We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise”

Bellissimo Bistro & Espresso Bar
Ranked #42 of 439 Restaurants in St. John's
Restaurant details
Reviewed April 26, 2018 via mobile

Located at former Gracie joes, this is Italian restaurant coffee bar.
Haven’t had lunch or supper, only breakfast.
Great breakfast. Had French toast with almond cherry cannoli filling, ind of the best French toast I’ve ever ate, the bread!!!! The skillet was also great. House made wedges were perfect.
Coffee was above avg. and service was very attentive.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank honestskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 36 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2018

We are breakfast people in a town for brunch people. Belliessimo is one of the few spots open prior to 10am on a weekend and, lucky for us, it is also one of the best, period. The test for a breakfast joint in our books is eggs benedict, a dish that is easy to overcook, undercook, or botch with cheesy sauce or stale bread. Bellissimo offers the best of benny variants - smoked salmon - as well as the more common peameal bacon. We have had it a few times and it has been consistent and truly delicious. The hash browns are crispy and the fruit fresh. Also on offer is a breakfast pizza, cannoli French toast (excellent), and a hollandaise skillet. We have yet to have their other meals, but if you are morning people, this is your spot.

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank georgestownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2018

There are a lot of good restaurants in St John's Newfoundland, but none of them will give you a fantastic meal, good service, and the feeling as if you have just dropped in to your best friends place, for a bit to eat, a drink,and friendly chat. This family run business, is with out a doubt my favourite place to go anytime of day, for brunch,lunch, dinner or just a coffe,but most of all when I am missing my family that live away.

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank Heather559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 24, 2018

Visited Bellissimo for supper on January 23/18. Small, family run place serving Italian food. Had a fabulous meal. Fresh brushcetta to start, then I had homemade fresh pasta stuffed with porcini mushrooms. Choice of sauce so I went with the rose. It was a excellent. Finished off the meal with a housemade cannoli. Service was wonderful and prices reasonable. Great food, personable service. Would recommend!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank thorlick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 23, 2017

Had the tapenade followed by the veal shank. Both very good indeed. What makes this place stand out is the full package - good service with attention from the owner, limited menu of very good food, nice ambience and reasonable prices. What is missing - pretentious service of standalone high end restaurants, the monotony and so so food of the chains and the noise of many popular spots. Definitely worth checking out.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank dkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bellissimo Bistro & Espresso Bar also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Bellissimo Bistro & Espresso Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing