a lot of traffic noise. I honestly don't know where it was coming from. The hotel also charged my credit card over $200 US before I even showed up. That was more than the room rate. They said it was an authorization and would be taken off when I checked out. The exterior of the hotel is quaint. I don't know what the rooms in the old section look like. They may be very different.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CKT808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cory A, Marketing Manager at Glynmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Thank you for choosing the Glynmill during your visit to Corner Brook and for taking the time to write such a thorough review of your stay. At the Glynmill we appreciate all the feedback we receive from our guests both good and bad. We constantly strive to provide the best customer experience that we can and it is through guest feedback that we can continually grow and improve our operations. Glad to hear that overall your experience at the Glynmill was a positive one and we will certainly further investigate your areas of concern to see if there are ways we may be able to alleviate some of these potential issues. I hope the rest of your stay in Corner Brook was pleasant and hopefully we may see you for a return visit someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2017

We arrived in the middle of the night after a very late air arrival in Deer Lake, but the front desk was still open and expecting us. Unfortunately, our room had just the one bed when I prefer 2 beds but it was too late to ask for a different room. We stayed just the one night with the breakfast in the morning being included with our stay. Since our tour group made the arrangements I can't comment on the value of sleeping and eating here.

Our cozy room was in the new extension which was serviced with 2 elevators. The soft bed had a duvet with extra sheet covers and multiple pillows for each person. The TV was opposite the bed with a narrow, one person, walking space between this furniture. There was an under the counter mini-fridge, regular coffee/tea service, and a basket filled with snacks and bottled water that had to be paid for at the front desk. One matching upholstered chair had to be pushed aside to make room for our suitcases. The room looked cozy and elegant with its burgundy coverlet and rug, but was dark with little natural light coming from the small corner window. The bathroom was a good size with a granite counter, tiled floor, and a clean tub/shower combo.

We ate breakfast in the hotel’s Carriage Room, a formal dining room off the lobby that had white tablecloths, even for breakfast. We ordered our breakfast from a set menu especially for our tour group (1 choice from eggs served with breakfast meat, cereal hot or cold, or pancakes with juice or fruitcup and toast). The Kraft jam served in those small plastic containers for the toast was awful – dried out flavored gelatin. Local families were dropping in also for a leisurely Sunday breakfast. Service was slow that morning with one waitress taking orders and serving them. Allow at least 45 minutes if time is a concern.

The exterior of the Glynmill Hotel resembles a Tudor manor house and there was some history involved in its choice of location. Even though it was a “classic” property – it was built in the 1920s - the owners, the Steel Hotel chain, should note that the lobby and entrance need attention as these areas give guests a poor impression. The patterned rugs were dirty; upholstered chairs in the lobby were worn down; paint on the entry doors was worn off showing bare wood. The lobby area felt old, unwelcoming as it needed refreshing. The hotel is off the TChighway on a residential road into town with no other services around it. The parking lot is spacious.

This hotel is about a 45 minute drive from the Deer Lake airport. Stay in Deer Lake if continuing on through Gros Morne NP and driving up north to Port au Choix and Labrador.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank retireeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cory A, Marketing Manager at Glynmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

Thank you for such a thorough review. We greatly appreciate the feedback we receive from our guests both good and bad as it allows us to continue to grow and offer the best guest experience that we can. I am glad to hear that overall you were very satisfied with your stay and we look forward to hosting you again if you ever travel to western Newfoundland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2017

We spent most of our Newfoundland trip in B&B's. But wanted to stay at a classic old hotel in Corner Brook. The Glynmill Inn was a good choice. We had a suite on the fourth floor. Very nice room with a small kitchen area and TVs in the living room and bedroom. Really enjoyed the hotel restaurant. Friendly staff at the front desk and the restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DJBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cory A, Marketing Manager at Glynmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

Thank you for choosing the Glynmill Inn during your recent visit to Corner Brook. So happy to hear that your stay with us was such a pleasant one and thank you very much for taking the time to write a review to share your experience with future guests. I hope the rest of your trip to Newfoundland was a pleasant one and hopefully we may see you again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews