We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
39
21
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
21
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house fresh muffins trinity bay nice coffee shop third floor shared bathroom coffee matters four poster bed kitchen area government house keypad entry common kitchen main floor each morning great location signal hill water street
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 65 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2016

We were two couples travelling together. One had a room on the 2nd floor, the other had the lower-level suite. Both were gorgeous. The lower-level suite was very large, had ample natural light and did not feel like it was below ground.

The check in/out process was very easy. The home was sparkling clean and very comfortable.

Easy walking distance from most points of interest. Lots of options for eating close by.

The hosts/owners were very accommodating and helped us with a last minute change in our travel plans. They didn't have to do this and it was much appreciated.

Overall, highly recommended. Would stay again next time I'm in town.

Room tip: We really enjoyed the size and amenities of the lower-level suite.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DanielVee72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2016

This guesthouse feels like a home with a common living room, kitchen with several tables, a nice backyard and several rooms. It's decorated in a classic old fashioned style and is very clean. There was a guide in the room with great suggestions for restaurants and things to do that we appreciated.
We stayed in the honeymoon suite, which is a large room on the main floor with a jacuzzi and a large tall bed with 4 bedposts. It was a very warm day for St John's and we had to open windows and run the fan to feel comfortable, as there is no a/c. Unfortunately, there is absolutely no privacy once the blinds are open, because one window looks onto the street with people passing by, and the other window opens onto the terrace where the other house guests may be enjoying their breakfast. Also, the ensuite bathroom only had a toilet and bath/shower, but the sink and mirror were in the main room only, which means it's impossible to make yourself pretty for your fellow honeymooner without them seeing you. Finally, the bed, although comfortable, also had a lot of things to express in a high-pitched, squeaky voice, if you catch my drift. All in all, the room is not very well suited as a honeymoon suite.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eugenie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

After our wedding night, we spent the night here in the Trinity Bay room. Very clean and spacious. The bathroom was very clean with a lovely Jacuzzi!!! I would highly recommend this place for anyone especially if you are looking for a little romantic getaway!!!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Maryt1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2016

This is a lovely inn, very close to downtown, with comfy beds and a nice living room and kitchen area. The back yard is absolutely spectacular; its gardens are exquisite. The only caution I would give is that, if you don't mind sharing with a fellow traveller, you pay less for the sharing room. Just be aware that the bathroom is on a different floor if you take the second floor sharsie room. Earl was friendly, helpful and always there when we needed an answer to a question. Although they don't officially serve breakfast, there were yummy muffins, coffee and orange juice in the morning.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2016

There is absolutely nothing negative to say. Wonderful historic house. Earl was the perfect host. Rooms are very clean and spacious. Lovely deck and kitchen facility. Perfect location for the St. John's area and home base to tour around. Walked everywhere, easy parking in front of the house.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamaleone-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews