We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
10
9
3
4
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
9
3
4
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews humber river the main house take pictures fire pit nicola supper mattresses
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 36 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2018

My sister and her two children stayed here for one night in July, 2017. There was only one cabin left, we were informed, Cabin # 3, can't remember now, the best one, they claimed. The cost, $ 300 plus for the night, $345.00, even though the listing for each chalet was right behind us on the wall. It stated Chalet # 1, Was rated at $270. for the night, I enquired about it, she said, no it was a mistake on the wall printout, that chalet was $300 plus. Fine,,, We got to the chalet, it was nice. We were met with a poster on the main entrance wall of instructions of what we had to do not to be charged for extras. In the morning, ensure to strip all beds of sheets and place them with all used towels into the bath tub. All garbage had to be collected from each receptacle and placed into a big garbage bag and placed into the dumpster between chalets 1& 2. Fine,,, we had to be our own chamber maids and garbage people in order not to be dinged extra. Bed time was fun. There were no curtains to the huge full glass door and massive side lights on both sides and above the door in the basement section where the two bedrooms were. Beautiful by day, extremely spooky by night and easily accessed by invaders had they any intent. There were dead bugs all around the basement in each corner and all along the walls. There were bugs in the beds so my nephew would not sleep in there at all. My sister found bugs in the main bed upstairs so she and her daughter slept on the sofa in the main floor living room, my nephew slept in a rocker chair beside them, all lights aglow all night as there were not curtains to most of the windows which were huge, looking out into the creepy woods, again, beautiful by day, too creepy by night. Very musty, moldy smell, especially in the basement which was very cold and damp. Fireplace wouldn't work, they shut off the propane in the summer, go figure. Went to complain about everything in the morning, after a very sleepless night, the main office was locked and no one around at all to complain to. Too late, they already had our credit card info,,, chaulk it up to experience and a never again to Strawberry Hill for us. We'll drive on wearily next time. Wouldn't recommend this place to the any traveller, unless you enjoy paying $350 per night to be your own chamber maid, garbage collector, dish washer, bug sweeper before bedtime in the creepiest place you've ever been. No amenities anywhere near, no place to eat or get anything to drink. I was truly very disappointed that my sister and her children who came home to visit from Ontario had to go through that AND pay for it. Really!!

Room tip: Just do yourself a favor and Stay Away!!!
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2017

Our vacation at Strawberry Hill Inn & Chalets was far below expectations due mainly to customer service. 1) First of all, our chalet was hours behind schedule getting ready for our arrival. We were finally allowed in while they finished cleaning around us. 2) We were only allowed one key between five adults (three families) which was a major inconvenience. At one point we had to approach staff to be let in the chalet in the daytime, only to find the office locked with no number posted to call management. Getting the phone number from the webside, we phoned and were let into the chalet with the advice to leave the key "under the ashtray outside". The ashtray, by the way, was a tin can! 3) Despite promises of a concierge to make any arrangements for us, the couple of times we went to the office, it was locked with no number to call or hours posted. 4) Amenities consisted of a few bicycles left outside, a BBQ, and a fire pit with a few picnic tables. We had no free wifi or even garbage pickup. We received no linen pickup for the duration of our one week stay (someone did drop by once with additional linen) and nobody even inquired if our stay was satisfactory. 5) Despite advertising a restaurant on the webside, we saw no evidence of one. 6) The website is proud of the fact that visiting dignitaries have stayed at Strawberry Hill, but what they fail to mention is that this happened many years ago under different management. Still, this statement implies first class service and experience, both of which were sadly lacking despite paying close to 500 dollars a night.

The best part of our one week experience was the chalet itself. It met our expectations and requirements and was lovely and comfortable with large modern kitchen, large living and dining areas, a washroom downstairs, and three large bedrooms each with an ensuite plus a washer and dryer. There was a large deck with a BBQ and plenty of chairs for all of us. We were situated right on the Humber River with a partial view of the water. Even this had minuses since there were no window coverings on the river-side of the chalet on the upstairs bedrooms making it difficult for sleep-ins or on the living room windows. When we went to use the BBQ we found it filthy from the previous occupants so we had to purchase cleaning supplies before we could use it. No use complaining, since the office was always locked. Likewise, if we wanted to use the washer/dryer or the dishwasher, we had to purchase supplies.

All in all, we have never stayed anywhere like this and that is not a positive statement. If you do decide to stay here, better be prepared to research your own activities and make your own arrangements. Make your own activities since there are no amenities: no hot tub, no swimming, no exercise equipment, no restaurant, and the office is always locked with no office hours posted. This stay did not justify the money spent and the only reason I gave it two stars was because of the chalet which was lovely. In the future, we will spend our money elsewhere.

Date of stay: July 2017
2  Thank FrequentVisitor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2017 via mobile

This was an interesting stay that offered a whole new perspective of the hospitality industry. First of all, our accommodation was amazing. Our chalet was large, comfortable and well supplied with dishes and modern appliances. There were three large bedrooms which suited my party of three families perfectly and offered plenty of privacy if needed. Interestingly however, there were no privacy curtains on the river side of the chalet, including bedrooms which made it uncomfortable at night when lights were on and in the morning if someone wanted to sleep in. Living and dining areas as well as the kitchen were spacious. There was a beautiful deck, a BBQ, plenty of chairs and a partial view of the Humber River.

Unfortunately, there were also negatives with this property. We were only allowed one key between five adults which was a major inconvenience. Office hours were non-existent, so it was impossible to find help when needed. We had one instance when we needed staff to assist and had to actually look on the property's website to get a number to call. We were met with rudeness. Very unprofessional and potentially a very unsafe situation that should not be allowed by management.

We understand from other reviews of this property that there is a restaurant but not only is it not advertised, we were not told about it. There were no amenities unless you count several old bicycles left outdoors and a campfire pit with a few picnic tables amenities. We were told upon arrival that arrangements would be made for whatever we wanted to do, yet when we went to inquire about anything, the office was always locked with no contact information. Again, a potentially unsafe situation. Apart from groundskeepers, staff disappeared after arrival and we were totally on our own. Mind you, we were paying hundreds of dollars a night for our chalet and were promised service to go along with it.

According to the website, visiting dignitaries have stayed here and this has been true in the past. With this comment, a high degree of service and accommodation is implied. The only thing consistent with this comment is the very high price that we were charged. Professional staff engagement does not happen and amenities are none. There was not even free wifi. Such a shame for potentially a wonderful experience.

Thank goodness for family! We were able to still have a wonderful week, but only because we were familiar with the area using our own contacts and definitely not because of the staff at Strawberry Hill Resort.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2017

We arrived at the resort on Sunday, July 16, 2017, and I was immediately taken back by the beauty of this property. Lush trees, beautifully manicured lawns, and colourful gardens lined the Humber River. When we arrived, we were greeted with smiles and hugs from the caretaker, Viola. She made us feel so welcome. She directed us to our Chalet, and ga e us time to settle in. The Chalet was so clean, and had everything we needed and more. There was a bedroom and private bath for each couple. These rooms were so quiet that those who wanted to turn in early were never disturbed. There were lots of fresh towels in the bathrooms and even an extra set of clean sheets in each room. The mattresses were very comfortable - even better than the one I had home. The two upstairs bedrooms ha e a stunning view of the Humber River. The common areas downstairs were perfect. The kitchen was roomy, and had all the necessities. The dining space could accommodate a large group of eight people. The living room was so comfortable with cushy leather sofa, chair, and two wonderful recliners (that many of us napped in). There was a fireplace and a tv (though we didn't even turn it on, as we preferred each other's company and enjoying the view around us. There's a very large wraparound deck that overlooks the Humber River, and has plenty of patio furniture and a BBQ. There's lots of parking outside the Chalet as well. Our last night there, we all had dinner at the main house, as we were celebrating our anniversary. We were seated by a wonderful young lady who led us into a beautiful dining area. This young lady assisted Viola in treating us like royalty. They made sure our wine and water glasses were topped up at all times. We were served delicious warm, homemade bread before supper. Chef Sheldon prepared a fabulous dinner which comprised of either a vibrant, fresh salad or bacon wrapped scallops for an appetizer, prime rib cooks to perfection, accompanied by creamy mashed potatoes, caramalized onjons, asparagus and carrots as our main. There were numerous dessert choices. The crepes, lemon meringue pie and coconut cream pie was mouthwatering. My husband is very picky with his desserts, so Viola served him with a very special chocolate sundae. After the meal, Viola volunteered to take pictures of our evening and also took us for a small tour of the majestic main house. She takes such pride in her work, and knows the history and every detail of this place. Viola is the heart and soul of this hidden little gem. She does everything - from making some of the desserts, to greeting and assisting guests, to yard work to make everything is up to par, to stoking the fire pit so the guests can enjoy an evening fire. Viola and Chef Sheldon are fabulous at what they do, and their pride in their work obviously shows. We will definitely return. We don't travel much, but we may have to make an exception to go back earlier.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeanneMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2017 via mobile

I would not recommend staying at Strawberry Hill. There are almost no staff on the premises to help you. Viola, the owner, is rude, cheap, and inconsiderate. I've heard her talk nasty about staff behind their backs. Completely inappropriate infront of customers. Disgusting. The rooms are dirty, dusty and unkempt.

On top of all this, it is extremely overpriced, and besides the lovely scenery there is absolutely nothing to do. No games, no swimming, hot tubs non-functioning, nothing.

0/10, would sleep in my car in a snowstorm before returning.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank MissDovahkiin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews